|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Rita's Pumpkin Pie Cream Ice

Rita's Pumpkin Pie Cream Ice

5 Ratings: 3.6
Dessert from Rita's, a national dessert chain

add a wiki

Tags: Food, Dessert, Pumpkin, Pumpkin Pie
1 review about Rita's Pumpkin Pie Cream Ice

Rita's Pumpkin Pie Cream Ice is new, delicious twist on a classic

  • Oct 15, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

I'm a bit obsessed with pumpkin -- and I can't really make a secret of that, considering I chat about it all the time! Whether we're talking about pie, pancakes, lattes or soup, I'm powerless to turn down anything related to that giant orange gourd.

So when word got out that Rita's, a national custard company, was offering a Pumpkin Pie Cream Ice (note: "cream ice," not "ice cream") dessert in my neck of the woods, I wasted no time scurrying right over! The "pumpkin" flavoring is actually the ice itself, at the bottom of the dish, with the "cream" coming in the form of heavy whipped cream on top. It's decadent but not overly sweet -- very important to me! -- and definitely hits the spot for pumpkin lovers. It lacks the pie crust crunch of a dessert like Dairy Queen's Pumpkin Pie Blizzard, but it's also not as filling as that treat, too.

My sister covered hers in rainbow sprinkles, but I'm definitely a purist -- just ice and cream for me, thanks! But if you're into that sort of thing, she approved.

The Rita's franchise in my neighborhood is closed by the end of October, but many around the country stay open year-round. If you're looking for a new twist on a classic dessert, make sure you pop over and grab this one before Halloween!

Rita's Pumpkin Pie Cream Ice

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
23
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
November 07, 2009
Arggggh.... I woke up with this review on the homepage while eating breakfast (oatmeal) and some whole grain toast, yum yum. Well guess what, my breakfast is ruined. All I can think about is Rita's, Dairy Queen, pumpkin pies, ice cream and sprinkles. My little girl is into sprinkles after hearing about them in one of her Fancy Nancy books, so that is big in my house lately. I can see that Lunch.com needs a Holiday filter for food and desserts during the Holiday season. I'll put on 5 pounds just reading about everyone's seasonal meals and desserts.
 
October 18, 2009
Sounds great! I tried the Rita's Mint Chocolate Chip cream ice this summer and it was tremendous. You are correct. Rita's is closed for the season now in my area so I will have to put off trying this one until sometime next year. Thanks for the tip!
 
October 18, 2009
Sounds heavenly. There are also a lot of desserts and snacks made from Pumpkin in China but certainly no Rita for now. Anyhow, if I'm ever in the States again, I'll know where to look! Thanks!
 
October 15, 2009
I was bummed enough that I'm missing the first snow fall in NJ today and then you have to bring up that Rita's has pumpkin pie cream ice in stock!! It sounds amazing and I'm totally jealous :) I grew up with Rita's on the east coast but it hasn't seemed to find its way over to Cali yet. hmm, maybe I'll have to open the first one :) great review!
October 15, 2009
Crossing my fingers for this one, hopefully I will get to try it soon!
 
October 15, 2009
Holy wow!  That picture looks AMAZING.  That heavy whipped cream doesn't look like whipped cream at all; it looks like a big hunk of frozen yogurt!  I've never heard of Rita's before, but I'm definitely going to search for my nearest location NOW.  And where are you from where you call it "cream ice"?  I've never heard that before, but ya learn something everyday!

I can't help but wonder what it would taste like if it were sweet potato pie instead... :D
October 15, 2009
I think "cream ice" is a strictly Rita's term! Trust me, I definitely call it "ice cream" -- like the rest of the world -- myself :) hehe. I think it's just because Rita's inverts the typical ice/cream ratio product for their desserts. They're definitely delicious -- check it out if you can! :) And sweet potato pie? Another great recommendation!
October 15, 2009
Phew! I thought it was just me being Californian :P I just looked at Rita's website and unfortunately, they're only in 19 states. Guess I'm going to have to hunt them down the next time I'm on the East Coast or in the South!
 
1
What's your opinion on Rita's Pumpkin Pie Cream Ice?
rate
5 Ratings: +3.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Rita's Pumpkin Pie Cream Ice
Related Topics
pinkberry

upscale frozen dessert restaurant

Crispy vanilla cookies layered with peanut butter and covere

Key Lime Pie

A pie that does not end in Florida

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists