Secret Berkeley
Shhhh.... It's a secret! ;)
Gordo Taqueria

A chain of Mexican restuarants in the San Francisco Bay Area.

< read all 2 reviews

One of the best taqueria chains in the San Francisco Bay Area

  • Feb 23, 2009
Rating:
+5
Gordo and I go way, waaay back.  They were my introduction to Mexican food that wasn't Taco Bell, and I've been hooked since!  They've actually been around since 1977, but I only discovered them about 10 years ago.  Despite being around for 30+ years, they're still incredibly down-home and humble.  In fact, several of my friends who live in the cities that Gordo serves are often surprised to learn that they're a chain (a family owned one!).  Myself included. 

They've got mom 'n pop written so over them that when you're there, it makes you feel like you're at the only Gordo's that there is, but surprise surprise, there are actually five of them around the area!  There's nothing fancy about their decor or their food; it's just a no-frills taqueria that has attracted quite the following.  Thank jebus that they've got locations in San Francisco, Berkeley and Albany (which I consider all to be my home bases)!

Oh, Gordo, how I love thee!  Let me count the ways:
  • They've stayed consistently good over the years.
  • They've barely raised their prices in the past 10 years that I've eaten there.
  • There's a big, jolly, mustached man who looks like Jose Ole and used to have my order memorized at the Albany location.
  • When I want a snack, their taco's the perfect size.
  • When I'm really hungry, their regular burrito hits the spot.
  • When I'm feeling gluttonous, I order a quesidilla, which, at Gordo, is pretty much a regular burrito that got totally FRIED.
  • When I'm feeling EXTRA gluttonous, I order a SUPER burrito.
  • And for Mexican plate lovers, you can get a heaping plate of beans, rice, and your choice of meats, plus salsa and four tortillas for just $4.90.  Super deal!

Oh, and the best part: Their number for the Albany location is 528-TACO.  Mmmhmmm, TACO.  Their number is saved in my cellphone, but I never look it up; I'm far too amused from dialing 528-TACO.  You're gonna wanna remember that number because their lunch and dinner rush lines can get pretty gnarly.  Oh, and I totally used to be Friendster friends with Gordo back in the day when Friendster was actually popular.  I think I still am, actually.
First Gordos Ever

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
26
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
May 31, 2009
Thanks for the info on this one! I live in SF, and I may just check out that location.
June 01, 2009
I put the addresses of all the locations in the wiki. You're so lucky that you have three Gordos in SF. I've only got two in the EB!
June 01, 2009
Yes, I just saw that. That was awesome of you.
 
February 23, 2009
@HealthyRache about Fat Burger, at least they're being honest! Although I know it's still awful, but who knows, it might be a disclaimer so they don't have to deal with lawsuits like other fast food chains. And @devora, it's rare to find places that are still down to earth and have high quality after so many years in business. I'll definitely check them out when I'm in the area.
 
February 23, 2009
Good review. Gordo is spanish for Fat, isn't it? I love Italian and Spanish food -- and speaking of restaurant names, I check out Buffalo Burgers, lots of pickles, mustard and tons of fries. Yummy....
 
February 23, 2009
@HealthyRache When it's in another language, it's cute! :P You're right though, "Fat Burger", not so much... @DesignDude Really? I have a whole group of contacts on my cellphone dedicated to food. Shame on those who have made fun of you for it! You never know when you'll need a reservation for a place or just a midnight taco :P
 
1
More Gordo Taqueria reviews
Quick Tip by . March 04, 2010
posted in Secret Berkeley
Don't tell anyone, but this is my dirty little secret :x
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #1
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
Ici
Ici
rate more to improve this
About this food

Wiki

Gordo is a small chain of Mexican restaurants in the San Francisco Bay Area of California with five locations.
  1. 2252 Clement Street
    San Francisco, CA 94121
    phone:  415.387.4484

    hours:  10am - 10pm

  2. 1239-9th Avenue
    San Francisco, CA 94122
    phone:  415.566.6011
    hours:  10am - 10pm

  3. 5450 Geary Boulevard
    San Francisco, CA 94121
    phone:  415.668.8226
    hours:  10am - 10pm

  4. 2989 College Avenue
    Berkeley, CA 94705
    phone:  510.204.9027
    hours:  10am - 10pm

  5. 1423 Solano Avenue
    Albany, CA 94706
    phone:  510.528.8226
    hours:  10am - 10pm

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Secret Berkeley is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists