|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Emma (1996 movie)

Emma (1996 movie)

39 Ratings: 2.3
A 1996 movie based on Jane Austen's classic novel.

Most people didn't mind Gwyneth Paltrow's English accent in this charming, 1996 adaptation of Jane Austen's novel (which also inspiredClueless). But even if it doesn't sound quite right to you, there are plenty of authentic and wonderful … see full wiki

Genre: Foreign, Comedy, Drama
8 reviews about Emma (1996 movie)
Quick Tip by . July 17, 2010
This adaptation is stays close to the book and is beautiful to watch. The cast infuses the witty story is even more humor, though a little over the top at times.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
not a huge Paltrow fan but enjoyed her in this.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
one of the best horror movies I have ever seen
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Cute, but not the best Austen adaptation
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
loved the book. I think Gwenyth Paltrow did a great job portraying Emma
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
Very true tothe book - and the gorgeous costumes and scenery don't hurt.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Gwyneth Paltrow is delightful, and for fans of the book, it's nice to see it portrayed so nicely. Of course, like so many movie adaptations of books, it rushes through a lot of details that make the book much more rich.
review by . September 29, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
I've never been a fan of 19th century love stories, but even among that category Emma ranks pretty low. I watched this movie because my wife wanted to. The mindless conversation goes on and on, and soon you just forget what they're talking about. Even Gwyneth Paltrow can't save the movie. My wife wasn't a big fan of it either.
What's your opinion on Emma (1996 movie)?
rate
39 Ratings: +2.3
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Emma
Emma
Related Topics
(500) Days of Summer

A 2009 romantic comedy film starring Joseph Gordon-Levitt an

Shallow Hal

A movie

The Anniversary Party

A movie

First to Review

"Boring"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists