|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Wiki

Praise forCover of Snow
 
“Well-defined characters take us on an emotional roller-coaster ride through the darkest night, with blinding twists and occasionally fatal turns. This is a richly woven story that not only looks at the devastating effects of suicide but also examines life in a small town and explores the complexity of marriage. Fans of Nancy Pickard, Margaret Maron, and C. J. Box will be delighted to find this new author.”—Booklist(starred review)
 
“Milchman reveals an intimate knowledge of the psychology of grief, along with a painterly gift for converting frozen feelings into scenes of a forbidding winter landscape.”—The New York Times
 
“Milchman makes [readers] feel the chill right down to their bones and casts a particularly effective mood in this stylish thriller.”—Kirkus Reviews
 
“Milchman tackles small-town angst where evil can simmer under the surface with a breathless energy and a feel for realistic characters.”—The Seattle Times
 
“The plot unfolds at an excellent clip . . . ultimately rushing headlong to a series of startling revelations.”—San Francisco Journal of Books
 
“Milchman expertly conveys Nora’s grief in a way that will warm hearts even in the dead of a Wedeskyull winter.”—Publishers Weekly(starred review)

“Everything a great suspense novel should be—tense, emotional, mysterious, and satisfying . . . Let’s hope this is the start of a long career.”—Lee Child, #1New York Timesbestselling author ofA Wanted Man

Cover of Snowis a darkly atmospheric first novel that challenges all sorts of romantic notions we might harbor about small towns and the people we think we can trust. Luckily, heroine Nora Hamilton—and writer Jenny Milchman—have the skill and fortitude to lead readers through a suspenseful story of switchbacks and surprises. A mystery that will draw in fans of darker fare as well,Cover of Snowis reminiscent of Margaret Maron’s work, which is about the highest praise I can bestow.”—Laura Lippman,New York Timesbestselling author ofAnd When She Was Good

“A terrific debut.”—Harlan Coben, #1New York Timesbestselling author ofSeconds Away
edit this info

Tags

Add descriptive tags to make it easier for the community to find this topic.

Details

Select a category and then fill in some basic details that someone might want to know about this topic.
What's your opinion on Cover of Snow: A Novel?
rate
2 Ratings: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Cover of Snow: A Novel reviews
review by . April 18, 2013
I like to read books by first time authors, since I might find one I really enjoy and then I can look forward to subsequent books. That was the attitude with which I approached this book, but unfortunately I was disappointed.      I just couldn't get to a place where I could feel some connection with the characters, and really want to know how things go in the plot. I thought that perhaps I was overreacting, so I had both my wife and son read the book, and they came away …
review by . March 24, 2013
Everything changed for Nora Hamilton that January morning when she woke up alone. Brendan, her police officer husband, was not in the bed with her. The normal morning sounds he would have made were not present. No sounds of the shower, no smell of morning coffee, no nothing as the strange silence stretched on and on. She will soon discover the silence exists for a good reason-- the man who made love to her the night before has committed suicide.    Devastated and distraught, …
Photos
Cover of Snow: A Novel
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists