The HuB
A Lunch Community
Supernatural > Wiki

Wiki

An American television series focused on the horror/supernatural genre. Creator Eric Kripke has always maintained that the "story" could be told in five seasons, and if they made it through Season 5, there would be no plans to continue the series beyond that. As of 2008, Supernatural is in its 4th season, awaiting the green light for its fifth and final season.

The series centers on the Winchester brothers Sam and Dean, portrayed by Jared Padalecki and Jensen Ackles respectively. Together, the brothers travel across America to investigate paranormal happenings. Their main mode of transportation is a 1967 Chevy Impala, dubbed "Metallicar." (Dean, the owner of the car, has an affinity for classic rock music.) Similar to The X-Files, Supernatural has an overarching mythology that concerns the majority of episodes. This said, there are a handful of stand-alone episodes each season that deal with an isolated, unexplained occurrence, a sighting, etc.

Supernatural premiered September 18, 2005, on The WB. The following year, the network merged with UPN to form the current CW, on which Supernatural now airs after fellow genre series Smallville.
edit this info

Details

Premiere Date:  September 18, 2005
Description:  American cult dramatic television series regarding the paranormal.
What's your opinion on Supernatural?
rate
3 Ratings: +3.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Supernatural reviews
review by . June 03, 2013
Kinda had to be here, right?       
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2013
I put off watching this show for an embarrassing amount of time just because of the number of episodes I'd have to catch up on and the HUGE fan base on Tumblr. I cant even begin to explain how EVERYONE needs to watch at least one episode of this. I've stopped calling it a "show"; it's become a way of life.
Quick Tip by . August 21, 2012
posted in SF Signal
Supernatural has been one of my all time favorite TV shows. The writers have been able to mix dark occult fantasy with humor and stories that can puts you in the mind that if monsters, demons, and vengeful spirits were really on the prowl, I would be looking these guys up. Periiod! The show continues to progress and always reaches the point where it might just jump the shark, but manages to keep in check and not put off its viewers.
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2010
posted in Pass The Remote!
Caption
This has become one of favorite TV shows that mixes fantasy, the occult, familial secrets and the apocalypse rolled into one. Seasons 1-5 were just great in the way it clicked, season 6 is currently promising but feels a little unnecessary since Kripke intended the show for only 5 seasons.      Good show to practice before the upcoming SANDMAN TV series.
review by . August 09, 2010
I absolutely recommend this one. (The new season starts Fri, Sept 24!)      It has the episodic monster-hunting of X-files, mixed with the veneration of butchness and go-it-alone spirit of 24.       I enjoyed the first three seasons well enough, but seasons four and five, with the overarching Apocalypse plot, was where it really opened up and took off.       I was immediately charmed by the portrayal of angels as stiff, …
review by . May 29, 2009
Sam&Dean
I became helplessly hooked on this show from the moment burning Mary disintegrated on the ceiling above her baby's crib, causing her husband and two young sons to live the rest of their lives on the road, their only home a 1967 Chevy Impala, in relentless pursuit of the thing that had taken her away from them.    Thursday nights are indeed special for me -- That's when Sam and Dean Winchester, Mary's two sons, battle ghosts, goblins, vampires, werewolves, shapeshifters, …
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The HuB is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists