The Vampire Historians
The Vampire Historians
Lunch community devoted to the study of vampires.
30 Days Of Night: Dark Days

Sequel and Adaptation of the Graphic Novel with the Same Name

< read all 4 reviews

DARK DAYS ENDS UP OK

  • Oct 22, 2011
Rating:
+3


30 DAYS OF NIGHT
DARK DAYS

I am a huge fan of the graphic novels and a huge fan of the first film to start this out with. So when this film was first released I was really excited, I even liked the short films that were on FEARnet. So I was all about this film coming out and I am a fan of Sam Raimi and his Ghost House Pictures which produced all of these films. This second film is based on the graphic novel of the same name.

Stella has moved on from Barrow and is now in LA trying to educate people on the vampire threat that really exists. Most people do not believe her until she hits the ultraviolet lights that kill off the vamps in attendance. After a run in with the law who happens to be working with the vampires she comes across a team of hunters. These hunters want her help in killing of the queen and have some vampiric help of their own.

This is a pretty good adaptation of the graphic novel with some changes of course. I have to say for a film that was a much lower budget from the first film it is still pretty good. I like the look and feel of this film and think that is the best thing it has going for it. The acting for the most part is good and well done. As for the vampires I must say that they turned out pretty good as well. Of course this is far from a perfect film and could have been better.

Still the special features were good with the behind the scenes stuff and the commentary. Director Ben Ketai wrote this film with series creator Steve Niles and I think that is what saved this film to be honest with you. I personally hope that there will be a third film and who knows, how great would a series be? Think of a series based on the graphic novels that would be handled and treated like "The Walking Dead" series is. That would be insanely great in my opinion.

30 Days of Night: Dark Days30 Days of Night: Dark Days30 Days of Night: Dark Days30 Days of Night: Dark Days30 Days of Night: Dark Days30 Days of Night: Dark Days
DARK DAYS ENDS UP OK

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
October 22, 2011
This....I almost liked but the budget really hurt its concept. Nice one, Alex.
 
1
More 30 Days Of Night: Dark Days reviews
review by . October 07, 2010
Disappointing Sequel and Adaptation of its Source Material...
I was one of the ones who liked the film adaptation of “30 Days of Night”. Despite some changes to its source material, I thought it was a well-done vampire film. Well, seems like this sequel “30 Days of Night: Dark Days” went for the direct to dvd route and has a very restrained budget. Steve Niles (one of creators) joins director (who also serves as co-writer) Ben Ketai in adapting the second graphic novel. This sequel is truly a low-budget affair and has made several changes …
Quick Tip by . October 22, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
This is a pretty good adaptation of the graphic novel with some changes of course. I have to say for a film that was a much lower budget from the first film it is still pretty good. I like the look and feel of this film and think that is the best thing it has going for it. The acting for the most part is good and well done. As for the vampires I must say that they turned out pretty good as well.
Quick Tip by . November 01, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
not the greatest movie. it really lacks a consistant storyline as well as a.....point. the first one was alot better.
About the reviewer
I basically am just a normal person obbsessed with Mixed Martial Arts, pro wrestling, movies of all kinds, music of all kinds, books of all kinds, and of course foods of all kinds. Just trying to keep … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
FM_ALEX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

30 Days of Night: Dark Days is a 2010 American horror film based on the comic book miniseries of the same name.[1] It was directed by and written by Ben Ketai, alongside co-writer Steve Niles. It is a sequel to the 2007 film, 30 Days of Night

Ben Ketai co-wrote the script with franchise creator Steve Niles.[5] Josh Hartnett and Melissa George did not return to their roles from the previous film.[6] The new casts features Rhys Coiro, Mia Kirschner, Harold Perrineau, Kiele Sanchez and Diora Baird. The film was shot in Vancouver, British Columbia.


It premiered on 23 July 2010 as part of the 2010 San Diego Comic-Con with the completed cast. The film will be released direct to DVD and Blu-ray in the United States on October 5, 2010 and will include an audio commentary, a featurette on the making of the film

view wiki

Details

Genre: Horror
MPAA Rating: R
DVD Release Date: October 5, 2010

© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
The Vampire Historians is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists