SXSW on Lunch
Rate and Review SXSW Panels and Parties

Has Social Media Jumped the Shark? Starstruck at the Mashable Party!

  • Mar 21, 2010
Rating:
+5

First I want to say I had an awesome time at this event. Great free drinks, incredible people and awesome music. Big thanks should go to Mashable and Sony for throwing another memorable gathering.

Some of the things that were just plain weird  was the paparazzi scene around such internet well knowns as Pete Cashmore, Robert Scoble and Leo Laporte. Now I'm still a fanboy at heart and love it when a well known Internet celeb drops by a party. But what I DON"T DO is videotape said celeb having a conversation with someone else. These are still people and deserve a little respect.

Other than that, I enjoyed seeing a ton of my friends in one place. The music was awesome and the beer was flowing. I wanted to play a little pool or shuffle board but the wait was way too long!

Overall I would give this party a straight up A but it would have sucked if I didn't have my VIP wrist band.

A definite highlight of my SXSW experience two years running.
 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
March 22, 2010
I would've been starstruck, too! Didn't expect such invasive paparazzi treatment for these folks though. Other than that, sounds like a fun time.
 
March 22, 2010
Totally agree, thx for the review! Loved the chill venue and playing shuffle puck games instead of just another dark bar. Nothing not to love about Fat Tire on tap either : ) Found that paparazzi thing super random as well.
 
March 22, 2010
Mashable definitely knows how to throw parties, attract people and keep the atmosphere electric! :D I've been to several MashBashes and they always find ways to make their events head and shoulders above the rest of the "come to our office space and drink our PBRs" parties in Manhattan, NYC. As far as the paparazzi, it'll be interesting to see how long that lasts. A lot of guys are still riding off of Early Adopter fame and will eventually be caught and surpassed by newjacks that are still hungry and want to be the next online sensation. Another thing I've noticed never happens is YouTube celebrities crossing over into becoming general internet celebrities, much less Mainstream Media celebs. I maintain that that's because their popularity is based on the unsophisticated YouTube audience and they can't get any props with their shenanigans in the real world, but that's another topic. :D
 
March 21, 2010
Agreed. On all accounts. Thx for reminding me I needed to review this one, D!
 
1
More Mashable's MashBash SXSWi 2010 reviews
review by . March 15, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
From Robert Scoble  to Laura Fitton to Tara Hunt, all the stars were out last night at the MashBash SxSW. If you weren't cool enough to get a VIP wristband the line for the party went around the block. Wait times were so long that people eventually created a check-in for the line on Foursquare.      Once inside there were many to meet and greet, plenty of places to talk, and more than enough drinks for everyone. The dance floor on the 2nd floor was packed …
review by . March 15, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
So far at SXSW it's seems like every night I'm just getting pushed around at really crowded events, but Mashable did it right this year!       The party was a Buffalo Billiards and the venue was huge! I had a VIP wrist band so I didn't have to wait in the line that was 2 blocks long. There was enough room to play a game of pool or shuffle board, there were couches to sit and talk, but there was also a dance floor. So basically you could make it any kind of party you want.   …
review by . March 15, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
one thing i loved about this party, was the variation between areas of the bar. there was the crowded "internet star" studded area downstairs, there was open areas to play pool, air hockey, (etc.) and there was the upstairs dance party.      yea, there was a long line, there always is. but it was definitely a great party with lots of great people in attendance. 
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Since I managed to miss the line on this one, it was great! Got to catch up with dearly missed friends!
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Cool bar,good drinks&a crowd of familiar faces! Crazy line, tho.Was fun to put Twitter handles to faces finally!
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
Tip: Come early, because it gets really crowded.
Quick Tip by . March 09, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
It sure does Lyssa. I'll be there!
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in SXSW on Lunch
seems like it'll be THE place to be on Sunday night!
About the reviewer

Ranked #9
Member Since: Nov 20, 2009
Last Login: Mar 22, 2010 07:08 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
doverbey
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this activity

Wiki

Event Description:
Mashable, Cliqset and Sony are proud to present the 2nd MashBash SXSWi -- Mashable's annual social media gathering at SXSW.

Buffalo Billiards
Sunday, March 14 at 10:00 PM
view wiki

Details

Type: Party
Location: Buffalo Billiards
Date(s): Sunday March 14

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
SXSW on Lunch is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists