SXSW on Lunch
Rate and Review SXSW Panels and Parties
I Don't Trust You One Stinking Bit

2010 SXSWi Panel with Chris Brogan and Julien Smith

< read all 7 reviews

No Trust!

  • Mar 13, 2010
Rating:
+4

Biggest Takeaway
Everyone needs to become an investor! Everyone is being pulled to multiple areas/site/communities, yet if you invest you will start having people pull towards you. These guys used C.S. Lewis in their panel where C.S. Lewis spoke about an "inner ring" of people that you are involved in. We must invest in these people in this "inner ring" in order to engage them properly.  I felt the best part of this panel was how much they explained we all need to invest in our network. If we spend time getting to know the people in our "inner ring" people will start to pull towards you rather than be turn off and thus they won't "Trust you one stinking bit!"

This panel gave me not only great refection on deepening my network on the net, but deepening my network outside of the net in other walks of my life!

Best / Worst Quotes
"The worst way to meet us is by coming up to us after the panel!"
"Eminem had it wrong with 'Only one shot'. We don't only have one shot. You have lots of shots. It's a whole clip, not a round"
 

What wasn't said that should have been?
There should have been a couple examples of great place/sites to go to that will help us to grow our network to its best potential. I love examples during panels, it helps to get the audience to really get engaged and do what the speaker is talking about.

If this were my event....
Although this is a very interesting panel, it was a little scattered and needed a little more structure.  I felt the guys on the panel we just having a discussing with each other. Other than that the panel was great!

No Trust! No Trust!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
March 14, 2010
Great recap, Ryan! I don't know about the quotes though.... I guess I just had to be there to get the context of them :P Thanks for sharing!
 
1
More I Don't Trust You One Stinking... reviews
review by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Funny goes a long way. This panel was an exchange about investing in people, growing your network, keeping your circle BIG and finding new ways to do things. Overall, providing value to people was the theme of the talk. You provide value to people in different ways based on your personal relationship with them. Value does not always have a $ sign attached to it.       My rating went from 3, to 4, to 5 then back to 4 because it was a little disjointed because of the comedy back-n-forth …
Quick Tip by . March 14, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Presentation was a bit scattered, but I really enjoyed seeing a different side of them than what you get in the book
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
These guys do a good job keeping the preso going w/o it becoming just another 'talk' - staying engaged. #notrust
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Great content and presentation style from the guys who wrote the book on how to build trust.
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
These guys are pretty funny! This is going to be a great panel!
Quick Tip by . March 13, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
#notrust #LunchSXSW "I like that you're thinking C.S. Lewis, and I'm thinking Groucho Marx (sp?)" - Chris Brogan
About the reviewer
Ryan Weiss ()
Ranked #19
Follow Me On Twitter: @RyanWeiss   Read My Blog:Virtual Ryan      Born and raised in So Cal. Go Dodgers!!! I went to LMU and studied Business Admin/Marketing. I love Soccer … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RyanWeiss
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

Event Description:
What gives people confidence on the web? Bringing together experts in social capital and online trust, we help you build the company your users can love and call their own.

Panelists include:
Chris Brogan (twitter.com/chrisbrogan)
Julien Smith (twitter.com/julien)

9ABC
Saturday, March 13 at 12:30 PM
view wiki

Details

Type: Panel
Location: 9ABC
Date(s): Saturday March 13

First to Review

"No Trust!"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
SXSW on Lunch is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists