|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Taylor Swift > Wiki

Wiki

Taylor Alison Swift (born December 13, 1989) is an American country-pop singer-songwriter. In 2006, she released her debut single "Tim McGraw", which peaked at number six on the Billboard country charts. Later in October 2006, she released her self-titled debut album, which produced five hit singles on the Billboard Hot Country Songs charts and was certified 3× Multi-Platinum by the RIAA. The New York Times described Swift as "one of pop's finest songwriters, country's foremost pragmatist and more in touch with her inner life than most adults".

According to Nielsen SoundScan, Swift was the biggest selling artist of 2008 in America with combined sales of more than four million albums. Swift's Fearless and her self-titled album finished 2008 at number three and number six respectively, with sales of 2.1 and 1.5 million. She was the first artist in the history of Nielsen SoundScan to have two different albums in the Top 10 on the year end album chart. Fearless has topped the Billboard 200 in 11 non-consecutive weeks. No album has spent more time at number one since 1999-2000. It also was the first album by a female artist in country music history to log eight weeks at #1 on The Billboard 200. In mid-January 2009, Swift became the first country artist to top the 2 million mark in paid downloads with three different songs. As of the week ending February 8, 2009, Swift's single "Love Story" became the country song with most paid downloads in history and the first country song to top the Mainstream Top 40 chart. According to the 2009 issue of Forbes, Swift is ranked as the 69th most powerful celebrity with over $18 million in earnings this year.

(From Wikipedia)

edit this info
What's your opinion on Taylor Swift?
rate
401 Ratings: +1.6
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Taylor Swift reviews
Quick Tip by . September 19, 2013
talent, unique, gorgeous, the king of super singer star, love her songs
Quick Tip by . April 09, 2012
Pose, talent, and one who isn't affraid of anything. She sets the bar really high..especially since she writes all her own material..
Quick Tip by . December 09, 2010
Although Taylor Swift doesn't have the pipes of Carrie Underwood or Martina McBride, she is growing into her voice and learning how to use what she has. Her songwriting is phenomenal and she as a true gift of painting a clear picture with her words. NOBODY is as amazing to their fans! She's also an excellent role model, and does take her responsibility very seriously.
review by . September 23, 2009
In the past couple of years, I feel like there has been a lot of bad up and coming artists. To be perfectly honest, I felt like Taylor Swift is just one of those teeny bopper, Disney channel, pop phases. When I saw her on the MTV music awards, not only did I see what a young beautiful person she was, I saw a massive amount of talent.       Although pop music isn't really my genre of choice, her song didn't confuse me, make me mad and for that matter make me want to hurl. …
Quick Tip by . June 07, 2010
Her music is so catchy that everyone loves it! Not a bad song on either of her albums. Plus she's a good role model! Not such a good actress though, ha.
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
I like some of her songs.
Quick Tip by . May 16, 2010
This was really her year. Hit songs, great album and all of the acclaim and awards a girl could want.
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
Taylor Swift is my guilty pleasure. I think I know every word to every song she has ever written. I love that she writes her own music
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2009
i was early liking her... i admit it. i like her even more now after the kanye incident.
Quick Tip by . September 24, 2009
Taylor Swift is adorable, talented, and on her way up, no matter what Kanye West thinks!
Related Topics
Carrie Underwood

A country pop singer and songwriter

Rascal Flatts

Country Music Band

John Legend

R&B/Soul singer

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists