|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Websites » Reviews » GoDaddy.com

GoDaddy.com

9 Ratings: 3.7
An Internet domain registrar and Web hosting company

Go Daddy is an Internet domain registrar and Web hosting company that also sells e-business related software and services. In 2010, it reached more than 40 million domain names under management.      Go Daddy is currently the largest … see full wiki

1 review about GoDaddy.com

If you must, please only use them for Domain Name Registration

  • Nov 12, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+1
Please, if you like stable websites, if you enjoy fast speeds when your website loads, if you don't want any change you need to make in configuring your website (DNS, chmod, FTP user names, email, etc.) to take hours, please do not use GoDaddy. Point blank.

I've personally used GoDaddy for webhosting over the past three or four years, and I've had several of my clients use them. I quickly dissuade them, encouraging they switch to DreamHost or WPWebHost (both of whom I'm an affiliate and have written a QuickTip or Review on) or Bluehost or JustHost (the latter two I haven't used for a client or personally, but I have friends and fellow designers who've recommended those sites).

I only recommend GD for their domain name registration because they are relatively cheap, but more so because they have a robust list of TLD they offer. More than any of the other hosts I mentioned above.

However, even with their litany of TLDs, they do not offer free private domain name masking (to hide your name and address when you register a domain; if it's not privatized, anyone can find your name and address via a WHOIS search, such as whois.net). Dreamhost and WPWebHost both offer free privatization of the registration.

Don't get tempted by the Siren's call of "free" hosting (usually it is Windows-based and limited in bandwidth, storage and email addresses) and free domain name purchasing. It's not worth the small initial savings in the long-run. Trust me.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
31
Thought-Provoking
23
Fun to Read
22
Well-Organized
26
Post a Comment
November 16, 2010
I've been meaning to start my own personal site, so this is very helpful! And that's interesting info about privatization of your info. Thanks for sharing!
 
November 16, 2010
Good review - I'd recommend Name.com for domain name registration and Site5 for hosting. Both have been excellent over the years.
November 17, 2010
I'll be sure to check out both name.com and site5.com. Always looking for new affiliates and/or quality webhosts.
 
November 16, 2010
Interesting points. Yep, Godaddy.com is relatively cheap when compared to Register.com. However, I think they ought not charge for private registration after the first year. It becomes truly expensive when you get a whole list of domain names to renew!!! Many other host offer free domain name registration if one uses its hosting service.
November 17, 2010
Exactly. GoDaddy is really just in it for the money and they will milk unknowing customers for it by the "free" this and that. But it's not quality services. At least for sites that are going to have more than 1 person visiting a day lol.
 
November 14, 2010
Great points made. I use GoDaddy for my websites. I've been enjoying it so far, but you bring up some valid things to consider.
 
November 13, 2010
Thanks for this--very useful!
 
November 13, 2010
Thanx for the knowledge.
 
November 12, 2010
Thanks for bringing up these points James. I have my domain registered with GoDaddy, and while I haven't run into any major problems (my website is pretty basic) - I don't like the idea of not being to have free private domain name masking!
November 13, 2010
Yea definitely. The private domain registration is a clincher for me, too! I urge everyone to do a whois search on your domain name(s) to see what's public.
November 13, 2010
I just checked mine on whois and it looks like there is no private info of any kind there. :)
November 16, 2010
It's probably because you just register it! It's free for first year if you register more than 5 domains at one go. However, Godaddy.com begins to charge on renewal should you decide to keep it private.
November 16, 2010
No, I registered in 2009, I'm already in my second year. I do pay $10 each year.
 
1
What's your opinion on GoDaddy.com?
rate
9 Ratings: +3.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
GoDaddy.com
Related Topics
YouTube

A video hosting website

Logo

A free online encyclopedia

MSN's Internet Portal

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists