TreeHugger Community
A Lunch Community
Vegan Marshmallows

Marshmallows that contain no animal products made by Sweet and Sara.

< read all 4 reviews

Vegans can finally enjoy their campouts again.

  • Feb 10, 2010
Rating:
+3
While these marshmallows are groundbreaking in that they were the first vegan-friendly marshmallow on the market, I'm not going to praise and celebrate them based on that alone. Perhaps it has something to do with the fact that I was never a huge marshmallow fan before becoming a vegan, but I wasn't terribly impressed with these marshmallows. They are available in four flavors: Vanilla, toasted coconut, strawberry, and cinnamon pecan. I ordered the Vanilla and the Coconut from Cosmo's Vegan Shoppe and while I prefer the taste of old-fashioned gelatin marshmallows, I'll still be ordering the other two flavors. They are definitely at least worth a try.

Firstly, the consistency. Sweet & Sara marshmallows have a consistency that is pretty similar to that of traditional marshmallows, in that they were "squishy", but the Sweet & Sara marshmallows were a bit more dense than traditional marshmallows, and felt like they had more substance to them, especially after refrigerating them as directed.

The flavor of these marshmallows was the only real problem that I encountered. I prefer the taste of traditional marshmallows to the Sweet & Sara ones, but that's according to personal taste, and others may feel differently. It's difficult to describe, but the Sweet & Sara marshmallows weren't as sweet as traditional marshmallows, and you kind of have to suck on them for a minute to get the full flavor. I could definitely taste the vanilla in the Vanilla flavored-marshmallows, while I found Coconut-flavored marshmallows to be a bit overpowering. They weren't necessarily bad; they were just different. However, after roasting several of these marshmallows over the flame of my soy tea-light candle, I found that they taste almost exactly like traditional marshmallows when roasted. If I ever purchase these again, I will definitely roast all of them, because, in my opinion, they simply tasted better that way. They did take a long time to brown though, and I had to hold them very close to the flame, which caused a few to begin to catch fire :)

In the end, I would still highly recommend these marshmallows to devout vegans who have done without marshmallows for far too long. They are excellent when roasted, and would undoubtedly make great s'mores because of that. In fact, Sweet & Sara also makes vegan-friendly s'mores using these marshmallows, for anyone that doesn't want or doesn't have the resources to make their own. While both Sweet & Sara and traditional marshmallows are laden with sugar and corn syrup, Sweet & Sara marshmallows are made without artificial colors, gelatin, and tetrasodium pyrophosphate. The vanilla Sweet & Sara marshmallows that I purchased are also flavored with real Madagascar vanilla, and do not rely on artificial flavors. Click here to see if they are available in a store near you.
Vegans can finally enjoy their campouts again. Vegans can finally enjoy their campouts again. Vegans can finally enjoy their campouts again. Vegans can finally enjoy their campouts again.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
21
Thought-Provoking
20
Fun to Read
20
Well-Organized
20
Post a Comment
August 27, 2011
Looks delicious.
 
February 17, 2010
I've been missing marshmallows in Rice Krispies Treats, so I may need to try these, although I'd probably use a different, healthier cereal too. The cocount flavored ones sound good. Hopefully, the texture isn't too distracting though. Nice job on this review, Ulalume.
February 19, 2010
Thank you. Kashi has a cereal similar to Rice Krispies that can always be substituted. I myself have never tried doing it, but it may taste just as good, if not better. Like Rice Krispies, the Kashi version still doesn't have much fiber or protein, but it does have less sugar and is made with seven whole grains.
February 20, 2010
Plus, Kashi's version would be organic and wouldn't have all the nasty preservatives that Kelloggs is likely to use.
February 23, 2010
That is very true. I looked online, and it says that in order to "maintain quality", BHT is added to Rice Krispies. Good call.
 
February 11, 2010
Interesting article! It lead me to the second article about the website. I'm excited to try out some of the items now.
February 11, 2010
Thanks :)
 
February 10, 2010
Ugh, the flavors of these are putting regular marshmallows to shame! I'll keep an eye out for these. Thanks for sharing! :)
February 11, 2010
You're welcome! I'm not sure yet how the other flavors taste, but the fact that they are available in such flavors is really wonderful. I hope you get to try some :)
 
February 10, 2010
wow! I gotta get me some of these! looks good with hot cocoa!
February 10, 2010
They actually make vegan mini marshmallows that are like those found it traditional hot cocoa packets, but I'm sure these would be good with cocoa as well! I ate them all before I could find out, because I didn't have any cocoa...
 
1
More Sweet and Sara Vegan Marshmall... reviews
review by . April 02, 2009
Vegan Marshmallows... the Holy Grail of Vegan snacks! ...Now available at
I've been a vegetarian for over 16 years now.  In that amount of time, there's no doubt that there are a few foods that I miss (Jello, chicken nuggets, Marshmallows, and Cow Brain... just making sure you're paying attention ;)  Near the top of the list is Marshmallows.  Marshmallows are made of  Gelatin, which makes them unsuitable for Vegetarian and Vegans everywhere (because Gelatin is made of bone protein... which makes Veggies burst into flames if we eat it). What's even …
Quick Tip by . October 30, 2009
These marshmellows are so yummy and nice and big! They taste better then regular mellows too.
Quick Tip by . October 28, 2009
These Vegan Marshmallows are now available in participating "Whole Foods" Grocery Stores. Check them out. Wanna know more? Read my review!
About the reviewer
GCS ()
My user-name was derived from the title of a poem by Edgar Allan Poe. I came to Lunch with the hopes of publishing reviews that would be appreciated by others and reading the reviews of others that hope … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ulalume
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Ulalume
About this topic

Wiki

Sweet and Sara Vegan Marshmallows are marshmallows that contain no animal products and are suitable for consumption for vegans.

http://sweetandsara.com/
view wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
TreeHugger Community is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists