The Family Room
A Lunch community dedicated to raising families...
Toy Story 3

The 2010 third installment in Pixar's Toy Story series.

< read all 48 reviews

No Toy Gets Left Behind In The "Great Escape" From Daycare Center!

  • Jun 25, 2010
Rating:
+5
The original “Toy Story” revolutionized the way CGI-animation was seen in the U.S. in 1995. The film defined the words “computer generated graphics” with its stellar animation and the fact that the film itself appeared to specially highlight this technological advancement in animation. It sure helped that it also had a stellar voice cast and an endearing story. The first movie made “Pixar” what it is today. Given its widespread success, it spawned a sequel in 1999 called “Toy Story 2” which was almost every bit as successful as the original all the while expanding on the story of Woody and Buzz, and all the toys owned by a boy named Andy.

The first sequel left a resolution rather open to another sequel and now more than 10 years later, the “story of the toys” births a second sequel that more than expands on the characters brought forth by the first two films but brings the story into full circle with “Toy Story 3”.

Woody (voiced by Tom Hanks) and Buzz (voiced by Tim Allen) lead the rest of the toys to determine their final fate now that Andy is about to enter college. Worried and troubled, the toys fear the dreaded garbage truck as their final stop. Without intending on it, and because of some weird stroke of bad luck and a series of misconceptions, Andy’s toys do end up being donated at a local day care center. Overjoyed that they will be played with again, Andy’s former toys (made up of Jesse, Bullseye, Rex, Mr. and Mrs. Potato head, Slinky Dog and Hamm) welcome their new home as they hope to give new children some fun and games as the place is nicely promoted as a “dream” by a “Huggin” Bear (Ned Beatty). This so-called “dream” later becomes a nightmare for Woody and his group as they find themselves held as prisoners by the Bear and his army of other toys so that they can be the ones played with by crazy toddlers. Now, Woody must help his friends escape with or without the aid of an “amnesiac” Buzz Light-year…

                  A scene from "Toy Story 3."

                 A scene from "Toy Story 3."

Being a sequel, the film follows through with the established elements of the toy’s emotions and themes of the fear of being ‘forgotten’. The first movie had the slight theme of jealousy as Woody was almost put aside in place of a newer, “spiffier” toy. The second film went further into the relationships between an owner and his toy as the idea of being “outgrown and disposed with” becomes a dreaded possibility. “Toy Story 3” expands on this concept as the inevitable as Andy has grown up to a young man who is about to leave for college. So what happens to the toys when a boy becomes a man? Well, for Woody and Buzz and their friends, the answer is a little darker than the previous films; but it all makes them come together as a family. The “Toy Story” franchise has always been a one that relies on a simple formula and yet so effective. It always seem to close with a narrow escape and that their fear of being “forgotten” all resides within their plastic hearts surpassed only by their loyalty to a boy named Andy.

                  A scene from "Toy Story 3."

                 A scene from "Toy Story 3."

Much like the first sequel that brought us new characters in the form of Jesse and Bullseye, this second sequel brings us new characters in the form of a “hugging Bear” and Ken (Michael Keaton); it also introduces us to a “girl-toy” named Barbie. The film’s strongest points come from the wild blend of drama, comedy and action brought together by director Lee Unkrich and screenwriter Michael Arndt as they have fun with the settings of the daycare center. Homages to “Bridge to the River Kwai” and “The Great Escape” are all over the place as we also get to the see the “Metro-sexual side” of a toy named Ken. The film makes its aim to be more whimsical than actual solid laughs (but it is pretty funny), that may have caused some parts of the film to feel a tad uneven as the pacing drags a little in the middle part of the film.

                A scene from "Toy Story 3."

                A scene from "Toy Story 3."

                A scene from "Toy Story 3."

Aside from the toys in the daycare center, the viewer is also introduced to the toys owned by a small girl (voiced over by Bonnie Hunt, Timothy Dalton, Jeff Garlin and Kristen Schaal). The scenes provide a lot of room for potential and opens up a new world of ideas. I know the scenes are real necessary to get to a credible resolution to the film, but there were times that I felt like the film was becoming perilously close to being crowded with scene after scene of different groups of toys but I was happy to see that the direction had the discipline to actually see things through.

I’ve mentioned that the film was a little darker when compared to the previous two films, and the scenes in the daycare may be plain funny to the untrained eye, but it was a little unsettling to see the torture that these toys went through under their captors. The Baby toy sure was a little creepy as with the manner the other toys reacted with anger brought on by blind loyalty and fear. Sure, they were funny in a way, but the cruelty shown by the Bear and his gang is just really cruel if you look at it from a toy’s viewpoint. But the direction barely misses as a step as it serves up the scenes with Woody and Buzz as the film’s most memorable scenes, as we see their special bond becomes the central focus. I also commend the efforts of the filmmakers in developing the group either by their expressions or mannerisms or even by the mere comedic antics of the Potato head couple. There is also a clever scene with a “suave, dancing Buzz Light-year”.

             A scene in "Toy Story 3."

            A scene in "Toy Story 3."

I suppose that if the film had a flaw, is that some details were left unresolved and the direction came close to making some scenes a little too heavy-handed. There is also a question as to what happened to the toy Woody was (ahem) dating? The “Prairie Lady” (Bo Peep) toy seemed to have disappeared without any explanation (I re-watched the first two films before I saw this). Also, the film did have a plot hole that I thought shouldn’t have been ignored but I suppose the film was energetic and endearing enough for me to forgive some of its flaws. The film does effectively close out the story of the toys of a boy named Andy and is sincere with its themes of friendship and misplaced anxiety. The only issue I fear now is, with such a great closure, Pixar may decide to begin the saga all over again and I do hope not. This was the best exit the franchise can ever hope for and following it up with another sequel would be too cheap.

The animation is as excellent as ever. The movements are smooth, fluid with the motion-capture done near perfectly. The atmosphere was colorful as ever and yet it had that perfect dark tone to it when necessary. You might say that I have a "but" coming, it is just that if you look real closely, the texture of the supposed human skin and the tone of the plastic toys looked very simialr and it is hard to distinguish aside from the occasional freckle. Human skin should be more--shall we say imperfect and not 'fake' smooth? It is hard to explain, but it is noticeable.

I guess “Toy Story 3” is indeed one of the best films to ever come out of Pixar’s creative offices. It stands hand in hand with the first two “Toy Story’s” along with “Ratatouille” and “The Incredibles” which are also two of my favorite Pixar movies to date. I have often declared myself as a someone who isn‘t a fan of Pixar, and I not a fan still. “Toy Story 3” may well be one of Pixar’s best and the film is real good; boasting of stellar animation and excellent voice acting. I have seen two awesome animated features this year with “How To Train Your Dragon” and “Toy Story 3”. The race for Best Animated Film is on for 2010…

Highly Recommended! [4 ½ Out of 5 Stars]

HYPE LEVEL: Extremely and Positively HIGH! But it meets Expectations. 3D is not necessary...












 
 

 
 
4 ½ Stars: No Toy Gets Left Behind In The 4 ½ Stars: No Toy Gets Left Behind In The 4 ½ Stars: No Toy Gets Left Behind In The 4 ½ Stars: No Toy Gets Left Behind In The

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
32
Thought-Provoking
31
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
July 05, 2010
Giving it the deluxe Woopak treatment here, aren't we? I have to be honest and say that I haven't seen a single film in this series yet. But I got a kick out of you wanting to see a serious treament of why Woody wasn't shown feeling more psychological pain because of the loss of his lady love. It's a kids' movie Woop. Lighten up. =) Maybe they just aren't anatomically correct and so it was no big deal in the end.
July 05, 2010
LMFAO!
July 05, 2010
ha-hah. Well, all I gotta say is people say Pixar's the best, Pixar let it get into their head that they're the best, Disney says they're the best; so why the heck did they miss that detail about Bo Peep when Woody saved a broken toy in # 2? A broken forgotten toy and he couldn't save Bo Peep ! LOL! It's not like Woody got a new love in this new movie...but small thing that I can ignore. :)
I am actually looking forward as to know why coldsteel7 told me he was disappointed with this movie.

Is that Scotman actually going "Laughing my "effin'" @$$ off"? really...you using 'F*****g" ? LOL! So, Scot, you gave every other Pixar movie a 5 so what is the best for you? What do you think...don't tell me this is as good as the overrated "Up"? .
July 05, 2010
Because it's made for kids who haven't hit puberty yet.
July 05, 2010
now that is a good theory LOL!
July 05, 2010
Legitimate at any rate.
July 05, 2010
By the way, have you seen the horror movie THE CRAZIES yet?
July 05, 2010
Nope, not yet. You know how I feel about remakes so it's not exactly high on my list. I won't be seeing it soon unless it streams on NetFlix or shows up On Demand for free. Have you seen a low budget indie called THE OTHER SIDE? It's not too shabby.
July 05, 2010
nope, but I will now.
July 05, 2010
Don't be in any hurry though.
July 06, 2010
I put it in my queve. I am curious as to how you'll like The Crazies. I liked it as well as well as Chris; but I know it was flawed (but so was the original)
July 06, 2010
I'm not as invested in the original of this film but I still have a thing about remakes.
 
July 01, 2010
Whatever the reason Miss Bo Peep left for must have been a really compelling one that was out of their control since Andy seemed so bummed about it at the beginning of this movie! Albeit this one being darker than the others, this was definitely a great one. Thanks for sharing, Woo!
July 02, 2010
I know...I just wished they could've shown Woody being upset about Bo Peep's disappearance and I had some issues buying into the fact that he didn't try to save her as he did with the penguin in # 2. A little detail with Bo Peep could've been nice. Thanks for the read, Lady D! :)
 
June 29, 2010
Wow! I totally take your word as bond on this one and the funny thing is, after reading yours and Count O's reviews of these animated gems, I've concluded that my standards are actually well below those of you two (I mean hell I was giddy with Up). I loved the first two TS and this sounds like it's right up there with them. Beautiful work as is par for the course. One day when either 1) I hit the lottery, 2) Receive some kind of settlement or 3) Have Spielberg pick up one of my screenplays, I've got to devote a big chunk of change and catch up on the hundreds of these animated feature films my collection is sorely lacking.
July 02, 2010
LOL! Dude, you have a pretty impressive collection yourself when it comes to anime. Truth be told, I own only a few of the Pixar films--but Toy Story is definitely a part of it. This film put together the series perfectly. I hope they leave it alone now.
 
June 27, 2010
Whoops, forgot to give your review thumbies!
June 27, 2010
LOL! No problem, buddy.
 
June 26, 2010
Great job. Makes me actually interested in seeing it!
June 27, 2010
Go for it, Doug! It is pretty entertaining and indeed one of Pixar's best movies.
 
June 26, 2010
Very nice job, Woo. Sorry it took so long for me to get to this one. I've been very busy with work, which has taken up not only a good chunk of my time but also most of my energy.
June 27, 2010
No problem, Sean. Been busy myself and I've been trying to get back on reviewing mode. I will return to your REALITY INKED community soon as soon as I take care of my lagging community which most of my Asian movie contacts really like and a few reviews I owe folks.

as for this movie, wonder if Dreamworks will pull another "Shrek" over Pixar's outing? How To Train Your Dragon may pull an upset over this one.
June 27, 2010
It's hard to say. "Shrek" can go back to his stinky swamp for all I care. I never liked that series much anyhow, but "How to Train Your Dragon" was quite good despite its lacking originality. I just hope that someday we can return to traditional hand-drawn 2D animation and not solely on digital.
June 28, 2010
well, I think the original Shrek edged Pixar's outing during that year. I would like to see "How to Train..." win over Toy Story 3 though in the next Oscars. But considering Pixar's always a fave, I dunno.
July 05, 2010
I liked Puss In Boots.
July 05, 2010
I still want How to Train Your Dragon to win over this movie in the coming Oscars.
July 06, 2010
Queenie, be honest, what Banderas characters or cat characters haven't you liked? You put the two together and it's probably a guaranteed winner.
; )
I want to see some stop motion win at the awards shows. Personally, I'm getting absolutely sick of digitally animated films.
July 07, 2010
well, you should look to Japanese anime but I doubt they'll let those win in the Oscars. Spirited Away was the exception.
July 07, 2010
Are there many Japanese stop motion films? I know of one director who does them. Can't recall the name though.
 
June 26, 2010
I too wonder if the film's darker tone might be too much for little kids. I remember seeing a morning screening of Wall-E and seeing young tots, one by one, being carted out by their mom's because they were too scared about what was going to happen to the little robot. I'm not so sure the young one's will be able to deal with Big Baby. I could hardly deal with that scary looking thing!
June 26, 2010
I agree, that creepy baby toy had "The Exorcist" written all over it. There was also some themes of cruelty when Buzz was "re-adjusted'; it's like an individual losing his identity.
 
June 25, 2010
If by “Prairie Lady”  you mean Bo Peep... the movie actually explains at the beginning that Andy got rid of a lot of his toys.  That the toys you see are the only ones he didn't get rid of, yet.  It also makes it clear that they haven't been played with in... well... years.  The question actually should be this: Why DIDN'T he get rid of some of them?  The ending gives us an idea... that Andy has a hard time letting go of his favorites.  Clearly Bo Peep wasn't one of Andy's favorite toys otherwise he'd have kept her.  Likewise, there's a big chunk missing.  We immediately went from seeing Andy as a child to seeing him as an Adult.  We don't actually see the fall out he has with his toys, we only know that he was so emotionally attached to some toys he decided to keep them.

Although I'm curious as to what exactly the plot hole you're referring to is.  I'm trying to figure out if I missed something.
June 26, 2010
I think a garage sale or something was mentioned, but...seeing as Bo Peep was supposedly close to Woody, what stopped him from saving Bo Peep from the sale..? He has done so with a lot of the other toys as shown in the first films (remember the penguin with the broken squeker?). I do buy into the possibility that Woody and the others were his faves so no problem with that.

Also in a daycare, I think the human workers get to decide which toys go where to insure no toy parts are swallowed by toddlers; no way can the veteran toys decide which toys goes where. There was another hole that  we never saw Andy slowly become an adult as you mentioned.  The last plot hole was near the ending (but maybe I missed it because I didn't sit through the credits).

Plus that temperature in the furnace meant to melt metal could've easily melted plastic even from a distance; seen this happen too many times in real life. I do need to see this again, but I have to say, my favorite is still the original.
June 26, 2010
I can agree with that, but like I said... because of that chunk missing, I think there's actually a reasonable explanation that we can at least believe Woody couldn't save Bo Peep... or that there was indeed a reason why.  We can interpret, I think.  The movie mentions that some of Andy's toys were sold at a garage sale (there aren't that many of us left, one of them tells Woody) but I think it's reasonable that perhaps Woody couldn't.  We don't know... but perhaps that sort of ambiguity isn't all that bad.  It allows us to use our own imagination and figure out what happened.  But the movie does mention that Andy got rid of most of his toys.  The series as a whole has shown us that sometimes the toys will sit idly by if the risk is being spotted by a human.  The only time Woody ever felt the need to reveal that the toys can come to life was to Sid... and even THEN it took a while to do that (remember, in the first film they all watch as Sid blows a toy to bits... and Woody doesn't react when Sid decides to burn his forehead).  So reasonably... yeah, I can see that perhaps with Woody's and the other Toys tendency to keep their very lives a secret (and the extent they'll go through) I think I could believe that at some point there was nothing he could do.  It doesn't have to be what happened... but it's feasible enough and believable enough, I think.  Also remember, they mention that some of the toys were donated.  Bo Peep could've been among them as well.

As for the Plot Holes, though... I actually think that runs rampant throughout the entire series.  The toys are always up and moving and so most of them are NEVER where they were left.  In the first movie, for example, Andy sometimes wonders, "Where's Woody?  I left him right here," but we never know if he questions why his room is mysteriously clean when he left it dirty.  Or why one of the walkie talkies was on the floor when he clearly didn't pull it out in the first film. 

I'm actually kind of glad we never saw Andy as a teenager, though.  I bet those toys were probably scarred for life!  Andy going through puberty... maybe having some chicks over and, uh... if Andy has internet I can only imagine what it must've been like for the toys if they ever saw Andy get a "buzz" AND a "woody".  I think it would make a good ummm... terrible youtube video (also hilarious) but I think to see that would've destroyed the central theme of the film. 

As for the furnace... I totally agree with that, but if they'd all simply melted and died I would've hated the movie.  No one wants to root for the good guys only for them to die in an instant.  I think this is a good example of why we largely don't want movies to be realistic, haha!  Sometimes realism is what destroys the imagination.  We need to be able to believe the unbelievable... or, at the very least, suspend our disbelief.
June 26, 2010
You do have a point, it's just that I would imagine that Woody would do everything to save his (ahem) love. I sure just wished that maybe it would've helped if we saw Bo Peep even for a moment. She wasn't a major character but she was at least in Woody's eyes I would imagine.

I know there are some more room to make a story, wonder if we'll get a series as a prequel to all this? (I hope not) but it is interesting to see how the toys reacted when Andy hit the teen years.

I know, plot holes are always abundant in movies like this and we can always suspend our disbelief; this had great energy going for it, so I can ignore them.
June 26, 2010
Knowing Disney (not necessarily Pixar) they'll give you some crappy animated television series or something like that to show you exactly what happened as Andy became interested in girls and crap.  Good God that'll be terrible!
 
June 25, 2010
Excellent review man, my mom would have loved to see this film. Also it sucks that Jim Varney is no longer around to voice Slinky Dog, and what happened to Tim Allen I thought he voiced Buzz.
June 25, 2010
Actually I made a typo, it was still Allen who voiced Buzz. I corrected that error :) I guess me watching Up In the Air while writing this review was distracting LOL!
June 26, 2010
Oh, by the way, I am dropping another review later tonight....
 
1
More Toy Story 3 reviews
review by . June 30, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
The Bittersweet Look into the Secret Life of Toys
I don't often make my way to the movie theater, but as a lifelong Pixar fan and in particular, of the Toy Story series, I just had to make my way out to watch the third installment on the big screen.  And needless to say, I loved it.  Absolutely loved it, just like I knew I would, and was told I would, even before watching it.  The short preceding the film was fantastic as well.      Though this is a seemingly far fetched film about a bunch of attention-starved, …
review by . August 01, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I want my toys, NOW!!!
Toy Story 3 came alive for me, in more ways than one. It is in ways like many animated movies, it takes human’s characters, personalities, fears and hopes, packaged them into a life-like situation, portrayed it in live on the screens and takes the viewers beyond what is real and surreal. Whether the stars are real or not, as in human beings and living things, is not of utmost importance. What is important is that it embodies human universal values. Afterall, this is a production by humans …
review by . February 15, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
After watching this film I have to admit that the Toys are my favorite Disney characters ever! In this one, Andy has grown up and is preparing for college. The toys are worried that they will be thrown away as Andy is no longer interested in them. Only Woody is sure that Andy would never do that. In fact Andy packs Woody to take to college with him and sets the other toys aside to put in the attic.    Andy's mother accidentally thinks the toys are meant for the garbage and puts …
review by . June 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
In 1995, Pixar Animation Studios launched their first film.  A movie called "Toy Story," that centered on the toys that belonged to a boy named Andy.  When the franchise first began in 1995... Andy was just a boy.  As was I, for a matter of fact.  I was nine years old.  I saw Toy Story, loved it and when Toy Story 2 dropped in 1999 I felt that I was not too old for it just yet despite blossoming into a teenager.  Luckily, we never had to see Andy in his clunky …
review by . November 08, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A Worthy Conclusion to a Ground Breaking Franchise
   Considering the Toy Story trilogy spans 15-years, viewing it back to back can almost be used as a visual guide to the advancements made in the computer-generated feature film industry these past decade and a half.  The fact that this is animation pioneers Pixar (coupled to the Disney promotion machine) means that while the pixel popping visuals have improved exponentially in that span, the charm, heart, and timeless story telling elements introduced the first time around never …
review by . June 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
A worthy completion of a classic trilogy
I went to the San Francisco Film Festival screening at Pixar Studios last night not really knowing what to expect. Toy Story has been with us for 15 years now (20, in terms of actual development) and I had a sinking feeling that maybe all the character potential had been used in the first two and this was some shameless plot by Disney to exploit the franchise ("Little Mermaid 2", anyone?). Well, shame on me for underestimating the capabilities of Pixar, who once again have shown how a …
review by . July 03, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I tried to convince my wife to be the one to take my kids to Toy Story 3. My youngest son, especially, was begging to go, but while I was impressed by the first two, a long ways back, and saw them as showcases for the increasingly sophisticated animation techniques at Pixar, I didn't really love either one of them as much as A Bug's Life or The Incredibles or Wall-E or Ratatouille. Perhaps it's just the devoted toy concept that didn't quite move me. I'm not quite sure why, but …
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
In a single word - perfect.      While Toy Story 3 was in production, a friend of mine at Pixar (who was sworn to secrecy) would only describe it as "like visiting old friends". I have to agree with that sentiment. I was worried that Pixar had an uphill battle. After all, they were tasked with producing a worthy sequel to two of the most treasured animated films of all time, and the commercials that appeared on TV didn't do much to alleviate those concerns. However, …
review by . June 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Some toys never get old.
TOY STORY 3 Written by Michael Arndt Directed by Lee Unkrick Voices by Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Joan Cusack, Ned Beatty and Michael Keaton      Hamm: C’mon, let’s go see how much we’re going for on EBay.      There comes a point in every boy’s life when he has to grow up.  Ok, fine.  There are many points in a boy’s life when he must do this but going off to college is certainly an undeniable turning point.  You …
review by . June 21, 2010
In a word: flawless.
This 3rd installment of the 20-year-old Toy Story franchise is simply the most touching Pixar film to date. It combines the sense of wonder and nostalgia of the previous installments with a fresh plot—a perfect evolution to the story and characters that we already know—and top-notch animation that is equally enjoyable in its 2D or 3D presentation. In this new adventure, the story is as much about Andy, the toys’ owner, and the inevitability of change, as it is about the …
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #2
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
Up
Up
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Toy Story 3 is a 2010 American 3D computer-animated film. It is the third installment in the Toy Story series.  The film was produced by Pixar Animation Studios and released by Walt Disney Pictures. Lee Unkrich, who edited the previous films, and co-directed the second, takes over as director. In his place, Ken Schretzmann is the editor.

Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Joan Cusack, Don Rickles, Estelle Harris, John Ratzenberger, Wallace Shawn, Jeff Pidgeon, Jodi Benson, R. Lee Ermey, John Morris, and Laurie Metcalf all reprised their voice-over roles from the previous films. Jim Varney, who played Slinky Dog in the first two movies, and Joe Ranft, who played Lenny and Wheezy, have both died since the second film was released. The role of Slinky was taken over by Blake Clark, while Ranft's characters and various others were written out of the story.

Toy Story 3 was released in theaters on June 17, 2010 in Singapore; June 18, 2010 in the United States and Canada and June 24, 2010 in Australia. It will be released on July 19, 2010 in the United Kingdom and Ireland. Originally the UK release was set as July 23 but has since been pushed forward due to its anticipated high demand in the country. Toy Story 3 broke the record of Shrek the Third as the biggest single day gross for an animated film, but it was unable to top Shrek the Third's opening weekend and, with a $110,307,189 gross, it received the second highest opening weekend for an animated movie. It is also the highest ...
view wiki

Details

Director: Lee Unkrich
Genre: Animation, Comedy, Family
Release Date: June 18, 2010
MPAA Rating: G
Runtime: 103 minutes
Studio: Walt Disney Studios, Walt Disney Animation, Pixar Animation Studios
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Family Room is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists