TreeHugger Community
A Lunch Community
Lifefactory Glass Beverage Bottles

Glass water bottles with a silicone sleeve

< read all 1 reviews

I am in love with my GLASS water bottle. Yes, I said GLASS!

  • Mar 25, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
I am so excited about the new glass beverage bottles from Lifefactory. I have been using one of the bottles (the orange one) for the past few months now and I LOVE it. I was privileged to get one before they were available to the public because my husband works for Lifefactory, and I demanded that I have one! Husband aside, I would give this bottle more than 5 stars if I could!


So, let me tell you about these and why you’re going to want one…

In case you missed it, they are GLASS. You are most likely currently drinking out of a plastic (need I say it?) or a metal (that tastes like metal) water bottle. Besides the great environmental and health reasons why this new bottle is a necessity, the #1 reason I like this bottle is TASTE. My water tastes like water! I would never choose to drink from plastic or metal at home, and now I get to drink from glass when I am in my car, taking a water break from a volleyball game, hanging out at the park with my kids, or attending an all-day conference. I also love that the bottle has a wide mouth so I can easily drop ice cubes in. (I hurt my hand trying to whack ice cubes into my old metal drinking container.)

You might still be wondering how a glass bottle is going to make it to all of these things without breaking. The bottle has a non-toxic tight-fitting silicone sleeve that protects it from breaking, and also gives you a good grip on the bottle. The sleeves are brightly colored with a cool, modern design. My bottle attracts attention wherever I go! You don’t need to take the sleeves off of the bottles — just put the whole thing in the dishwasher. My daughters have been using the Lifefactory baby bottles as water bottles (with caps instead of nipples) every day in their lunches to school for about two years now, and they still look brand new (and they haven’t broken them).

The bottles are large -- 22 ounces -- which I like. The colors available are: Midnight Blue, Orange, Pearl White, Red, Sky Blue, and Spring Green and are available online at the Lifefactory online store. You can also win one on my blog through March 26!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
29
Thought-Provoking
21
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
October 26, 2010
This is great information, and an alternative I did not know existed until now. Thanks very much.
 
September 04, 2010
Very interesting! I try to avoid bottled water and plastic water bottles as much possible, but sometimes a person needs water on the go. It's nice to know this alternative exists.
 
July 03, 2010
I'm glad I came across these bottles. I think glass is key for truly clean ,hazard free beverage containers. It even works great with coffee in the morning. You have to be a little careful how you hold the bottle, but totally functional. The silicone sleeve is top quality and will not leach toxins. It seems, everything we touch or do is toxic any more and this is a great first step in eliminating BPA, PC and whatever else you can think of from your life. I sell these at my online store. They are worth owning regardless of who you buy them from. www.dailyreusables.com
 
April 15, 2010
Do these fit in car cup holders?
July 23, 2010
Most car cup holders no problem. The diameter is right at 3 inches. Feel free to email me if you have any questions. brandon@dailyreusables.com
 
March 28, 2010
This sounds amazing and a big YES to drinking water that actually tastes like water!! What a great idea and design, plus I love that the mouth is wide enough to fit ice cubes (that's always been a pet peeve of mine). Thanks for sharing this product. Cool colors too!
 
March 25, 2010
Glass is where it's at! Since discovering the Dharma Glass Straws I have really turned to glass for everything I drink.  You're right.  Water should taste like water.  No more metal or plastic for this guy.

I desperately needed to replace my drinking container I use when I play golf.   I now think one of these glass bottles will be its replacement.  The midnight blue works for me.  Thanks to a great review.
March 25, 2010
Enter the contest and maybe you'll win the midnight blue! :)
March 25, 2010
Oh - and glass straws? Never heard of these! Cool!
March 25, 2010
I just entered the contest. Cross your fingers.
 
March 25, 2010
I'm already a follower of your blog and can't wait for the drawing. These sound amazing, I hate to drink out of anything but glass. Thanks for the review.
 
1
About the reviewer
Alison St. Sure ()
I have been living gluten-free since 2002. All of my family is gluten-free and one daughter has severe food allergies. I write a blog SureFoodsLiving.com where I offer practical advice about living with … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
GlutenFreeAli
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
TreeHugger Community is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists