The Family Room
A Lunch community dedicated to raising families...
A Christmas Scene

An annual holiday celebrated on December 25 that commemorates the birth of Jesus of Nazareth.

< read all 10 reviews

The Meaning of Christmas is Entirely Up To You!

  • Dec 1, 2009
Rating:
+5

CHRISTMAS is such a significant word in History. It is a traditional religious holiday, although many who celebrate Christmas are non-Christians. One thing is for certain, the fact that this season for whatever reason this time of the year just inspires people to be nice and forgiving. There is just an amount of joy and cheer when we walk on Christmas eve.
 
Many have defined Christmas as the birth of Christ and a fulfillment of a promise. Some think that the holiday was created by the Roman Catholics in unison with a Pagan Holiday to appease the masses and to avoid confusion. Some link it to jolly old Saint Nick that inspired the tradition of gift-giving.
 
Christians celebrate Christmas as the day that a promise is fulfilled when the Messiah is born. I for one, believe that this is NOT the actual birth date of Christ but there is nothing wrong in celebrating a day as a reminder of a miracle and the promise of forgiveness. Christmas reflects different art forms that reflect the Nativity. It is time for attending Mass.

File:Adorazione del Bambino - Beato Angelico.jpg

 
Christmas is a time for mistletoe, colorful lights and luscious decorations. It is a time for being creative in making your home reflect the joy of the season. I’ve seen people spend enormous amount of money to make their homes “Christmasy”. Decorations very from each culture; Filipinos have the PAROL (represents the star that guided the Three Wise men), America and Europe it is traditional to have snowmen and lighted sleighs. Colorful lights are just so cool to see during Christmas.
 
File:Schneemann86.jpg
 
Christmas also proves to be the catalysts for gift-giving and using the credit card. Kids are the main recipients for gifts. Fathers dress up as Santa Claus to bring gifts. Husbands, wives, and friends and family all take part in the gift giving. It is also a time for Christmas Carols and stories to uplift the spirit...

File:Greeting Card Christmas 1940.jpg

File:Santa Claus-SL.jpg
 
Christmas also proves to be a time for gatherings for most cultures. A time to see family members at least once a year. It is also a time for feast as the whole family sits together to share a meal. It is a time for stories and the feeling of family.
 
So just what is Christmas? The answer is entirely up to YOU.
Just what do you want Christmas to be? The answer is within your HEART.
 
Just what is within your HEART is what makes Christmas pretty special. It is a reminder of being human and the celebration of the things we usually take fore granted. Christmas is something that comes from inside.
 
Whether or not it was made by the Persians or whatever…a pagan practice or not, it doesn’t matter. Christmas promotes the spirit of GOOD WILL for me. It should be a time for love, forgiveness and kindness. Christian or agnostic, Jewish or Catholic…Christmas brings everyone together, young and old, and this is what is magical about CHRISTMAS!
 
It is indeed a season for CHEER!!
We are WHAT makes Christmas...

In closing, I leave you now with a classic Christmas carol...MERRY CHRISTMAS!!

     
 
The Meaning of Christmas is Entirely UP TO YOU! The Meaning of Christmas is Entirely UP TO YOU! The Meaning of Christmas is Entirely UP TO YOU!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
43
Thought-Provoking
45
Fun to Read
46
Well-Organized
41
Post a Comment
August 06, 2010
Woo - I have to admit you're a deep man...and I love the way you describe the differences in the beliefs of Christmas. Great review as usual!!
 
December 03, 2009
Fantastic job here Woo! This may be one of my favorite reviews of the season. I'm glad I managed to read this before Christmas though as it kinda sorta helped me re-frame some of thoughts & took me away from the commercial aspect of the holiday season which is wonderful. I swear to God you will never catch me out shopping on Black Friday. Thnks again for the wonderful work here Woo!!
December 03, 2009
Thanks for the read, bro. I realize that it is a little uncharacteristic for us woopaks to spread holiday cheer but things need a little perking up during this bleak economic times! I took a short break and will return to watching the movies we love starting tonight! I'll report back to you asap!
December 04, 2009
It's funny you should mention the bleak economic times & how we are all in need of some warmth during the season. I definitely agree with you & this review was pretty much what I needed at this time. Again, many thanks! Looking forward to the more dirty stuff that keeps us in fear of being nixed around here.
December 04, 2009
It's a Swedish flick that by Ingmar Bergman. I was going to watch it before bed but I am a little too tired; so I think I'll skip writing until I get a chance to recover from exhaustion. I'll give a holler when I posted it...
December 04, 2009
Oh yeah, I recall you & Christy talking about that. Cries & Whispers, right? Very cool. Woo, l I think you should see Fanny & Alexander. It's my favorite Bergman film although I've only seen less than a handful. It's a beautiful film & even has ghosts! Yes, i highly suggest you see it as the film is a great joy to watch during the Christmas holiday. Also, I can definitely relate to Alexander whom Bergman stated was a semi-autobiograhical sketch. Give me a shout when your review is up!
 
December 02, 2009
Wow, you've found a hot topic, huh? I guess Christmas is popular here on Lunch. Nice job. I'm still stunned you earned 43 helpful thumbs ups in a day. That's so totally awesome! =D
December 02, 2009
Me too! Christmas is a hot topic I guess. My Asian movie reviews don't get that many hits in a short period of time because most folks haven't heard of the stuff I review. I just thought I'd do something for this holiday since I've done a 31 day Halloweeen horror run...why not do a fun one for this month.
December 02, 2009
So, does that mean we can expect reviews for "How the Grinch Stole Christmas" (the original cartoon with Boris Karloff) or "Bad Santa"?
December 02, 2009
most proabably at least one Christmas movie but no more than 3. I think I may also do a write up on more motivational topics. Just trying to be more proactive.
December 02, 2009
I know what you mean. I've got to get my butt in gear. I haven't posted a new review for some time since my vamp review took so long. And guess what... more vampires are coming up too! Maybe I should just skip ahead of myself and start work on those book reviews.
December 02, 2009
schedules were meant to be broken! LOL
 
December 01, 2009
Love it! What a great review.
December 01, 2009
Thank you very much! I had lots of fun writing it as well.
 
December 01, 2009
what a cool sentiment, love it! thanks for sharing these different perspectives. I'm in the process of trying to teach my young daughter the meaning of the holiday... and trying to give her a diverse perspective, much as you've done here. I really agree with your points about Good Will, Cheer, and that we are what makes Christmas! very universal themes you pointed out.
December 01, 2009
That is also one of the joys of being a parent during Christmas...Thank you for the read, Melissa! Good will and Peace on Earth; I know it sounds cliche but it is what it is all about.
December 01, 2009
Not cliche at all : ) My daughter actually just learned how to make the peace sign, and what it means... and the pic of her doing it is going on our holiday card!
December 01, 2009
that is so cool! I think you should post that photo in your profile album here!
 
December 01, 2009
Nice Job!  I think you hit it right on the dot how Christmas has its own meaning to everyone.  My dad, who is against organized religion, celebrates Christmas and we all do because it's a great time to see family! 
December 01, 2009
Hells yes, Husher! Family is one important aspect of life. I am not a religious person but I guess you may say a bit of the spiritual kind. It is truly amazing how such a simple holiday can reach out to millions of people around the world.
 
December 01, 2009
This was timely. Thanks. I spent too much time yelling "Bah Humbug" at Christmastime, because of the commercialism. But this year. as bleak as much of the world is for so many people, I am happy to see so many lights and courageous and glorious attempts to make the most of it. Anything we can do to raise someone else's sprits deserves all the recognition we can muster for it. Go Kris! Follow that star! Someobody hit the light switch!
December 01, 2009
I am with you, I get a tad irritated when the holidays become so materialistic but during these bleak economic times, it is just awesome to see people beginning to remember what the holidays is all about. We all need to have a little light at the end of the tunnel and Christmas is just what we may all need.
December 02, 2009
I don't do Black Friday...sorry!
December 02, 2009
Black Friday is after Thanksgiving, which is before Cyber Monday, which is before Terrible Tuesday...which is before Weirded out Wednesday which is before Thera-flu Thursday...which has nothing to do with reindeer or kissing people beneath mistletoe. How did we get HERE, anyway? Ha! ...er, I mean "Ho".
 
December 01, 2009
Christmas is a time for life. I was baptised on that very day so I'd say it's "Happy Birthday!" for me!
December 01, 2009
oh that is so cool. Someone I know has her b-day on the 24th so she gets all the goodies! You were baptised on Christmas and born on the same day?
 
December 01, 2009
"So just what is Christmas? The answer is entirely up to YOU.
Just what do you want Christmas to be? The answer is within your HEART
"

YES, I wholeheartedly agree!  As I was reading the first few paragraphs, I wasn't  sure if I could relate to this review since I'm not religious at all, but as I read on... I couldn't agree more.  Really great review, Woo.  Thanks for sharing! :)
December 01, 2009
Glad you liked it, Devora! Y'know me, I try to balance everything out and write from my 'strawberry tart' (heart) he-heh. Me 'heart' everyone!
December 02, 2009
Ditto to what Deb said.
December 03, 2009
Awwwwwwww :)
 
1
More Christmas reviews
review by . December 06, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Somewhere Between The Angry Drivers, Crowded Stores, Screaming Children, And Desperate Parents...
...There is a day set aside by Christians to celebrate the birth of their Savior, Jesus Christ.  While the great majority of scholars agree that it is highly unlikely that Jesus was actually born on December 25, I think that Christmas is one of those days that falls under the It's the thought that counts banner.  Jesus might not have been born on this day, but what's the problem with celebrating His birthday on this date anyway?      I'm not writing this …
review by . December 23, 2009
posted in Inspirations
All I want for Christmas... A miracle!
William (Woopak) wrote that the meaning of Christmas is entirely up to you.   What does Christmas mean to anyone or everyone for that matter? To a Christian, the entire world. To a Chinese and non-believer, just another festive day related to some other 'aliens' in the world. To me? Well, Christmases come and go. Almost 2 decades ago, I had myself baptised on this very day; I was given a new leash of life.      Today, all I want for Christmas is not world peace …
Quick Tip by . January 24, 2013
posted in WHAT CAN I SAY?
Even though Christmas is over as of writing this, I feel like talking about it now.      Despite abandoning my Christian faith in 2001 (I'm an agnostic with really strong leanings toward atheism), I still practice Christmas because I think it's a wonderful time to spend with friends and family, and that I see it more as a cultural tradition in the Western world than an exclusively-Christian holiday.  I guess it helps that since 2006, I've been spending …
review by . December 12, 2009
Whatever happened to simple Biblical Christianity?
Alright, I'll warn you. I might sound like an odd variety of Scrooge in this review of Christmas. Please don't judge me too harshly. But here it goes...      First, as you might already know and as @Scotman and @woopak_the_thrill have pointed out, Christmas was never the time of Christ's birth. Growing up around Christians unfortunately I feel like I was cheated into believing that Christmas is really a celebration of the birth of the Messiah. I was well into my 20s when I realized …
Quick Tip by . December 22, 2011
Caption
A time of giving and sharing. If you haven't done so and want to share your blessings and love with the world, Wikipedia is a good place to both contribute your time and money!!! Yes, it's that time of the year again! Donate here... I have done it, have you?!
review by . December 01, 2009
True Meaning of Christmas...Holidays in the D!
Something happened to me a few weeks ago that really turned on the lightbulb to make a difference this holiday season. Let me share a story with you…I was listening to the radio and was touched and empowered to take action. This lady on the radio won a contest and received the new DJ Hero game (similar to Guitar Hero). When the radio personality asked her what she was going to do with it, she said she was going to give it to her kids and they were going to be so excited because she …
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2010
posted in Inspirations
I love Christmas season for all-day meditations and time with family...and that there are billions of people thinking about peacefulness.
review by . November 30, 2009
   I don't like the christmas and I am not the new Grweench. But nobody knows the actual date of birth of Jesus. Protestant sects believe that christmas was created by Coca Cola Company and all this celebration is meaningless advertising. They believe that Christmas tree has a satanic meaning. When Jesus was born all children his age were decapitated and their heads were hung on trees. This action reminds them the Christmas tree to the prostetan sects. Usually the christmas day I'm with …
Quick Tip by . December 01, 2009
Christmas is a time for life. I was baptised on that very day so I'd say it's "Happy Birthday!" for me!
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this event

Wiki

Christmas, also referred to as Christmas Day, is an annual holiday celebrated on December 25 that commemorates the birth of Jesus of Nazareth. The day marks the beginning of the larger season of Christmastide, which lasts twelve days. The nativity of Jesus, which is the basis for the anno Domini system of dating, is thought to have occurred between 7 and 2 BC. December 25 is not known to be Jesus' actual date of birth, and the date may have been chosen to correspond with either a Roman festival or the winter solstice.

Modern customs of the holiday include gift-giving, Church celebrations, and the display of various decorations—including the Christmas tree, lights, mistletoe, nativity scenes, and holly. Santa Claus (also referred to as Father Christmas, although the two figures have different origins) is a popular mythological figure often associated with bringing gifts at Christmas for children. Santa is generally believed to be the result of a syncretization between Saint Nicholas and elements from pagan Nordic and Christian mythology, and his modern appearance is believed to have originated in 19th century media.

Christmas is celebrated throughout the Christian population, but is also celebrated by many non-Christians as a secular, cultural festival. Because gift-giving and several other aspects of the holiday involve heightened economic activity among both Christians and non-Christians, Christmas has become a major event for many ...
view wiki

Tags

Religion, Christmas, Holidays, Religious Holiday

Details

Type: Holiday
Date(s): December 25

First to Review

"true or false"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Family Room is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists