Wiki

Repo! The Genetic Opera is a 2008 United States rock opera-musical film directed by Darren Lynn Bousman. The film is based on a play written and composed by Darren Smith and Terrance Zdunich.

The film opened in a very limited release on November 7, 2008. Originally, it opened on seven screens in the United States cities of Pasadena; Chicago; Mobile; Charlotte; Kansas City; and Toronto and Ottawa in Canada. The film took in $3,250 per screen on its opening day. It also had a limited Canadian release, playing in Toronto from November 21-27, 2008. A 22-track soundtrack was released online on September 30, 2008, with an extended version containing 38 tracks released almost exclusively for download on February 20, 2009. The DVD and Blu-ray were released January 20, 2009.

To coincide with the film's release, Bousman, Smith, and Zdunich, as well as various cast members, did a touring version of the film. Principal cast and crew also did extensive Q&A sessions following each screening. Because of strong ticket sales, a second and third touring session were added, in addition to a British tour across four locations. A Repo! Road Show was announced on January 28 in 10 cities. This show will be similar to the Repo! Road Tour, except it will be almost completely fan-run.

edit this info

Details

CastParis Hilton, Athena Karkanis, Bill Moseley, Paul Sorvino, Alexa Vega, Anthony Head, Joan Jett, Vanessa Cobham, Nivek Ogre, Tracey 'Tre' Armstrong, Sarah Brightman, Terrance Zdunich
DirectorDarren Lynn Bousman
Genre:  Music, Musical
Release Date:  September 19, 2008
MPAA Rating:  R
Screen WriterTerrance Zdunich, Darren Smith
DVD Release Date:  January 20, 2009
Runtime:  98 minutes
Studio:  Twisted Pictures, Lions Gate
What's your opinion on Repo! The Genetic Opera?
rate
2 Ratings: +4.5
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Repo! The Genetic Opera reviews
review by . September 22, 2010
posted in Cult Cinema
Pros: unique, catchy songs, interesting story and characters, universal themes      Cons: dark, bloody, uneven pacing, difficult to follow layout      The Bottom Line: This is opera as you've never seen it before!      Plot Details: This opinion reveals minor details about the movie''s plot.    In the not too distant future, an epidemic threatens humanity causing organ failures. GeneCo arises as the savior of the …
review by . August 10, 2010
Time shall unfold what plaited cunning hides (King Lear 1.1)
"It's almost Shakespearean," I said.   "Comedia de l'arte," Lady Dinwhistle replied.   "Grand guignol."   I was out of theatre references so I turned my attention back to the movie.  I got an A in high school drama but there was no use in trying to one-up a girl with a degree in musical theatre.  To my relief Lady D was fully engrossed in Repo! and wasn't listening to me anymore.      There's …
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Forbidden Planet is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists