TreeHugger Community
A Lunch Community
Glass Dharma Glass Drinking Straws

Drinking straws made from eco-friendly glass, not plastic.

< read all 3 reviews

Glass drinking straws from Glass Dharma

  • Feb 10, 2010
Rating:
+4

Glass straws from Glass DharmaAs you know most plastic straws are flimsy and disposable.  They are also made from polypropylene, which is a plastic that most recycling centers will not take.  This means after you use them you have to throw them in the trash. A great eco alternative are glass drinking straws. A good source of glass drinking straws are those made by Glass Dharma.

Glass Dharma hand-makes each glass straw with borosilicate tubing and is the strongest glass commercially available. The glass straws come in four sizes: 6.25mm Shorty, 7mm Sipper, 9.5mm Ice Tea and 12mm Smoothie. Each glass straw is handmade in the United States and are microwave and dishwasher safe. Glass Dharma straws are fully backed by a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee. They are also covered with the manufacturer's Lifetime Guarantee against breakage.

There are three optional accessories for the glass drinking straws: cleaning brushes, soft sleeves made of hemp and hard cases made of bamboo. The cleaning brushes easily wash the inside of each straw after each use. You can store your straws in the hemp soft sleeves which are machine washable and come in four sizes. Finally, there are the bamboo hard cases which come with a cork stopper and also come in 4 sizes. So not only are the straws made of an eco-friendly material, but so do the accessories.

Glass drinking straws are superior to plastic drinking straws in more ways than one. Plastic straws are flimsy and prone to breaking.  Glass drinking straws can be reused again and again for years. Some people love them so much they take them wherever they go; even using them out at restaurants instead of using their inferior counterparts. Glass drinking straws are a great green choice. The only possible drawback is the cleaning of the straws after each use.  Make sure to get a cleaning brush with every purchase.  For more information, go to Glass Dharma or buygreen.com.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
22
Fun to Read
21
Well-Organized
23
Post a Comment
April 21, 2010
glass straws?! Holee cow!! I have some stainless steel chopsticks but this is very new to me. Great review and thanks for sharing!!
April 21, 2010
Stainless steel chopsticks sound interesting. That's new to me. I love Chinese food, but I always wimp out and use a fork. Thanks.
 
March 08, 2010
I was so impressed with this review I added a tag to my community. If we can get the cocktail lovers to use eco friendly straws, swizzles and umbrellas it will be a good thing!
March 08, 2010
Thanks again. Yep, the more people who know about and use these glass straws the better.
 
March 08, 2010
I love this review! I am going to start suggesting glass drinking straws for all of my cocktail creations, Glass Swizzles sticks would be awesome too. Any idea where I can get some!
March 08, 2010
Thank you very much. I've used these glass straws while enjoying pina coladas and other mixed drinks. I think you will really like them. They are great as a stirrers unlike those ordinary plastic straws.
 
February 10, 2010
amazing idea - I've never heard of these. awesome gift idea for a few of my green / vegan friends, thx!
 
February 10, 2010
This is one product that you'd never think of as being totally bad for the environment but all those straws certainly add up! I never even thought about it, thanks for enlightening me.

Believe it or not, it immediately made me think of LifeStraw (even though they are drastically different..). I first saw it a few years ago at the Cooper Hewiitt Design Museum in NYC - they had an exhibit about innovative design to benefit 3rd World Countries. Pretty awesome!
 
February 10, 2010
I have heard of these and really want to try some, thanks for the great review! I can certainly see myself going to my favorite restaurant (serving organic food) and whipping out one of these for my drink :)

By the way, I shared your review with my Facebook friends!
 
February 10, 2010
Whoa, I had no idea that glass straws existed!  Good to hear that you can get a cleaning brush with it because the cleaning was the first thing I thought about when I read the words "glass straw".  Hmmm, seeing that I carry around reusable chopsticks (since the wooden ones at restaurants tend to have chemicals in them), I can see myself using one of these.  Thanks for sharing, Clay! :)
 
1
More Glass Dharma Glass Drinking St... reviews
review by . March 10, 2010
As you know most plastic straws are flimsy and disposable.  They are also made from polypropylene, which is a plastic that most recycling centers will not take.  This means after you use them you have to throw them in the trash. A great eco alternative are glass drinking straws. A good source of glass drinking straws are those made by Glass Dharma. Glass Dharma hand-makes each glass straw with borosilicate tubing and is the strongest glass commercially available. The glass straws …
Quick Tip by . March 08, 2010
posted in Green Living
I am switching to Glass!
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
TreeHugger Community is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists