|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » Erykah Badu

Erykah Badu

29 Ratings: 3.9
A multiple Grammy-winner American soul singer and songwriter

   Born: February 26, 1971      She grew up listening to '70s soul and '80s hip-hop, but Erykah Badu drew more comparisons to Billie Holiday upon her breakout in 1997, after the release of her first album, Baduizm. … see full wiki

Tags: Music, Musicians
1 review about Erykah Badu

Enjoying the Smooth Sounds of Ms. Badu

  • Apr 30, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
While I was listening to one of my friends song playlists, I came across an old school Erykah Badu song "On&On", and I swear it took me back to 97' riding in my moms old school hyundai on the way to school bumping Baduizm. I remembered first hearing that single and thinking that it was so different from the other types of music that was popular during that time (rap, pop, r&b). Each song from that album told a story of her personal philosophies  about life . And to this day, I still love that album the best. It's just so smooth and laid back, that each song just coasts into another. It is definitely what I like to call "chill music".

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
13
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
July 02, 2009
I adore Erykah Badu! I really wish she would come out with another album similar to her first one. Not a fan of her latest New Amerykah. Thanks for reviewing her.
 
May 23, 2009
I saw erykah in concert recently and was completely floored by her stage presence and beautiful ,unique voice. She commands respect and your attention at all times and I can't wait to hear her next CD. She sang an upcoming song off of it and all I can say is WOW!! NOt to mention the years have been very good to Ms. Badu, looking good maam.
 
April 30, 2009
Totally feel you man- this album came out my last year in college- which was one of the most fun and off the chain years of my life- still:) I love the way it takes you back- what do you think about people comparing her with India Arie ?
May 04, 2009
I can see why they compare india to erykah based on them both being in the same music genre. Being so, their styles are totally different.
May 04, 2009
I totally agree- you know check out my review on Nneka-the new NeoSoul Queen - I have the feeling that you are going to love her!!!! Let me know:)
 
April 30, 2009
man Baduizm is classic album. Its one of those albums that you wish came out pre cassette & CD so you could have the huge vinyl cover for it.
 
April 30, 2009
Sure does...thanks for starting the reviews on her! I couldn't agree with you more- Apple Tree, Sometimes, Rim Shot...Tyrone...all of it! How could you ever get sick of listening to her?
 
1
What's your opinion on Erykah Badu?
rate
29 Ratings: +3.9
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Related Topics
U2

Rock band from Dublin, Ireland

Amy Winehouse

An English singer-songwriter.

Lady GaGa

An American singer, songwriter and performance artist.

Linkin Park

American rock/nu metal band

Polls with this musician
Animal Collective

Sasquatch Music Festival 2009

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists