SF Signal
SF Signal
A community for science fiction fans!

The Windup Girl

11 Ratings: 2.4
A book by Paolo Bacigalupi

Starred Review. Noted short story writer Bacigalupi (Pump Six and Other Stories) proves equally adept at novel length in this grim but beautifully written tale of Bangkok struggling for survival in a post-oil era of rising sea levels and out-of-control … see full wiki

Tags: Book, Cafe Libri, Science Fiction, Hugo Award Nominee, Paolo Bacigulupi
Author: Paolo Bacigalupi
Genre: Science Fiction & Fantasy
Publisher: Night Shade Books
1 review about The Windup Girl

The Wind Up Girl - The book I almost didn't like

  • Dec 29, 2011
Rating:
+4
I decided to read The Wind Up Girl after being drawn to the cover art every time I went to the bookstore. I finally pick it up a few months ago. Let me start by saying I'm somewhat of a prude when I read. I was automatically uncomfortable with the Wind Up Girl's situation and as the abuse escalated I was borderline disgusted. I persevered because the world Bacigalupi created was so detailed an interesting. Still, what kept me going was story line involving Kanya. Her story saves the book in my opinion. It's worth the read but it will probably be a while before I read another Bacigalupi book.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
5
Fun to Read
5
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
December 31, 2011
Here's the review I wrote back in January 2011: http://lunch.com/t/7tw4
 
December 31, 2011
I read this some time ago and have to tell ya I didn't like it. Tough read. Have you ever read the author China Mieville? Same type of style.
December 31, 2011
Haven't read her book. I don't have a problem with foreign terms. I use a lot in my writing. I'm not a big fan of dark topics. I read to be uplifted and to escape. There are too many dark themed books for my taste lately.
December 31, 2011
I agree. I like more science fiction anyway, like from Heinlein and the more recent authors like Robert J. Sawyer.
January 06, 2012
Most scifi I read these days is by independent writers. The ideas are more interesting, kind of like the Golden Age of Heinlein, Asimov, Clarke and the rest. I haven't read any Sawyer. I'll have to look him up.
January 07, 2012
OK, thanks. I just started borrowing Sawyer's books from the library. He's a big deal in Canada, apparently.
 
December 30, 2011
Nice write-up, this sounds like an intriguing, if difficult, read. Thanks for sharing!
December 31, 2011
The concept of genetic food and being run by gigantic corporations at war was a good concept but didn't come off like I was hoping. :)
 
1
What's your opinion on The Windup Girl?
rate
11 Ratings: +2.4
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
The Windup Girl
Related Topics
The City & The City

A book by China Mieville

Boneshaker

A Steampunk novel by Cherie Priest.

Dune

1965 Novel by Frank Herbert

Source: The Windup Girl on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
SF Signal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists