|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Food » Reviews » Oreo Truffles

Oreo Truffles

3 Ratings: 4.7
A chocolate dessert made with Oreos, Semi-Sweet Chocolate and Cream Cheese

Oreo Truffles: Makes: 3 1/2 dozen  Takes: 1 1/2 hours   Ingredients 1 (16 ounce) package OREO Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, divided 1 (8 ounce) package PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese, softened 2 (8 ounce) packages BAKER'S Semi-Sweet Baking … see full wiki

1 review about Oreo Truffles

Cheap, Easy, Delicious Treats That'll Leave Them Drooling...

  • Feb 17, 2010
Rating:
+5
I was perusing the web looking for a dessert for the anniversary dinner I was cooking for @Nando1 for our belated 3-year anniversary and found this gem. Nando L-O-V-E-S all things chocolate and Oreos, in fact, he became quite upset when they stopped making Fudge-covered Oreos. I thought this would be a perfect match and it looked easy enough that even I, in my Easy Bake-sized kitchen, could conquer.

Tip #1: When you melt the chocolate, continuously stir the chocolate so that it doesn't burn.
Tip #2: Feel free to use semi-sweet chocolate chips (they're cheaper and do the trick, I used 2 8oz bags)
Tip #3: You can use a blender to "crush" the Oreos into crumbs.
Tip #4: For an extra rich flavor, add some extra chocolate chips into the Oreo/Cream Cheese mixture
Tip #4: You can roll the balls with a fork, toothpick or spoon to make sure all sides are covered.
Tip #6: Use two forks to take the balls out of the chocolate to get rid of any excess chocolate. I usually balance a ball on one fork and use the other fork to swipe any extra chocolate.


Apparently, my fridge is Super-Fridge and these were ready super quick. With the extra chocolate, I covered some whole Oreo cookies, just to experiment and see if I could make Nando's long-lost fudge-covered Oreos. As soon as I tasted the first bite of the truffle, I was pretty amazed- they were SO good! The fudge-covered Oreos turned out better than I had thought and Nando was then incredibly relieved and excited to have his faves back. I gave some truffles to my neighbor for V Day/President's Day since she missed out on my Christmas fudge and she texted me, "OMG! These are AH-MAZING!!!!!"

So, if you're looking for a cheap, easy, delicious treat to bring to dinner parties or amaze loved ones- give these a try!
Cheap, Easy, Delicious Treats That'll Leave Them Drooling...

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
26
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
February 20, 2010
These look so good. Thanks for the delicious review and recipe!
February 21, 2010
You're welcome love!
 
February 17, 2010
Hardly healthy, but delicious! I hadn't even realized it, but I haven't had an Oreo for probably close to five years. As a chocolate lover, I miss them, but as a vegetarian I just can't see myself enjoying them in the future. Too bad, because those look yummy!
February 17, 2010
Do you mean vegan? Because even vegetarians can enjoy chocolate and creme-filled cookies, no meat!
February 17, 2010
No, vegetarians. If I'm not mistaken there's gelatin in the cream and animal products used as pereservatives in the flour.
February 17, 2010
ohhh....well, I will have to look into that for you! I have no clue cuz I eat everything ;p
February 17, 2010
Life is easier that way. Or it was. : )
February 18, 2010
By the way, I'll be making a data point for Djevoke vs. Count Orlok dance off...I know exactly which vid I'll be including for Sean LOL!
February 18, 2010
You HAVE one of Sean?!?!? OH! I wanna see it! So, I guess that means he's first in the battle LOL...
February 18, 2010
No, he's referring to a little video of an old man dancing. He thinks it's funny, but I don't even do the moonwalk. LOL!
February 18, 2010
LOL...well, they have lessons on YouTube ;p
February 18, 2010
Still wouldn't actually want to.
 
February 17, 2010
Yum.
February 17, 2010
Indeed they are!
 
February 17, 2010
oohhhh...."my fridge is a super-fridge, they were ready very quick"...If I get fat reading all the write ups here in the site, I am going to be very sad. I'll need to get a new keyboard and a larger office chair at home LOL
February 17, 2010
LOL...I know how you feel! That's why I type from my couch, now if I outgrow that, we may have a serious issue ;p
 
February 17, 2010
Hey love, I peeped this on your blog and I'm so glad that you shared this on Lunch!  I haven't tried it yet, but I already love it!  It's three of my favorite ingredients rolled up in one :D  I'm definitely going to have to try this, but I already know that there's one change that I'm going to make -- I'm going to roll the entire ball in Oreo crumbs! ;)

By the way, have you checked out @PattyP's review of the Thomas Keller Oreo?  Maybe you can make totally homemade Oreo Truffles!
February 17, 2010
No, I hadn't checked out her review but, I will- thanks! These are SOOOO good, hope you enjoy!
 
1
What's your opinion on Oreo Truffles?
rate
3 Ratings: +4.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Oreo Truffles
Related Topics

the nonfat component of chocolate. When sold as an end produ

Cream Puff

Recipe for choux pastry filled with cream.

Fudge

A desert made of chocolate

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists