Social Good
A community for causes and social good
Yele.org

Wyclef Jean's Haiti Relief Fund

< read all 1 reviews

Wyclef's charity needs help more than ever now

  • Jan 14, 2010
Rating:
+5
I saw Wyclef at a confernce at the Google headquarters last year, called Zeitgeist.  He not only performed, but more importantly, he sat on a panel where he discussed this charity he started and why it was so important to him.  Additionally, i saw the 60 Minutes segment that they did on him and his charity.  From those cursory points of reseach it appears that this charity is trustworthy and is truly focused on on the needs of the Haitian people.

In the aftermath of the earthquake this week, the Haitian people need our help more than ever and I hope that Yele.org is the right group to do it, so i'm donating to them.   You can make donations throught the website at www.yele.org or if you text "yele" to 501501, you can donate $10 and it will show up on your phone bill.

I haven't tried the phone part, but the website works great and you can donate much more than just $10. 

Update: 1/18/10:
It's unfortunate at a time when the Haitian people should be the focus, that Wyclef's management of Yele.org is now being called into question.  This story is still unfolding right now, but it's just a shame that 1) Yele.org's management may have brought some of this on themselves when i believe that Wyclef at least truly wants to help is country, or 2) someone it trying to create a story as a result of all the focus on this tragedy.  Washington Post and Smoking Gun both ran stories on this and those stories has promted Wyclef to respond, which he did in this video.

and here is Wyclef's video response:

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
44
Thought-Provoking
44
Fun to Read
35
Well-Organized
38
Post a Comment
January 24, 2010
Nice review! I had not heard of Yele. I always thought Wyclef was an amazing artist...it is nice to learn about this side of him.
 
January 14, 2010
Wyclef does great work with his charity. Hopefully everyone can skip a couple of starbucks to help out. I am pretty sure with the text it is a $5 donation and you have to confirm a text message with a "yes" reply.
 
January 14, 2010
Thanks for putting this out the J.R. we need all the help we can get.
 
January 14, 2010
Thanks JR! I've posted this to my Twitter and it's getting some nice RTs...
January 14, 2010
Thanks Sam. I saw your FB post and tweets today... That's what inspired me to share my quick review. Thanks for the inspiration to write the review and encouragement to donate. I hope more people follow your lead.
January 14, 2010
Thanks love! I hope it inspires more people!
 
January 14, 2010
I only first heard about Yele since it became a trending topic on twitter yesterday, but didn't know what it was until @MzJen_2_review mentioned it in her review of Haiti.  Like @mweber82, I'm a bit skeptical about donating to organizations that I've never heard of, but the information in your review legitimizes it more for me.  I'll have to check out the website.  Thanks for the heads up, J.R.!
 
January 14, 2010
Having not heard of Yéle until today (I'd imagine that's true for most people) I didn't have a lot of trust in the organization by the simple fact I'd never heard of it. Tweet mentions don't exactly build a lot of trust. Having learned a bit more and reading this, it sounds like a terrific organization and hope more people will find out about Yéle and donate to it vs. say the Red Cross. I made my donation to Partners in Health on the recommendation of friends and Charity:Water's director of water projects prior to learning more about Yéle. I trust that both of them will get a very high % of the money to where it needs to go.
January 14, 2010
yeah... thanks Mike. that's why i just threw up this quick review because i doubted a lot of people heard about it. Unfortunately i'm no expert on charities and don't know where the money will provide the best bang for the buck, but i can say from what i've seen, Wyclef is 100% behind this and he's not just some celebrity they threw on the face of this to raise money.
 
1
About the reviewer
J.R. Johnson ()
Ranked #5
If you're looking for some more company related stuff about me... it's on my bio page here.      Also, here's a family surf video from our recent wedding. Family = good … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jrjohnson
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

Yéle Haiti

is a grassroots movement that builds global awareness for Haiti while helping to transform the country through programs in education, sports, the arts and environment. Yéle’s community service programs include food distribution and mobilizing emergency relief. Grammy-Award winning musician, humanitarian and Goodwill Ambassador to Haiti Wyclef Jean founded Yéle Haiti in 2005.

Mission

Our mission is to create small-scale, manageable and replicable projects to contribute to Haiti’s long-term progress. Each initiative is imbued with Wyclef’s passion, as Yéle Haiti’s founder. Whether utilizing local hip-hop musicians to deliver awareness messages in forgotten neighborhoods or bringing his famous friends to Haiti to support the movement, what Wyclef radiates is profound wishes for the country.

Each of Yéle’s projects is conceived to renew hope for Haitians to rebuild their nation. Yéle Haiti wants to project a new forward-thinking image that accurately reflects Haiti’s youthful population and their unique and irrepressible spirit, which is an integral part of their culture. We firmly believe that given a genuine opportunity to shape the future, Haiti’s youth will shock the world with their ability to take Haiti to the next level.

Yéle Haiti is a grassroots movement that builds global awareness for Haiti while helping to transform the country through programs in education, sports, ...

view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Social Good is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists