SXSW on Lunch
Rate and Review SXSW Panels and Parties
Community Management: Future Skills You'll Need to Know

2010 SXSWi Core Conversation with Saul Colt

< read all 5 reviews

You already have a community!

  • Mar 15, 2010
Rating:
+4

Panelists
@saulcolt @glusman @thorpus @seamuscondron @ambercadabra @sarahprevette
This room is packed, standing room only.

Biggest Takeaway

You already have a community, it doesn't matter what kind of business you are, whatever kind of brand you are! 

This made me realize that even I have a community around my personal brand, and I need to actively manage my community.

This panel was a huge conversation and in the best way, the panelists were diverse and they didn't always agree, which was great! I learned a lot but it's hard to summarize.

I know the session was being video taped, so I will include that video when it gets posted.

Best / Worst Quotes

  • You can teach anybody social media, but for community management to succeed, it needs to be a senior role.
  • We are in danger of slinging around "community" as this big buzzword, but you ALREADY HAVE COMMUNITY, it's called your CUSTOMERS!
  • Your community tells you when you have a community
  • The big wins come from the serendipity moments, and that you can't measure. But you can measure the baseline.
  • If no one is saying your brand sucks on twitter, you're doing it wrong. You want that opportunity to start that conversation.
  • You can't tell your community what to do, you can only advise them. You don't own your community, it's their community.

Mentioned
Post by Jeremiah Owyang on Social CRM
Flowtown
Startup Metrics for Pirates

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
20
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
20
Post a Comment
March 16, 2010
I am so glad you were able to get these thoughts down so quickly. I was waiting in line for 20 minutes, and then once I got in I could only stand in the back, so I couldn't capture any notes. =( Thinking back through it today, and will write a review about what *really* stuck with me. =)
March 16, 2010
thanks thomas! The funny thing was I felt like I couldn't even begin to capture everything...lol
 
March 15, 2010
Thanks so much for this review Sara and I can't wait for the video. This is one of the panels that made me wish I was at SXSW, so I can't wait to see the video!
 
March 15, 2010
Great recap, Sarah, and awesome quotes! As a community manager, they've really got me thinking... Thanks! :)
 
1
More Community Management: Future S... reviews
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Was one of my favorite panels. Saul did great job of moderating so there were lots of opinions flying around.
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
+5 for the panelists. -2 for the venue. +5 For the great conversation with all the attendees. #NoTalkingHeads
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
If you are at all remotely related to community, you should be here!
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Looking forward to attending this panel. Community management is so new and I think it will evolve in so many ways. Should be a treat!
About the reviewer
Sarah Cooley ()
Ranked #1
Member Since: Mar 31, 2009
Last Login: May 24, 2010 05:21 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sarahcooley
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

Event Description:
Community Management is a key role in any startups but with any new role in a company they need to evolve over time to survive and prosper. Come listen to what the future of community management will look like because the future role is more than just drinking with customers!

Panelists include:
Saul Colt (twitter.com/saulcolt)
twitter.com/glusman
twitter.com/thorpus
twitter.com/seamuscondron
twitter.com/ambercadabra
twitter.com/sarahprevette

19B
Monday, March 15 at 03:30 PM
view wiki

Details

Type: Core Conversation
Location: 19B
Date(s): Monday March 15

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
SXSW on Lunch is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists