The Family Room
A Lunch community dedicated to raising families...
The Muppets: Bohemian Rhapsody

A YouTube video uploaded by MuppetsStudio on November 23, 2009.

< read all 5 reviews

One of the Finest Tributes to Freddie Mercury & Queen the Web Has Seen.

  • Nov 24, 2009
Rating:
+5
If you've been keeping track of twitter trending topics, you'll notice that Bohemian Rhapsody is at the very top of the list today.  Why?  Well, surprisingly, it has less to do with the fact that today marks the 18th anniversary of Freddie Mercury's death, and more with the fact that The Muppets' cover version of Bohemian Rhapsody went viral today.  If you're still looking for something else to be thankful for this Thanksgiving, look no further than this video:



Emerging from the darkness in his off-key baritone voice, Gonzo opens up the video while his love interest, Camilla, and two other chickens, act as his back up singers and "bok" softly behind him.  They're all totally tone-death. 

You think that's bad?  Animal flubs the entire second verse.  He starts off, "Mamaaaaaa", and you think that he's going to break out into something epic, but then he goes, "Mama?" and ends up using up the entire second verse to scream out to his mama.  Then he calls out for his "dada".  But that's okay, cuz it's really the thought that counts.  Oh, and animal sure can drum!

The part after the piano solo by Rowlf is a collaborative effort that brings in many other Muppets for vocals, including the likes of Beaker, Bunsen Honeydew, Bobo, Bubba, Rizzo, Crazy Harry, the penguins, even a hardcore looking Pep and so many more before Dr. Teeth and The Electric Mayhem rock the *bleep* out.  It ends with a very fierce, yet sultry Ms. Piggy lounging atop a grand piano in schwanky cocktail attire while Rowlf tickles the ivories some more.

If you were to take a roll call of Muppets characters, everyone would've been there.  Despite the Muppets being a bit tone-death (and that's an understatement), I found it to be an enjoyable video, perhaps even blowing Wayne's World's rendition out of the water.  I'm not sure if this was purposely released as a Freddie Mercury cover, but I'm sure the Queen camp, as well as Queen fans appreciate this cover.  Simply put, this video is a masterpiece and a lovely tribute to Freddie Mercury.
One of the Finest Tributes to Freddie Mercury & Queen the Web Has Seen.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
32
Thought-Provoking
25
Fun to Read
33
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
February 01, 2010
I love the muppets. This review made my night so much better. I was very bummed and it made me smile. Thank you
 
January 30, 2010
Wow, sorry I missed this review the first time you posted it. Nicely written, so much more readable than my stuff! I'll check this out.
January 31, 2010
Never to late to find this! Thanks, Jim! And your stuff is plenty readable ;)
January 31, 2010
Oh sure, thanks. I'm glad Lunch has the featured reviews flag, because sometimes the viewer misses them the first time, or the review is so good it deserves an encore. Great food pix on Flickr recently, good job. Yeah, I know I'm readable, I was just being modest. :)
 
December 16, 2009
Have you seen some of the a cappella chorale arrangements of "Bohemian Rhapsody". They're just awesome.
December 16, 2009
Not yet, but I can only imagine how awesome it is. Thanks for the heads up. Looking it up on Youtube right now! :)
December 16, 2009
Here's the link to one I enjoyed in particular: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UyqpjkCwEI4
December 16, 2009
Loved that! Thanks for sharing. I've actually seen those guys perform before. Might not have been the same group of guys, but it's great live, too :)
 
December 12, 2009
Is it even possible to not enjoy that video?!
December 13, 2009
I don't think it is ;P
December 13, 2009
I hope the Muppets get back to appearing big screen films again... I miss them. And did you mean to say "tone-death" instead of tone-deaf? Just curious. It's actually quite accurate.
 
November 26, 2009
thanks for sharing! Great video.
November 26, 2009
My pleasure! Glad you like it, 'up! :)
 
November 25, 2009
Holleee.....that vid is hilarious! nice find, Devora.
November 26, 2009
Haha, glad you liked it, Woo! :)
 
1
More The Muppets: Bohemian Rhapsody reviews
review by . September 15, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Queen + Muppets = Awesome
Everyone has they're favorite acts and movies, songs, and others but even if you don't love them you know that there is a certainty that when someone asks you about a certain topic, you will have to say "Classic".      Bohemian Rhapsody is an undeniable rock classic and the Muppets have endured from the mid 70's till today as being a timeless part of pop culture.  Put together for a faithful reprodcution of the classic song and video, you have something …
Quick Tip by . September 15, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Faithful reproduction of a rock classic with pop culture classics.
Quick Tip by . February 03, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Not sure how Freddie Mercury would feel about this, but who cares? This is just absolutely priceless. Better than the last few Muppet films!
Quick Tip by . November 26, 2009
I think my one-year old daughter and I enjoyed this equally. Great to see the full cast in action again.
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #3
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this website

Wiki

The Muppets Bohemian Rhapsody video is a music video cover of the well-known Queen song Bohemian Rhapsody, performed by characters from The Muppets. The video was originally posted on YouTube on November 23, 2009. The video features multiple Muppets characters singing partially modified lyrics of the original song and garnered over seven millions hits within its first week of release. The video is an official production of The Muppets Studio and is one of many videos that have been released on YouTube featuring the Muppets covering a song. The release of the video times up closely with the 18th anniversary of the death of Queen lead singer Freddie Mercury. It was released as a download on the 13th December 2009. It peaked at #19 on the ITunes chart, but only got as high as #32 on the UK Top 40 of 20th December.

Wikipedia page for The Muppets' Bohemian Rhapsody
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Family Room is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists