SF Signal
SF Signal
A community for science fiction fans!
The Walking Dead: The Complete First Season

The first season of the acclaimed horror-drama TV series that aired on AMC.

< read all 6 reviews

LOVE THIS SHOW

  • Oct 10, 2011
Rating:
+5


THE WALKING DEAD

I have been reading the comic since it was released and that is no lie. I am a big fan of zombies in any format mainly because my brother is literally scared of them. I can't help it but I love it. So when I first that the comic was being turned into a series I was super excited. I had always believed that this would be the right format for such a grand story. If this was made into a feature film there is no way it could fit all that it would need to.

Now as a big fan of the comic from Robert Kirkman I could tell you anything that is spot on direct and anything changed but that would take the fun out of it. Plus for any one who has not read it or is not a comic reader this is a very stand alone show. Any one who has read the comic I will say that you should not be disappointed, sure the comic is classic but this show is also really good. Well cast, acted, written, and directed, I would have to say that this was and is a great show.

The great first season was six episodes long with each paced very well and surprisingly kept in tact what the comic was about. That of course is the humans and not the zombies; it really is a character driven story. I knew with Frank Darabont on board this would be made right. He did a great job here has I really enjoyed this show, from TV all the way to DVD/Blu-Ray.

The story follows a cop named Rick Grimes who is shot in the line of duty; he ends up in a coma. When he finally awakes no one is to be found and he is all alone, alone in the hospital. He now is on the hunt for his wife and son who as far as he knows are missing. Everything he knew and loved is gone, and besides meeting two new friends they go their own ways. He heads to Atlanta based on a tip to find his family and runs into undead and other survivors along the way. Now outside of the city it turns out wife Lori and his son Carl are with another group of survivors including Rick's best friend and co worker Shane Walsh. They all believe Rick to be dead so that leads to an interesting dynamic for our little group of friends.

Like I said before this is a character driven story and it really helps the show out. Now of course the "walkers" are there ready to eat all humans, and there are a lot of them. When there is action there is some good action but the story is really strongest amongst the living. So one group is already out there surviving and one man is out there in the middle of it all looking for his family. Do they find each other, well I say watch the show or read the comic to find out.

I will just say that the entire cast was great in my opinion and were wonderfully cast. So there is no need to go one by one since they were all great. Of the six episodes Frank Darabont was a writer on four and directed the first episode. I would also like to point out that Ernest Dickerson directed an episode, you may know him as a Spike Lee protégé who directed classics like "Juice" and "Tales From The Crypt: Demon Knight". Any way the writers and directors for this sure all did a good job here.

Now special features for the two disc set include a making of, inside each episode, sneak peaks, behind the scenes, a convention panel, and the trailer. Now of course now they have released a three disc edition to get more money out of me. Of course I am going to shell out even though I really shouldn't. I hear there are commentaries on each episode, dang them for adding that. I am a big fan of this so I need to get it.

The Walking Dead: Season OneThe Walking Dead: Season OneThe Walking Dead: Season OneThe Walking Dead: Season OneThe Walking Dead: Season OneThe Walking Dead: Season One
LOVE THIS SHOW LOVE THIS SHOW LOVE THIS SHOW LOVE THIS SHOW LOVE THIS SHOW LOVE THIS SHOW

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
October 10, 2011
This was alright for me; I just can't get past the greatness of the comic series. But I'll watch season 2 just to know where it is headed....
October 15, 2011
I love them both.
 
October 10, 2011
I've really enjoyed this show so far and I hope it continues at this lvel of quality even though Darabont has departed. Check out the new zombie film discussion in Movie Hype.
October 15, 2011
I am sure the show will be just as good, maybe better because they may want to prove they can do it with out him.
October 15, 2011
I hope so.
 
October 10, 2011
With no intentions of spoiling anything for anybody, the horse scene is one of the single best moments in zombie flick history in my opinion! Nice review. I'm looking forward to season two.
October 10, 2011
Oh yeah that scene was excellent, can't wait myself. Thanks for reading.
 
1
More The Walking Dead: The Complete... reviews
review by . December 30, 2010
posted in Pass The Remote!
3 ½ Stars: The Acclaimed Comic Book Series is
Those of you who have read my review on the pilot episode (see my review here) of AMC’s “The Walking Dead” know that I was real impressed with the opening act. My hopes for a really engaging zombie survival-horror series was elevated that I followed the series on a weekly basis (yes, even my dates revolved around me viewing the latest episode from the DVR). The live action series was so successful that AMC is now committed to another 13 episodes for season 2.      …
Quick Tip by . October 10, 2011
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Caption
The great first season was six episodes long with each paced very well and surprisingly kept in tact what the comic was about. That of course is the humans and not the zombies; it really is a character driven story. I knew with Frank Darabont on board this would be made right. He did a great job here has I really enjoyed this show, from TV all the way to DVD/Blu-Ray.
Quick Tip by . April 13, 2011
Caption
You know, I've got to say that I'm fairly impressed with this TV series so far. The show, which airs on basic cable channel AMC is pretty edgy and at times extremely gruesome. However, what makes this particular take on the zombie and post-apocalyptic sub-genres so entertaining and so engaging is that it's very much a character-driven series. Drama, horror, and science fiction collide this gritty adaptation of the comic book series of the same name. Highly recommended viewing for the …
Quick Tip by . November 22, 2010
posted in Pass The Remote!
I'm enjoying this series so far and just learned that it's based off of the comic book, The Walking Dead. I hope that sometime soon in the storyline we'll learn about what caused this deterioration of normal human beings.Until then, I'll sit back and enjoy a nice little zombie action on my Sunday evenings.
About the reviewer
I basically am just a normal person obbsessed with Mixed Martial Arts, pro wrestling, movies of all kinds, music of all kinds, books of all kinds, and of course foods of all kinds. Just trying to keep … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
FM_ALEX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

About the Show:

Waking up in an empty hospital after weeks in a coma, County Sheriff Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln) finds himself utterly alone. The world as he knows it is gone, ravaged by a zombie epidemic. The Walking Dead tells the story of the weeks and months that follow after the apocalypse. Based on Robert Kirkman's hugely successful and popular comic book series, AMC's new original series, The Walking Dead, premieres with a 90-minute episode on Halloween night: Oct. 31 at 10/9c. Written and executive produced by three-time Academy® Award-nominee Frank Darabont (The Shawshank Redemption, The Green Mile), who also directs the pilot, and executive produced by Gale Anne Hurd (The Terminator, Aliens), the series debuts during AMC Fearfest, the network's annual blockbuster marathon of thriller and horror films.

The Walking Dead is an epic, edge-of-your-seat drama where personal struggles are magnified against a backdrop of moment-to-moment survival. A survivalist story at its core, the series explores how the living are changed by the overwhelming realization that those who survive can be far more dangerous than the mindless walkers roaming the earth. They themselves have become the walking dead.

Shot on location in Atlanta, The Walking Dead is led by a cast that includes Lincoln (Teachers, Love Actually) as Rick Grimes, Jon Bernthal (The Pacific, The Ghost Writer) as Shane Walsh, Sarah Wayne Callies (Prison Break) as Lori Grimes, Laurie Holden (The ...

view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: October 31, 2010
Description: A small town deputy wakes up from a coma to find that the world has been overrun by the walking dead.
Genre: Horror
Studio: AMC Studios, Valhalla Motion Pictures, Anchor Bay Home Entertainment, Starz / Anchor Bay
Original Air Date: October 31, 2010 - December 5, 2010
DVD Release Date: March 8, 2011
Polls with this tv show
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
SF Signal is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists