TreeHugger Community
A Lunch Community
Reusable Shopping Bag

A type of shopping bag which can be reused several times.

< read all 5 reviews

A Quick Tip by devora

  • Jun 13, 2011
I'm a huge fan of reusable shopping bags and feel so naked when I go grocery shopping without them.  Some have voiced concerns about them getting germy over time, so my suggestion is to skip over those 99 cent plastic bags (they break really easily anyways) and pay the $5 for a sturdy cloth ones which can be tossed into a washing machine.  Mine have lasted me for years.  Note: mine have shrunk as a result of washing, but it sure beats accumulating germs and wastefully collecting plastic bags!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
15
Post a Comment
June 27, 2011
I keep a cloth bag in my vehicle and cuss myself out when I don't have it for whatever reason. In terms of germs, it gets thrown in the wash on a regular basis and is probably cleaner than my hands are when I pick up the groceries.
 
June 14, 2011
I love my shopping bags!! I even make my own out of old clothing that is too far gone for donating.
June 15, 2011
Oooooh, that's a great idea! Thanks for sharing that :)
June 15, 2011
Oooooh, that's a great idea! Thanks for sharing that :)
 
June 14, 2011
I agree wholeheartedly.
June 15, 2011
Cool that we share the same sentiments, J! :)
June 15, 2011
I'm sure that we share similar sentiments with regard to many areas.
 
June 13, 2011
Like woopak I am also a huge fan of reusable shopping bags and use them whenever I can. Love the idea of putting them in the washer from time. I never thought of that.
June 13, 2011
It's definitely a good thing to do! :)
 
June 13, 2011
nice one. It hardly matters to me, since I either drive to the store or have groceries delivered to my condo (the perks of being a bachelor, easy shopping LOL!). My family do use those $ 5 bags though.
June 13, 2011
Nice! I actually quite like grocery shopping though (unless I'm sick like I am right now. achoo!).
 
1
More Reusable Shopping Bag reviews
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2011
posted in Green Living
I realize it's a way to save on the plastic we use for bags, which is a plus. But these suckers wear out, and when they do, they are neither recyclable or biodegradeable.
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
posted in Green Living
Keep them in your car so you always have them on hand...
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
posted in Green Living
I always have a stash in my car so I'm never without them.
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #2
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A reusable shopping bag, sometimes called bag for life is a type of shopping bag which can be reused several times: this is an alternative of single use paper or plastic bags. It is often made from fabric such as canvas, woven synthetic fibers, or a thick plastic that is more durable than disposable plastic bags, allowing multiple use.

Reusable shopping bag is a kind of carrier bags, which is available for sale in supermarkets and apparel shops. Reusable shopping bag requires less waste of natural resources such as oil and less emission of carbon dioxide to produce than plastic bags.
view wiki

Tags

Shopping, Green Living, Eco Friendly, Green, Reusable, Shopping Bags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
TreeHugger Community is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists