|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Wine » Reviews » Middle Sister Mischief Maker - Cabernet Sauvignon

Middle Sister Mischief Maker - Cabernet Sauvignon

1 rating: -1.0
Cabernet Sauvignon that is vinted and bottled by Middle Sister Winery in Santa Rosa, California.

http://www.middlesisterwines.com/custpage.cfm/frm/44810/sec_id/44810

1 review about Middle Sister Mischief Maker - Cabernet...

Mischief Maker Cabernet Sauvignon

  • Dec 22, 2010
Rating:
-1
Middle Sister
There's a bit of middle sister in all of us.

Since we had so much fun tasting Forever Cool Merlot by Middle Sister Winery, my husband and I decided to try another of their red wines. This one was also purchased at our local Target, again for a ridiculously inexpensive price (on sale for $8.99). I was drawn to this wine for similar reasons as the last bottle I had tried:

  • The name of the winery-- Middle Sister (I'm a middle sister, so the idea of a winery created around this concept intrigues me.)
  • The label image and color scheme reminds me of my younger sister Debbie who's always been a bit of a mischief maker in our family. Plus, who doesn't remember drawing cute stick figures in grade school?
  • The story on the back of the wine bottle: Have you ever dated brothers? Worn leather pants to a wedding? Paired white wine with red meat? Then you just might be a mischief maker. You keep us up after bedtime on a school night. You change your hair color like most people change their socks. You make lives more complicated, but less boring. You'll be in the stories we tell our grandchildren. You love trouble. And we love you. This story reminds me of Debbie, especially when she tried to change out of her bridesmaid's dress at my wedding to wear jeans. Before drinking this wine, I recalled all the antics we partook of in our youth and shared some stories and laughter with my husband. 

I admit these are arbitrary reasons for purchasing a wine, but since my husband and I are wine novices, we enjoy having fun with some inexpensive purchases. Plus, when drinking at home with just each other's company, there's no need to be pretentious about the quality of the wine.

I researched Mischief Maker and gathered the following data concerning its contents: 80% Cabernet Sauvignon and 20% mixed Red Varities. It was made with warm ferments at 75F for extraction of color and character. There was no oak used. The Middle Sister Winery claims that  smells of plums, berry jam, and dried herbs. When tasting it, it's described as summer berry jam with finishes of cocoa. Suggested pairings include grilled steak, BLT sandwiches, roasted lamb, and mac and cheese.

We didn't pair this wine with anything. I agree that Mischief Maker smells of berry jam and herbs more than plums. When tasting it, I also agree that it has a strong berry jam flavor with an aftertaste of cocoa. Not being a fan of berry or cocoa tastes in my wine, I was disappointed with the flavor. The berries make the wine sweet while the cocoa leave a bitter aftertaste. I'm usually a fan of Cabernets, so I was really surprised to discover that I had enjoyed Forever Cool Merlot more than Mischief Maker.

Overall, the wine tastes better after sitting for a few hours. Even after that, my husband was not a fan and rated it a -2. I enjoyed Mischief Maker more after it sat, which is why I rated the wine a -1. It's suitable for anyone on a budget, but serious wine drinkers will not enjoy it.

I won't be buying this particular wine again, unless as a novelty gift for a sister. The best quality to this wine was the memories it induced concerning my younger rebel of a sister. This review's for you, Debbie!
Mischief Maker Cabernet Sauvignon Mischief Maker Cabernet Sauvignon Mischief Maker Cabernet Sauvignon

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
21
Post a Comment
May 24, 2011
Naturally, I love a good wine but I've the beer pocket as they say so finding a nice wine that doesn't break my bank account may be problematic. I really enjoyed reading your wine review and perhaps you can point me in the direction of some great but affordable wines. Oh, and they must be readily available. ;-) Goood job!!
May 25, 2011
Thanks so much for reading one of my wine reviews! I've been playing around with them. I have a few more I want to write up soon once I play catch up with my book reviews. What types of wines do you like, and what is your price range? Do you have a Target or Coscto near you?
May 27, 2011
Thank you Adrianna! I apologize for not reading and commenting on your reviews a bit sooner yet I'm glad that you're reviewing wine. Book reviews are great too! I have both Costco and Target near me but I'm still contemplating on whether or not to purchase a membership to Costco. When I worked for American Express, the membership was either free or discounted. So tempting. :-)
May 27, 2011
I'm half asleep. You had asked about my wine preferences and price range. I love anything with a naturally fruity finish or something that makes your taste buds sing. Maybe Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, or Shiraz? I also buy the Sangrias too if that helps. I'm a cheap wino so the cheaper the better but I try to keep it within $20 these days. ;-)
June 03, 2011
No problem! No rush on reading anything. I'm just happy that you are enjoying them.

How did you like working for American Express? It is my favorite credit card to use. We love to shop at Costco. And Target's Visa card gives you 5% off all purchases.

You shouldn't be on the computer if you're half asleep, lol. Go to bed, silly! Your wine tastes are similar to mine. I like Sauvignon the best. 
 
January 07, 2011
Yet another great wine review! Maybe you should step away from Middle Sister for a while :P Looking forward to more of your wine reviews! Hoping for some tasty ones!  By the way, don't know if you've seen @jrjohnson's review of Costco Wines, but it might be something you'd be interested in if you're becoming a wineaux! ;)
January 08, 2011
Yeah, I hear you. I just keep getting drawn back to them because they are so affordable. And of course, I enjoy the concept and stories behind the wines. I'm off to read the Costco Wines review that JR posted. I'm sure I will enjoy it!
 
December 31, 2010
It's hard to get good red wine at that kind of pricing! Sorry it didn't turn out so great for you! Although I have an idea! May be it'll turn out to be good if you turned it into a sangria! :-)
January 04, 2011
Too true. We drink our favorite wines at restaurants, and I never review them because I don't take any home. I like the idea of using it for a Sangria, though! It might be worth buying this wine again just to test out your theory!
 
December 22, 2010
Aw, such low ratings for wines. When will we get a review for a +5 rated wine from you? ; )
December 22, 2010
A +2 on the Merlot is not a low rating when you use a -5 through +5 scale. It's more of an average rating. Plus, a lot of the better wines we drink at restaurants, and I never review those because I can't remember the details enough. I have a couple more "meh" ones and maybe a +3 or +4 coming up once I get to them. Won't be happening until next year, though.
 
December 22, 2010
LOL...Woo...wine grabs my attention, too! I still owe the Lunch family a wine review! Adrianna- another great review and I liked how you included the anecdotes about Debbie (she sounds like my kind of friend :))! Here's to all the Debbies and Mischief Makers out there, they do indeed make life more complicated but, far more interesting.
December 22, 2010
Let me know when you get a wine review up, Sam. Would love to read it. And yeah, here here to all those mischief makers out in the world! You make life more exciting!
 
December 22, 2010
wow! Adri is back with a wine review! I am so happy that I am the first one here. Shows you how alcohol just grabs my attention! Berries and cocoa eh? mmm...
December 22, 2010
LMFAO! Alcohol and anything to do with sex do seem to activate your review radar.
December 22, 2010
....and what is wrong with that? ;P
December 22, 2010
Welcome and thanks for being the first one to drop by and comment. I was rather productive before heading home! I got 2 reviews posted and an answer. Yay me! A lot of my film reviews might have to wait until next year since I'm leaving them here for the holidays. If I watch the old and new Tron, I will post some reviews for them. Plus, I wanted to write one on Inception and maybe the new Harry Potter film. I've been slacking in your community...but they will be coming or dear and wise William, lover of alcohol, lol!
 
1
What's your opinion on Middle Sister Mischief Maker - Cabernet ...?
rate
1 rating: -1.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Middle Sister Mischief Maker - Cabernet Sauvignon
Middle Sister Mischief Maker - Cabernet Sauvignon
Details
Winemaker: Middle Sister Winery
Varietal: Cabernet Sauvignon
Region: Santa Rosa, California

Related Topics
Red Wine

Wine made from grapes that is red.

2005 Silver Oak Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon

A Cabernet Sauvignon from Silver Oak

Middle Sister Forever Cool - Merlot

Merlot Wine that is vinted and bottled by Middle Sister Wine

Cabernet Sauvignon

A grape used for making red wine

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists