|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Movies » Reviews » Rally 'round the Flag, Boys!

Rally 'round the Flag, Boys!

2 Ratings: 4.5
A movie

Rally 'Round the Flag, Boys!    DVD edition cover Directed by Leo McCarey Produced by … see full wiki

Genre: Comedy
Release Date: January 1, 1958
1 review about Rally 'round the Flag, Boys!

One of the greatest movies no one has ever heard of

  • Jul 17, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I love the writing of Max Shulman.  He gave us THE MANY LOVES OF DOBIE GILLIS, BAREFOOT BOY WITH CHEEK, and my all time favorite, I WAS A TEENAGE DWARF.  He wrote sex comedies that were not dirty, and that in itself was a great feat.  RALLY ROUND THE FLAG, BOYS is one of the best sex comedies of all time.  Harry Bannerman (Paul Newman) is a boozing businessman who commutes from New England to New York on a train every day for his job.  His wife (Joanne Woodward) is too busy with the kids and doing for Putnam's Landing (the town in New England) to do for him in the bedroom.  Enter a lovely seductress (Joan Collins, who really IS a lovely seductress) who wants Harry.  Now add the US Army.  They want to build a new missle base in Putnam's Landing, so Harry's wife is even busier trying to keep it out.  Another complication?  Harry is in the Navy Reserve and is "drafted" to speak for the Army against his wife.  Sound complicated enough?  It gets even better and I will NOT give any more away.  You also get to see Dwayne Hickman as leather jacketed rich juvenile delinquent and Tuesday Weld as a teenaged sexpot (well, Tuesday Weld was always a sexpot to me) and Jack Carson as the "lifer" Army officer.  This is farce, satire and sarcasm at its very best, and if you know anything about movies, you will recognize most of the actors and actresses as being well above just competent.  Great writing, great acting and one of the funniest movies I've ever seen.  It's pure entertainment, but so funny!!!!!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
July 26, 2009
I have heard of this movie and have seen it many times. Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward are great together as usual, and I believe, child actor Stanley Livingston from My Three Sons has a role in this as well. Fun review and thank you for reminding me of this. I'd like to watch it again!
July 26, 2009
This is the only Max Shulman movie I know of. They did make a wonderful TV series of Dobie Gillis, but this is the only actual movie, and they did get great actors. I had to go to ioffer and get a DVDr, since this movie is out of print. Good luck finding it. It is well worth watching over and over.
 
July 26, 2009
Although I'm just a young buck, I have often tasted the early films of the forties and fifties, though leaning towards murder mysteries and scary films. I heard of this one but never watched it. Will check it out, good review.
July 26, 2009
I think you will like it. This is a sex comedy that is not "dirty". It is also really funny. If you do check it out, let me know what you think.
July 26, 2009
Yes, thanks.
 
July 20, 2009
This movie just keeps avoiding me, damn it! I love Max Shulman to death. The first thing I read was "Barefoot Boy With Cheek", which I just replaced with a brand new used copy a few months ago. Mine was in terrible shape. The pages just disintegrated when I touched them. And who could forget Hickman in "The Many Loves of Dobie Gillis"? It made Bob Denver into a star over night.
July 20, 2009
Once again, I had to go to ioffer to get this movie on DVDr. What a wonderful movie!!!! Anyone who loves Max is just plain a wonderful person. He was funny and sexy without being at all "dirty". It's hard to explain to anyone today about a "clean" sex comedy, but that's what he wrote.
July 20, 2009
Yep. And funny too, which isn't always the case anymore.
July 20, 2009
Always funny. Like you, I loved the little "asides" Dobie had in the books. Do you recall the bit in I WAS A TEENAGE DWARF when he discusses his attitude toward girls' bustlines when he was in 7th grade. I was rolling on the floor reading it, and yet it was not "dirty" or "pornographic" at all.
July 20, 2009
Never read it!!!! Next time I'm in the library I have to see if they can get hold of a copy for me, although I think I already know the answer to that.
July 20, 2009
Almost all of Shulman is out of print. I was lucky enough to find DWARF, DOBIE and RALLY in hardback, so I still have them in readable copies. BAREFOOT, unfortunately, is in paperback and is rapidly disintegrating. Good luck
July 20, 2009
My copy is hardback. I got it for $6 and some reasonable postage! There are planty of copies available too.
July 20, 2009
eBay? Amazon? Tell me and I will order them
July 20, 2009
It was probably one of the outsources for Amazon. I was just looking around at the various other places that were selling books and I found a number of them that had the book at that price.
July 20, 2009
Thanks. I will check that out. I love to read and reread Shulman. He was a great comedic writer.
July 20, 2009
Glad to help. Wish I could be more specific, but if I could find it you certainly shouldn't have any trouble.
July 20, 2009
I appreciate it. I will check it out.
July 26, 2009
Just for fun, I found a good review for that book: http://www.sheilaomalley.com/archives/009899.html and from a Max Shulman website: http://home1.gte.net/res09cc9/books.htm Amazon has a copy under Three Dollars: http://www.amazon.com/Was-Teen-Age-Dwarf-Max...s&qid=1248566963&sr=8-1
July 26, 2009
Not only did he create Lodestone O'Toole (whom that reviewer names) but in the same book he also created Yetta Samovar. That's "Barefoot Boy With Cheek" which was the first Shulman I read, at the tender age of 13.
July 26, 2009
Thanks very much. I do appreciate it. I found a three in one edition from Abe Books for $4 and it includes Barefoot Boy and two others. Thanks for checking, though. I really do appreciate it.
July 26, 2009
After Xmas I may be doing a little buying myself. Right now I have the twins' birthdays coming up on the 3rd.
July 26, 2009
It's always something, isn't it? I found out this past week that my cataracts and my extreme nearsightedness masked the astigmatism in my eyes, so I am back to wearing glasses full time again. More expense. I can still see better, though, so it was worth it.
July 26, 2009
Your problems have problems?
July 26, 2009
I had surgery to remove the cataracts, and the doctor also put in lenses to correct the extreme nearsightedness. For the past year, I have only used glasses for reading, and the the readers I can buy almost anywhere for cheap. He found the astigmatism when I went in for my one year follow up. It was masked by the other two conditions. So, I have to wear prescription glasses again full time.
July 26, 2009
You're welcome, Ukedude -- Abe Books is another good online seller.
July 26, 2009
I've used Abe several times, and I do like them. They are a clearing house for several booksellers, so nearly anything can be found there.
July 26, 2009
What a bummer. I imagine if I ever cleaned my glasses and had all the dings ground out of them I'd be surprised by one of 2 things; either my eyesight was better than I thought ,or fixing the glasses didn't matter very much.
July 26, 2009
It's not all that bad. I still see well enough without glasses that I can drive, etc. It's just that I can actually see better with the astigmatism fixed. Before, I had really thick glasses, too, and now they are thin and much lighter. It was worth it. Not a real bummer. Just a minor annoyance. The cheapest place I've found for glasses is Eye Mart. At least here in Springfield, their store is also very professional and their product is really good for the price, too.
July 26, 2009
I'm using my first pair of reading glasses as regular glasses, and a cheap pair of glasses from the drug store as readers.
July 26, 2009
Ouch!!! No wonder you don't read a lot. How long since you had your eyes tested?
July 26, 2009
199-SOMETHING.
July 26, 2009
You guys make me glad I have my eyes checked every six months.
July 26, 2009
I think perhaps it's about time. Do you have an Eye Mart close to you?
July 26, 2009
Books: Barnes and Noble has a used book line that also uses other bookstores as a kind of network. However, I Was a Teenage Dwarf came up empty. Thanks for these reading tips.
July 26, 2009
Scotman, according to my doctor, once a year is good enough. I had mine checked every year while I was active duty, and every other year in the Guard as part of my physical. Now, I only have to go every other year since I had the cataract surgery and lens implants. There are some good things about getting old, I guess. Do take care of your eyes, though.
July 26, 2009
I don't know. But there's all the other usual places. I used to have it done at Visionworks.
July 26, 2009
Uke: Oops, sorry I got confused. I do get my eyes checked once a year not twice. I need to get some dinner. Anyway, I use a local eye doctor whose group has been in business about twenty or so years downtown and I have some vision insurance to keep the cost down. I think our Lenscrafters or Site for Sore Eyes would be the equivalent of your Eye Mart. -- Yes, I no longer stare at the sun for eclipses so I'm good. :)
July 26, 2009
anything that works. Please try to do it as soon as possible. It is for your own good.
July 26, 2009
I'm far more concerned about my teeth.
July 26, 2009
Scot, whatever works. Just take care of them. I thought I did, but cataracts develop anyway, as you age. You and I both love to read, so it's really important to take care of the eyes.
July 26, 2009
Oh. Well. You can't read with teeth, but you can get by with soft food without teeth. I guess it's a question of priorities.
July 26, 2009
Yeah, but certain dental problems can actual lead to strokes. betcha didn't know that.
July 26, 2009
Scot, most of Shulman's stuff is out of print.   Dwarf is the original Dobie Gillis book,and it is funny.  Check out used book stores if you have any close to you.  There were at least three paperback editions that I know of, and maybe more.
July 26, 2009
Karen, I did know that. I was being facetious. Sorry. You need to do what you need to do. I know what that's like. Just for your own sake, try to do both as soon as you possibly can. I know that's probably difficult, but try.
July 26, 2009
That's okay, so was I. I have this fear of dentists though ever since one of them gave me 3 months of pain down the whole side of my face just by replacing a filling in the back molar. I really, really put off going to the dentist. I had an abcess a few years ago and it took me over a week and a half to go.
 
1
What's your opinion on Rally 'round the Flag, Boys!?
rate
2 Ratings: +4.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Rally 'round the Flag, Boys!
Related Topics
The Sting

1973 caper film set in September of 1936 and revolving aroun

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists