Social Good
A community for causes and social good
Free Rice

Game website that gives players the chance to donate rice to needy countries through UN Food program

< read all 5 reviews

Now your procrastination can feed starving nations

  • Dec 17, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+4

 If you haven't donated to any charities for the holidays, you can make it up by playing vocabulary games on Free Rice. How does it work? Every question you get correct, the UN Food Program donates 20 grains of rice to hunger-ridden countries. The best part? Like Monopoly, there's no end to the game — it's up to you when you want to stop.

My boss is on this website all the time, and hey, far be it for me to tell her to stop trying to put an end to world hunger. Not only that, it's also pretty educational. Now I know what "dermatosis" is, and the world is better for it!

They've just introduced some new games, one of them an art identification quiz.

The only drawback is it's kind of addictive, which definitely enables you to procrastinate. But at least you'll have spent your time wisely. So what if you haven't got that budget report finished? At least you just fed a family of four in one afternoon, right? 

jasmine rice

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
11
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
March 03, 2010
Thanks! I'll check it out!
 
April 04, 2009
I had completely forgotten about this site! I LOVE it...what a great idea...thanks for reviewing it.
 
February 01, 2009
I know: I'm already addicted to Facebook, Twitter, and Lunch (heh heh)!
 
February 01, 2009
This sounds amazing!! Scared for the addiction part though.. haha, like my recent attachment to TWITTER!! Ahh!
 
1
More FreeRice.com reviews
review by . March 03, 2010
posted in The Rice Table
Totally addictive, all for a good cause in the process of learning!
Many a times, we claim charity work is costly, in terms of time or/& money or simply we are just too lazy to initiate. Well, this is definitely the site for those with excuses & those who are downright lazy, me including :-)      Thanks to @LingEatsCake, I'm doing some real work, charity wise, that is! In return, I hope she likes my cake review! ;-)       The idea behind this site is to make it fun while you learn something and also do …
Quick Tip by . March 03, 2010
Engaging, innovative, meaningful & totally addictive! All for a great cause! Help feed hunger by simply turning a player!
Quick Tip by . December 07, 2009
accidental, mouse skipped when I received an im, this is NOT my vote.
Quick Tip by . November 08, 2009
posted in Social Good
Definitely the best & most productive time-wasting website around, test your vocab,stop hunger. It's free, people. Try it now, do some good!
About the reviewer
I'm a curious foodie, a devout fashion gawker, and an unrepentant print nerd. I work at one of the last mainstream commercial magazines that's still printing.      Other things … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
LingEatsCake
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

FreeRice is a website where users play various educational, multiple-choice games in order to raise money to fight world hunger. The games include English vocabulary (the game the site began with), multiplication tables, pre-algebra, chemistry (basic and intermediate), English grammar, basic foreign language vocabulary for English speakers (French, German, Italian, and Spanish), geography (world capitals and country identification), and art.

Month Total     Grains of rice

Jan 2010          1,451,006,720
Feb 2010          1,281,469,630

view wiki
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Social Good is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists