Social Good
A community for causes and social good

Non Profit Junkies, World Volunteers, People who want to change the World- Idealist.org is for you

  • Mar 11, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Idealist.org is a non-profit organization that was created to allow people from all over the world an opportunity to connect in a variety of ways- to improve the world that we live in.  The site is an excellent resource for individuals looking for non-profit jobs and internships, domestic and international volunteer opportunities, or who want to form or join a group that is dedicated to making a difference in the world we live in.  The site has over 750,000 members world wide and continues to grow everyday.    

Idealist.org also provides a contact list of over 65oo speakers who specialize in a wide variety of areas including education, criminal justice, environmentalism, economic development and more. Perfect for the grass roots activist that is trying to stir up awareness about a particular concern in a particular area.    Also the research tab has thousands of multimedia and written resources geared towards educating people on a variety of topics. 

Idealist provides those of us who insist on bringing about societal change a connecting place where we can meet, gather resources, educate, and create awareness. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
May 05, 2009
I love this site and go to it often in hopes that I will find my true calling.
 
March 13, 2009
Hi Shannon! Idealist.org is great. I just lifted my non-profit, Something Worth Doing, on it. I'm looking ot volunteer in Africa this year and have found countless opportunities through Idea List!
March 13, 2009
That is pretty cool!- What is your non profit about?
March 13, 2009
It's called Something Worth Doing...Our goal is to do something worth doing and to inspire others to do the same. Everything from shoveling snow from our neighbors' driveways to our recent trip to build houses for Dalits (Untouchables caste members) in India! www.somethingworthdoing.com
March 13, 2009
That sounds really awesome! You should write a review on it!
 
March 12, 2009
:) You're welcome!
 
March 11, 2009
I remember when this site came out and I was so impressed. Had forgot it about it until now. Thanks!
 
1
More idealist.org - Welcome to Idea... reviews
Quick Tip by . April 22, 2010
posted in Social Good
Fantastic resource for those looking for volunteer opportunities, jobs or programs related to charity and causes.
About the reviewer
Shannon Johnson ()
  A freelance writer whose favorite topics are organic foods, healthy living, and all things green. A professor of career communications, an avid yogi, a vegetarian, and a mommy.I am a beach … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Bohemianliving
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki



Action Without Borders, was founded in 1995 by Ami Dar, and is the non-profit organization that runs Idealist.orgIdealist.org was formed to facilitate connections between individuals and institutions that are committed to making a difference in their communities.  Action with Borders is headquartered in New York and has about 70 employees in locations such as Berlin, Geneva, San Francisco, Seattle, and Quito.  Idealist.org has almost one million members and receive around 50,000 unique visitors each day. 

Idealist. Org's mission is to bring together people and organizations for the purposes of exchanging resources, ideas, to locate non-profit opportunities, find jobs, and network with other members.  The site allows members to stay up-to-date with the information of their choice with daily alerts, establish a personal profile, to find volunteer opportunities, and to educate themselves about pressing issues in their communities.  The site has almost 5000 jobs posted, 15,000 volunteer opportunities, is connected of almost 100,000 organizations, offers materials for speaking engagement, and even has a list of speakers that you can hire to speak at scheduled events. 

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Social Good is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists