|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Mystery » Reviews » Alfred Hitchcock Presents

Alfred Hitchcock Presents

5 Ratings: 4.2
A Tv show that aired on CBS and NBC from 1955 to 1965

Alfred Hitchcock Presents is an anthology television series hosted by Alfred Hitchcock. The series featured both mysteries and melodramas. By the premiere of the show on October 2, 1955, Hitchcock had been directing films for over three decades.    T … see full wiki

1 review about Alfred Hitchcock Presents

Hitchcock, Jack Sullivan and Me

  • Aug 21, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
HITCHCOCK

Jack Sullivan is director of American Studies and professor of English at Rider University.  He has written1 a long overdue tribute to Alfred Hitchcock's musical perspicacity.  Sullivan demonstrates Hitchcock’s uncanny ability to manipulate audiences not only with his striking, frightening images but also his adroit use of music, of all kinds, to heighten suspense, atmosphere and drama.  He also knew when to employ silences or musical rests to maximum effect.  Some of his most distinguished composers, such as Arthur Benjamin, credited him with being far more serious about music than any other director.  Hitchcock was a cultured man. He had no formal music training yet was a fervent music-lover and keen concertgoer. Hitchcock came into my life in 1954 with Dial “M” For Murder. -Ron Price with thanks to 1Ian Lace’s review at Music Web International of Hitchcock's Music, Jack Sullivan, Yale University Press, 2006.

You’d been going strong, Alfred,
for thirty years before you came
into my life with Dial “M” For
Murder, with Psycho and The
Birds, their gripping music &
their memorable sounds, now
lost in my memory bank from
my childhood and teens when
the winter of my own life was
setting in early & new values1
had begun to capture my mind
& imagination long ago Alfred.

Over your long career2 you presided
over more musical styles than any
directors in history; ultimately you
changed how we thought about film
music, any film music--oh so clever.

And thanks, Jack, for your discussion
of Hitchcock’s  music to influence the
atmosphere, characterization and even
storylines of his films.......Hitchcock’s
relationships with composers: Bernard
Herrmann, Dimitri Tiomkin, Maurice
Jarr and Franz Waxman--achievement,
a sign of genius;  they changed the way
we watched-listened to movies-yessiree.

1 The Bahá'í Faith
2  From his work on a film in 1921, The Lodger, to his last in 1976, Family Plot

Ron Price
14 August 2009

Life's Light and Shadow An icon for my life: 1949-2009

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
August 21, 2009
MYSTERIOUS DISPENSATIONS OF PROVIDENCE On Tuesday April 29th 1980, three days before I went into the psychiatric clinic of the Launceston General Hospital, Alfred Hitchcock died.(1) He was 80 years old. I was about to experience, at least for about the next ten days, what was for me the last days of real terror in my life. Terror inflicted on the unknowing was one of the themes in Hitchcock movies. Fear was also part of his recipe for movie success. I would have fear many times in life again, but terror was part of my bi-polar illness and on that Tuesday 29 April 1980 I was on the edge of the throes of my last major hypomanic episode. I had first come to hear of and to see Alfred Hitchcock in October 1955 on TV in my family's lounge-room in Burlington Ontario, although I might have seen his classic movie Dial "M" for Murder in 1954. After more than fifty years I can't recall with any exactitude. Hitchcock's ten year long series of what are now ‘classic' TV programs had just begun. Mystery, crime, horror and the supernatural, invariably with a twist in the tale came on week after week for a decade and the world has now had more than forty years of reruns. In October 1955 a premeditated campaign of terror was in process in Iran against the Baha'i community, a community my mother had just joined in Canada. It was a campaign which the then leader of the Bahá'í community, Shoghi Effendi, characterized as an ordeal "in pursuance of the mysterious dispensations of Providence.(2) -Ron Price with thanks to (1) "Internet Site on Alfred Hitchcock," and 2Shoghi Effendi, Citadel of Faith, Wilmette, 1965, p.139. While terror was entertaining TV's lounge-room troops and thanks to the clever fantasizing of the famous Alfred Hitchcock then about to enter the last decade of his meteroic career as a director, before his slow and unhappy slide to death in the first fifteen years of my own adult life, 1965 to 1980.... .....the Iranian Baha'i community was entertaining its own terror.... not a devastating flood, but a very gentle rain on a green pasture; not a calamity but God's providence, a wick and oil unto the lamp of Faith. And, Alfred, as your years went on & you garnered in all that success, the ship of this Faith sailed safely into port well beyond the terrors of the sea which could have taken this Cause right off its course & any full- blown understanding of the meaning of this is beyond our generation...(1) But with that terror overcome, we can now not hold anything back from our contemporaries....and we don't, do sir. Thanks, Alfred, for your cleverness.... (1) Century of Light, p. 92. Ron Price January 8th 2005. (updated for the Lunch internet site: 21/8/'09)
 
August 21, 2009
Film director Alfred Hitchcock produced his film The Birds in 1963.(1) The essential element in Hitchcock's films, of which The Birds was just one, is suspense and it operates in his films on deeper psychological and moral levels than it does in simple 'who-dun-its' which society has been immersed in by the truck-load for the last half century. This suspense was, it seems to me, an appropriate emotion for the year 1963. The hundred year period, say, 1913-2013, and particularly the 1960s, was and would be a traumatic one for humanity. The year 1963 was the mid-point of this period, this century, filled with convulsions precipitated in the world by "the waywardness of a godless and materialistic age,"(2) as some were pointing out more and more. We were killing them by the billions in various killing fields. One of Hitchcock's most important contributions to cinema was his recognition of the spectator's tendency to identify with the characters on the screen. When The Birds was first screened in 1963, I was just starting out on my travelling-pioneering life and I was being asked to "gird myself for heroism."(3) Heroism would indeed, me a necessity as the world around me saw so many millions dieing in a conflagration both obvious and hidden. -Ron Price with thanks to (1)Tippy Hedren on "Arts Today," ABC Radio National, 10:05-11:00 am, 8 January 2002 and (2)The Universal House of Justice,Wellspring of Guidance, Wilmette, 1969, p.27 and 3 p.60. Little did I know, then, and little did Hitchcock's audiences see- the metaphorical significance of those birds attacking-screeching just after the House was elected, institutionalization of charismatic Forces unleashed a century before. Now that trustee of a global, world undertaking set in motion so many years before; now in the intimate & private parts of our lives, on that.... long, stony, tortuous road he had told us about, that path of those old dawnbreakers of a previous age, that catastrophe of undreamed of dimensions, that fire, that consternation, that terror which would come to exist in the hearts of men had indeed come into our world. And still we wondered why the darkness, the world confusion. In our own lives the birds of our hearts too often did not sing, caught-up in the dust-heap of a mortal... world: many a talon claweth at the thrush of the eternal garden. Pitiless ravens did lie in wait for this bird of the heavens....(1) Alfred: did you see it coming or had it already come into your life and the life of your society? (1) Baha'u'llah, Seven Valleys, USA, 1952, p.41. Ron Price 8 January 2002
 
August 21, 2009
Thanks, Scotman. I have written something about the 50's TV series by Hitchcock as well as the man himself. If I can find that piece of writing I will post it here. In the meantime, if I can figure out how to move this comment of mine to the place where the three reviews already are--I will do so.-Ron Price, Tasmania
August 24, 2009
thanks Scotman....psychiatry has come a long way since Hemmingway and I'd be a total disaster without it, without chemotherapy, without medications. You can google my story if you want on: RonPrice, bipolar disorder....over and out for now.-Ron
 
1
What's your opinion on Alfred Hitchcock Presents?
rate
5 Ratings: +4.2
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Alfred Hitchcock Presents
Details
Related Topics
Perry Mason

A TV show that ran on CBS from 1957 to 1966.

The Rifleman

The Rifleman is an American Western television program that

Twin Peaks

A TV show that aired on ABC in 1991 and 1992.

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists