SF Signal
SF Signal
A community for science fiction fans!
Fahrenheit 451 (book)

A novel by Ray Bradbury

< read all 46 reviews

Scarily true tale of dystopian society

  • May 21, 2010
Rating:
+5
I first read this book in middle school as part of an assigned reading course. I found it frightening and intense then in the same way 1984 is. Reading it again as an adult shines a whole new light on how this work has disturbingly captured the issues of American society that transformed from possibly relevant in 1953 to truly pertinent in today's world.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
June 14, 2010
I'd like to see you expand a bit more on your opinion.
June 14, 2010
I agree. This reads more like a Quick Tip rather than a review. Feel free to copy it over as QT, Liz. Then, you can expand with a lengthier review at a later date. :)
June 14, 2010
It's a bit long for a QT. But it would be easy enough to condense.
June 14, 2010
Good idea! The new character count for QT's have gotten me a bit confused. They are now 500 characters in length! What fun, lol.
June 14, 2010
Great. I could scarcely write a sentence that fit before. I'll have try and write some new ones now.
June 14, 2010
Yeah, I think that's why they expanded them. I didn't like how short they were before either. I'm even thinking about going back and editing my old ones. I wrote a really good QT on Coraline the other day too. My first one with the new character count. :)
June 14, 2010
That's one of Trashie's favorite movies! {sob} ;)
June 18, 2010
I finally viewed the movie about 6 months or so ago. I don't think I had seen it before then. I still liked the book more. ;)
June 18, 2010
Definitely one of Bradbury's best. and that's saying a lot.
June 19, 2010
I agree.
 
1
More Fahrenheit 451 reviews
review by . April 26, 2010
Fahrenheit 451: A Powerful and Thought-Provoting Novel
In 1966, Ray Bradbury wrote: "I find now, after the fact, chances are Fahrenheit 451 might be around for a few years." At that time the short novel, originally published in book form in 1953, had "been around" for 13 years. In 2003 it celebrated its 50th year in print, and now, in 2010, it is still as popular as ever. Why has this story had such longevity? Is it because Bradbury reversed a widely accepted premise--instead of putting out fires, future firemen start them? Is it …
review by . June 24, 2010
"We need not to be let alone. We need to be really bothered once in a while. How long is it since you were really bothered? About something important, about something real?" cries Montag in Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451. Montag, a fireman, is upset after having witnessed a woman who had chosen to die with her collection of books rather than leave them behind. In his world, however, firemen do not fight fires; they start them.      Bradbury’s 1953 science …
Quick Tip by . August 14, 2010
Read this in High school. A classic that should be read by all. As a Freemason I have had to memorize all the ritual by hear by having another brother mason recite it to me and I repeated it back, just like in 451. I like that connection allot.
review by . April 11, 2010
Fahrenheit 451 is one of the most famous works of science fiction, and with "Brave New World" and "1984" represents one of the most memorable and haunting dystopias. In a future world, books are banned and firemen actually set fires instead of extinguishing them. The state exercises a form of social control through controlling what sort of information people have access to. It turns out that not all books are banned, only those that we would today consider "great works" - Plato, Shakespeare, The …
Quick Tip by . July 29, 2010
One of the greatest books about why books matter. An easy read, but sticks with you.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Better you read it while you can. Nice story. You can also check out the movie. This is an amazing "what if" novel.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
Ray Bradbury has a unique style of writing. Pick up this book and take some time to note his distinctive voice.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
Oh my which book would I be? Is it best for me to choose or someone else? The honor! The responsibility! The Gift!
Quick Tip by . July 11, 2010
Interesting message from a prolific, renowned author but descriptive writing style not particular engaging.
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
I had to read this for my English class once and however, I found it to be boring and not so entertaining. It actually is a good story. Other people seem to enjoy it.
About the reviewer
Liz ()
I'm a 24 year old student working on my doctor in veterinary medicine :) I'm a fan of feathers, scales and fiction novels.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
zombiedoc
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

Fahrenheit 451 is a dystopian novel by Ray Bradbury which was first published in 1953.

The novel presents a future American society in which the masses are hedonistic and critical thought through reading is outlawed. The central character, Guy Montag, is employed as a "fireman" (which, in this future, means "bookburner"). The number "451" refers to the temperature at which book paper combusts. Although sources contemporary with the novel's writing gave the temperature as 450 °C (842 °F), Bradbury is believed to have thought "Fahrenheit" made for a better title; however, in an introduction to the 40th anniversary edition of the novel, Bradbury states that a person he spoke with at the local fire department said "Book-paper catches fire at 451 degrees Fahrenheit". The "firemen" burn them "for the good of humanity". Written in the early years of the Cold War, the novel is a critique of what Bradbury saw as issues in American society of the era.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0345342968
ISBN-13: 978-0345342966
Author: Ray Bradbury
Genre: Intelligent Science Fiction, Political and Social Satire
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Date Published: 1966
Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
SF Signal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists