A Lunch Community

Wiki

"It would be easy enough to say that Boggan just got lucky, that his $10 bill was touched by a certain magic that led him to good places and away from bad ones. Perhaps so. But at a moment in our history when so many Americans are troubled by what they see as anger and hostility among their fellow citizens, it is rather nice to be given a bit of evidence that this may not be entirely true." - The Washington Post

In 2006, British journalist Boggan wrote an article about following a single 10-pound note for a week, tracking its movements from hand to hand. This highly entertaining book expands on the theme. Making his way to the U.S., Boggan sent a marked $10 bill on its way, vowing to follow its progress for a full month. His journey—or, rather the bill’s journey—took him from his starting point of Lebanon, Kansas (popularly if inaccurately known as the geographical center of the U.S.) to Detroit, Michigan, a distance of more than 3,000 miles. The rules were simple: he had to be present at every transaction, he couldn’t influence how the 10 bucks was spent, and he couldn’t influence where the bill went (there was a tense moment when a guy said he was going to mail the bill to a place 406 miles away). Like Bill Bryson, whose travel books are as much about the people he meets as they are about the places he visits, Boggan writes entertainingly about the characters he encountered along the way—most of whom were, somewhat surprisingly, pretty cool with his unusual request to follow them around until they spent the money—and about his various misadventures, which included racing down the road in hot pursuit of a First Responders' vehicle on the way to an emergency. A nifty book with an unusual premise and plenty of fun.— David Pitt, starred Booklist Review


'A compelling, inspiring and oddly reassuring portrait of modern America. Fantastic debut.' - Time Out 5-Star Review

'Its randomness is its joy' - The Independent

'A picaresque travelogue about chasing an idea through down-home modern America.' - The Times



"An engaging, positive portrait of the American Midwest as seen through the eyes of an Englishman, this will particularly appeal to fans of Bill Bryson." — Library Journal


‘..ordinary Americans, so-called, bring Mr. Boggan’s book to life  - aided by the author's sharp eye and generous spirit… His account makes for engaging reading.’ - Wall Street Journal
 
'A wonderful premise for a travelogue and Boggan exploits its potential to the full, asking questions about his own life as he charts the rich variety of America's rural and city inhabitants.' - Daily Mail
 
 'Boggan's random and democratic MO means that he gets to hang out with everyone from fire marshals to rock bands in this enjoyable travelogue with a difference, which might appeal to readers of Bill Bryson or Tony Hawks.' - The Herald
 
‘A fun, multi-faceted travelogue.’ - Kirkus Reviews
 
‘(Boggan) watched as the money was exchanged in transaction after transaction, and learned a whole lot about the U.S. economy in the process.’ - Marketplace, American Public Media
 
‘The journey of Boggan’s ten-dollar bill lasts thirty days, covers three thousand miles and reveals an image of America, one that transforms the ordinary and mundane into something that seems almost transcendent.’ - The Digital Journal.
 
'I can't remember reading a book where the author is continually making fun of himself yet becomes more and more admirable and likeable as the book goes on. He has created a cast of interesting and entertaining characters that are vivid, memorable, and a pleasure to hang out with. The book is an unexpected delight.’ - Luke Rhinehart/George Cockcroft, The Dice Man
 
'Boggan has constructed a hugely endearing narrative personality...his raconteurship has you chuckling as the author ill-advisedly microwaves his underwear, delightedly discovers a "drive-thru bottle shop", and generally behaves, in refreshing contrast to the exhausting get-up-and-go of the travel genre, with a lovably shambolic lassitude.' - The Guardian
 
‘A laugh-out-loud triumph’ - The Sun
 
‘A wonderful premise for a travelogue and Boggan exploits its potential to the full, asking questions about his own life as he charts the rich variety of America’s rural and city inhabitants.’ - Daily Mail ‘Must Read’
'The strength of Boggan's writing is the clear, clean and non-judgemental prose style that lets the remarkable and disparate lives of those he encounters speak for themselves. Heart-warming, fascinating stuff.' - The Big Issue
 
Charming, often funny and engrossing' - The Australian
 
‘Thoroughly enjoyable debut, in the vein of Louis Theroux and Jon Ronson, which gives us an intelligent and humorous portrait of an America tourists rarely see’ - The Bookseller
 
'I absolutely loved this book…a funny, penetrating, warm-hearted journey to the very heart of the one thing that both unites and divides us most profoundly – money.'  - Frank Cottrell Boyce (Author, Millions, 24 Hour Party People, Welcome to Sarajevo and author of the script for the 2012 London Olympic opening ceremony)
 
‘A great way to explore and understand the soul of America in the 21st Century. A terrific read’ - Rosie Boycott (Author and literary commentator)
 
'Steve Boggan's quest to plant a ten dollar bill into the heart of America...is an astute one.' - We Love This Book
 
'An interesting book from an exciting new publisher' - Conde Nast Traveller
 
‘Boggan covers six states and a distance of 3000 miles, relating his experiences with a self-deprecating wit’ - Lonely Planet Magazine


"Like Bill Bryson, whose travel books are as much about the people he meets as they are about the places he visits, Boggan writes
entertainingly about the characters he encountered...A nifty book with an unusual premise and plenty of fun." - David Pitt, Booklist



 " ...ordinary Americans, so-called, bring Mr. Boggan's book to life—aided by the author's sharp eye and generous spirit." - Wall Street Journal
edit this info

Tags

Add descriptive tags to make it easier for the community to find this topic.

Details

Select a category and then fill in some basic details that someone might want to know about this topic.
What's your opinion on Follow the Money: A Month in the Life of...?
rate
1 rating: +2.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Follow the Money: A Month in t... reviews
review by . July 31, 2013
Teetering between funny, abrasive, and poignant, Follow the Money ends up somewhere in the middle.  The idea is so simple that the execution depends on the writer, and Boggan is a cynical Brit with the dry humor that is easy to love and hate at the same time. Repeating a prank he documented for a UK magazine with a 10-pound note, Boggan journeys to the geographic center (roughly speaking, the subject of an amusing diversion by Boggan) of the US with a $10 bill which he had marked with a sharpie …
Photos
Follow the Money: A Month in the Life of a Ten-Dollar Bill
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The catholic reader is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists