SF Signal
SF Signal
A community for science fiction fans!
Asimov's I, Robot

A book by Isaac Asimov

< read all 12 reviews

I, Review

  • Feb 19, 2011
Rating:
+4

Isaac Asimov's I, Robot is a collection of short stories that explores Dr. A's development  of the three laws of robotics (now the 4 laws).

Each of the stories was originally published in Astounding Science Fiction during the 1940s and each is a logic puzzle.

The settings for the stories range from a middle class family's home to the barren and harsh surfaces of various planets in the solar system.  Each presents a robot who's behavior seemingly violates one of the three laws and the quest to find an explanation for the aberrant behavior.

It should be noted that these stories do not relate in any meaningful way to the Will Smith movie of the same title.  About the only commonalities are the references to the Three Laws and the robot psychologist character - Dr. Susan Calvin.  (Harlan Ellison wrote a more faithful script which was never filmed, though the script is available in book form.)

The stories are quick reads, though some may find Asimov's style a bit sparse; others may find the material dated or pulpy, but these minor issues ought to be ignored.  These stories and the concepts presented in them formed the bedrock for real-world robotics research and are still influencing designers today.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
5
Post a Comment
February 19, 2011
I loved Asimov's robot stories. Doubleday (through a book club, I think) released an omnibus of Asimov's  I, Robot and The Rest of the Robots (8 more stories...) called The Complete Robot.  Only a small handful of later robot stories were written and published.
February 23, 2011
no need to pick that up, I have the original pb of The Rest of the Robots (with an awful menacing three-pincer robot cover)
February 23, 2011
I have that one, too. :)
 
1
More I, Robot reviews
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
Actually this is a group of weak short stories whose only redeeming wuality is that they are somewhat novel.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
very good, quite different from the film
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
This is NOT the movie, in any way! This collection of "robot stories" explores ways in which humans and self-thinking robots might interact, in the most unexpected ways. How can you tell if a robot is lying? Can a robot feel? What does it mean for a robot to die? Fascinating fodder for Asimov's agile mind.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
This book is so much different from the movie carrying the same title, but is just as interesting
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Amazing book. One of my favorites.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
A wonderful collection of stories that looks at Asimov's ideas of the development and implementation of advanced robotics in the future. The movie by the same name only shares the name in common, this book is so much better than that was.
review by . November 17, 2008
I, Robot by Isaac Asimov
Re-reading "I, Robot" before the movie comes out was a good idea, I'm glad I did. For me, reading Asimov if often a fond trip down memory lane.  But if you have never read Asimov or looking for somewhere to start, I would highly recommend "I, Robot" as a first glimpse into Asimov's world(s). Here is a wonderful and timeless collection of nine short stories that all center around a central theme; The Three Laws Of Robotics.  The three laws are: 1) A robot may not injure a human …
review by . November 02, 2006
Few books have defined a genre of pop culture as well as this short classic by Isaac Asimov. This book is a collection of several stories, all of which are set in the near future when written by I. Asimov in 1950. By reading the stories from front cover to back cover, we see the evolution of human - robot relationships both at a personal level, and on a societal level at large. In all the stories, the relationship is defined by three laws. But the constraints of these laws can cause robot behavior …
review by . August 17, 2004
I, ROBOT is a collection of nine short stories revolving around Susan Calvin, the world's first robopsychologist. The premise of the book is that after spending almost six decades working with U.S. Robots, Susan Calvin is on the verge of retirement. A reporter has been assigned to write an article about Calvin for the Interplanetary Press and he seeks her out to flush out the biographical information he already has about her. What follows are nine separate tales about robots who didn't respond and …
review by . March 22, 2004
While rereading this book, I was struck at how prescient Asimov was concerning computers and the mysteries of their apparent anomalous behavior. As a computer programmer, I see many similarities between debugging software and the intricacies of robopsychology. Dr. Susan Calvin, the preeminent expert in the psychology of the robot brain, is the stereotypical computer geek. She was largely humorous, unattractive and had no romantic life, so Asimov predicted what we now see as the typical computer …
About the reviewer
Steve Davidson ()
Ranked #2
   www.rimworlds.com/thecrotchetyoldfan
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Crotchetyoldfan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

The three laws of Robotics:
1) A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm
2) A robot must obey orders givein to it by human beings except where such orders would conflict with the First Law.
3) A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the First or Second Law.

With these three, simple directives, Isaac Asimov changed our perception of robots forever when he formulated the laws governing their behavior. In I, Robot, Asimov chronicles the development of the robot through a series of interlinked stories: from its primitive origins in the present to its ultimate perfection in the not-so-distant future--a future in which humanity itself may be rendered obsolete.

Here are stories of robots gone mad, of mind-read robots, and robots with a sense of humor. Of robot politicians, and robots who secretly run the world--all told with the dramatic blend of science fact and science fiction that has become Asmiov's trademark.


From the Hardcover edition.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 0553294385 (MM pbk., movie tie-in ed.)
ISBN-13: 9780553294385 (MM pbk., movie tie-in ed.)
Author: Isaac Asimov
Genre: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Anthology
Publisher: Spectra; Mti edition (November 1, 1991)
Date Published: November 1, 1991
Format: Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages, Product Dimensions: 6.9 x 4.2 x 0.9 inches
Polls with this book
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
SF Signal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists