Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
a question by Sep 19, 2011
How do people feel about the upcoming "Dark Shadows" film directed by Tim Burton and starring Johnny Depp as Barnabas Collins?
show text editor
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Answers
Showing 1-9 of 9
answered:    October 09, 2011
Ok ive never actually seen the origional show,it was a little before my time and ive yet to find it on dvd at a price im willing to pay. But ive heard good things about the origional, and im predisposed to like anything with depp and burton, so i will for sure give it a shot. When is it coming out?
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
answered:    September 19, 2011
As a bigh DS fan growing up and an alumnus of many conventions I am excited especially since they will not be rehashing the Original series/1991 Series/House of DS plotlines. I am glad that they many of the original cast members will make appearances. The special effects should be great as from the first shots, Johnny Depp has white faced make-up so they can add computer enhanced special effects to his face.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
answered:    September 21, 2011
As someone that knew devoted followers of the show when it first aired, I am surprised that it has taken this long for a movie to be made. No better director or male star could have been selected.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
5
answered:    September 21, 2011
Burton's execrable, impossibly asinine Planet of the Apes reduced my waning respect for him a decade ago; a theatrical viewing of Alice-by-numbers (unique for being both flamboyantly stupid and depressingly uninspired) dropped an axe upon it. In a few years, perchance I'll spare it a tentative half-hour.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
4
answered:    October 10, 2011
As a huge fan of the director and a bulk of the cast, I'm really excited about it :)
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
answered:    October 10, 2011
i will check it out for sure
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
Post a Comment
answered:    September 19, 2011
You know me, man, I don't pre-judge nor do I make up expectations before the release of a movie. Granted, Burton's run in adapting material isn't that impressive, but there is a chance that he'll surprise us. It's not like Michael Bay is directing "Dark Shadows"....it is Burton.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
answered:    September 19, 2011
I would say that personally I have my share of anticipation and doubts. While I am certainly looking forward to a film adaptation of Dark Shadows, which is the only soap opera I would ever or will ever watch, the track record of Tim Burton and Johnny Depp leaves me a little concerned. The iconoclastic director and actor have collaborated on a number of films, some good and others not, which have run the gamut from romantic comedy to dark horror to violent musical to animated children's film.
To their credit, Depp and Burton did wonderfully with Edward Scissorhands, Ed Wood, Corpse Bride, and Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. In the first two especially, they managed to create a quirky pair of characters who are at once lovable outsiders but who also have a kind of bizarre mainstream appeal. In the latter two Depp shows his ability to provide his voice to animation and to a singing role.
However, I wasn't a fan of either Sleepy Hollow or Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, both of which were adaptations of classic stories. In these two films Burton goes too far with the visual style of the films and forgets to develop intriguing characters and Depp fails to evoke either Ichabod Crane or Willy Wonka, only managing to create odd two-dimensional caricatures instead. Similar complaints could be lodged against Burton's remake-sequel of Alice in Wonderland in which Depp plays the Mad Hatter and virtually steals the film away from the real protagonist of the story: namely Alice herself.

What also worries me a bit is the fact that Burton is at his best when he's telling an original story. Unfortunately, when he adapts a piece of source material into a film, his visual flare and slightly unusual sensibilities tend to overwhelm the story and characters. One need only look at his prior adaptations (Batman, Batman Returns, Sleepy Hollow, Planet of the Apes, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and Alice in Wonderland) to see that he is less concerned with faithfully bringing the characters and story to life on screen as he is with simply tweaking his favorite elements of those stories and characters to make them uniquely Burtonesque.

So, when it comes to a revamped Dark Shadows, we shall see...
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
3
answered:    March 26, 2012
I was little when Dark Shadows was running, and my overprotective Mom (LOL) wouldn't let me watch it so I would sneak a peek at a friend's house every once in a while. As far as the new movie, I am sooo looking forward to it. I am the biggest Johnny Depp fan ever, and watching the trailer it looks like it may be an awesome film - some humor added along with Depp looking pretty cool as a vampire. Tim Burton and Depp, when paired together, always, in my opinion anyway, make awesome movies together. I'm sure the film is going to be quite different than the original DS, but I believe it will be terrific. The trailer almost reminds me of "Love At First Bite" as far as a vampire living in modern times....
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists