SF Signal
SF Signal
A community for science fiction fans!

Captain's Glory (Star Trek) by William Shatner, Garfield Reeves-Stevens, and Judith Reeves-Stevens

13 Ratings: 2.2
Audio CD book read by William Shatner (the final book in a trilogy)

Captain's Glory is a novel by William Shatner, co-written with Judith and Garfield Reeves-Stevens, based upon the television series Star Trek. The novel was released in 2006 in hardcover format. This is the final novel in … see full wiki

Author: William Shatner, Judith Reeves-Stevens, Garfield Reeves-Stevens
Genre: Science Fiction
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Date Published: August 22, 2006
ISBN: 0743539621
1 review about Captain's Glory (Star Trek) by William Shatner,...

Totality: The New Borg

  • Mar 28, 2010
Rating:
+3

Review Disclaimer: When listening to an audio book, it's harder to take notes to write a more detailed review (usually I'm driving). Because I also came into the trilogy with the final novel (an abridged reading), my rating was affected. Despite these inconveniences, I'm sure future readers, or listeners, will be engrossed in the Star Trek universe as throughly as I was. So, enjoy my short and sweet review of a purely entertaining read.

This is an abridged audio version of the third book in a trilogy about an enemy called the Totality. Star Trek fans will enjoy this reading by William Shatner because he brings the characters alive with his engaging impersonations (although he could work on his women's voices). This audio book was like a radio show broadcast with special effects and a musical score that rivals the series. 

The main negative aspect to this book is the fact that it's abridged. I recommend reading the print version and then listening to the audio CDs to gain a different experience of the story. 

Finally, remember that it's the finale to a trilogy, so try reading the first two books in the series. I didn't realize this fact until after I had finished listening to it. Despite this unfortunate realization, I still throughly enjoyed the book and was able to follow most of the back-story. 

This book has an engaging and interesting villain, the Totality, which will draw Borg fans into the depths of the Star Trek universe. Countering the villain's efforts to consume humanoid life in the universe are favorite heroes from various Star Trek series: Captain Kirk, Captain Picard, Dr. Leonard "Bones" McCoy, Chief Engineer Scott, and even Admiral Kathryn Janeway, to name a few. Overall, I enjoyed the interactions between Picard and Kirk the best, many of the scenes were thought provoking or comical depending on the situation. And of course the epic battle between the heroes and the villain had me on the edge of my seat until the interesting conclusion. 

Although the entire crew of the Next Generation makes an appearance in this book there was one question left unanswered for me: Where was Data?

Totality: The New Borg

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
18
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
October 22, 2010
I'm a huge trekkie as you know, but I never really got into the star trek books. The plot of this sounds pretty cool, though. William Shatner doing girl voices??? Boy, that must've been hilarious in and of itself, lol. :-)
October 22, 2010
Yay for trekkie fans! We still need to go to the museum at the air base one of these days. I never really got into any of the books before this one either, but it was really fun as an audio book. Yeah, Shatner made the book for me. I wish it hadn't been abridged, though!
 
April 22, 2010
Much as I enjoy sci-fi, I've never read a single novel from the Star Trek universe. I'm afraid I'll like the damn things, LOL. Nice review, Adrianna.
April 23, 2010
LOL! Thanks, Paul, for reading my review! I want to read more Star Trek books after this one. I went to the Star Trek exhibit in San Jose and loved it. They had quite a few other books on sale there. I might ask for some for my birthday. They seem to be purely entertainment reading, though.
 
April 22, 2010
wow! driving and listening to an audio book for a review....that is impressive! I don't think I'll read this one, I was just interested in what you had to say on it. Great write up!
April 23, 2010
LOL! You have no idea how hard it is to listen to a book and remember the details! I'm a vivid note-taker, so it's hard not to pick up a pen and paper to write down some quotes. Other drives are very lucky that I don't do this too! LOL! I'm actually quite a safe driver. My family complains that I drive like an old grandmother. :-P It's a vastly different experience to listen to a book on tape. :)
 
March 29, 2010

You know, as much of a Star Trek fan as I have been for decades, I have never really gotten into reading Trek books.  I read one, Imzadi, many years ago, and it was okay but it didn't really inspire me to keep reading them.

I was really happy when J.J. Abrams (despite not being a Trekkie himself) brought a new Star Trek movie to the screen last year.  I thought it was awesome.

March 30, 2010
I'm curious to read this entire trilogy. It was an interesting book, especially since it was written and read by William Shatner. I just wish I hadn't jumped into the middle of the series. I also wish this one I listened to wasn't an abridged version.

Yeah, the Star Trek movie was great even though J. J. Abrams wasn't a fan. I just wanted someone to bring the show back to life and get a new fan base interested!
 
1
What's your opinion on Captain's Glory (Star Trek) by William S...?
rate
13 Ratings: +2.2
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Captain's Glory (Star Trek) by William Shatner, Garfield Reeves-Stevens, and Judith Reeves-Stevens
Related Topics
Night of the Living Trekkies

A book by Kevin David Anderson

The Man Who Folded Himself by David Gerrold

A book by David Gerrold

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
SF Signal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists