TreeHugger Community
A Lunch Community
You Are HOW You Eat

The health of United States citizens.

< read all 3 reviews

Health reform starts with nutrition.

  • Oct 25, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-4
In the past nearly six months I have made drastic changes to my diet. I eliminated wheat, refined sugar, and processed foods and in recent months have been dabbling in a more raw diet. After making many trips to the grocery store, it occurred to me how much more expensive it is to be healthy. I spend way more at the grocery store now that I buy more wholesome foods (and organic if it's available). Then it hit me as to why the state our health in this country is what it is (and I'm sure I'm late on this one). It's cheap for us as citizens to be unhealthy and lucrative for insurance and pharmaceutical companies.

In this market of convenience we have become lazy as a society--too lazy to exercise and too lazy to cook wholesome nutritious meals. Instead we opt for prepackaged, preservative packed foods. Not to mention all the sugary, salty, fatty goodies that we're all addicted to. This kind of diet leads to a bevy of health problems including but not limited to heart disease, diabetes, and obesity. And who benefits from this? Insurance companies and pharmaceutical companies that profit from the overall deteriorating health of our country. Now let me defend my ego a little bit--I'm not trying to get on a soapbox and act all high and mighty about this but it's something that I'm passionate about and I feel the need to express my concern about it. And those of you who know me know that I am not the preachy type.

After having gone through a diet metamorphosis, I am a true believer that we are we eat. I feel better than I ever have in my entire life. I have more energy, better moods, and I look better. I used to suffer dailly from GI issues and now I rarely have problems. Now the only real health problem I have is nasal allergies and, though quite annoying and bothersome, I'll take it over heart disease, diabetes, or obesity.

It pains me that the battle over healthcare reform has barely touched on the subject of preventative care. We need to start from the bottom up! There needs to be more focus on taking care of our bodies starting in childhood so that future health problems can be avoided. There needs to be a demand a for healthy food--not only so deserving companies can benefit, those companies who value the health of their consumers over their own profits, but so that insurance and pharmaceutical companies can stop profiting from the declining state of our health.


http://healthhabits.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/vegetables.jpg

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
34
Thought-Provoking
36
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
35
Post a Comment
December 11, 2011
Organic food choices will add to your health and well being. There are good tonics out there like Omega 3 and Acidophilus for the gastrointestinal track. Allergy issues may be helped by a top of the line air purifier, as well as removing objects which aggravate allergies like pet hairs, rugs and other household items. ( see website below for more ) http://www.achooallergy.com/blog/top-ten-household-chemicals/
 
December 01, 2010
Very interesting review! I went through a diet metamorphosis myself in the summer of 2003 and it is so true how much you start noticing what other people eat after you change your own eating! As for junk being cheaper, I volunteer at a food bank and it pains me to see the kind of food we are giving to people in need because it is cheaper to purchase. Ramen noodles? Ugh. The other thing, though, is how people are CHOOSING to eat. When I fill out the grocery voucher, I have to ask them their choice of skim, 1% or 2% milk and I have YET to have ANYONE ask for skim or 1%, In fact, I have actually had people say "Which is the fattiest one? That's the one I want." Many people who come into the food bank will choose a sugary sheet cake over a bin of fresh produce. It is sad but it is the way our society eats at this point. I read a book a few years ago called The Fattening of America written by a food economist. It is quite dry and boring in some respects but the overall picture was quite fascinating. Since my reviews have been imported from Amazon, my review of the book may be here on Lunch if you're interested in knowing more about it.
 
January 30, 2010
Excellent points. I amazed at portion sizes sometimes on top of the poor ingredients we choose to ingest! I'm guilty...I love my Haagen Dazs...but moderation is also key.
 
December 20, 2009
Excellent review... I followed pretty much the same path and watched my weekly grocery spend spiral. But I feel much better. Now time to get down the gym!
 
November 15, 2009
Very well said! You make your case eloquently!
 
November 08, 2009
I will add to this that our declining health is also VERY lucrative for food companies!
 
October 28, 2009
You bring up some excellent points here!
 
October 26, 2009
I completely agree and it is so great that many Americans are waking up to this reality and changing their eating habits!
 
October 25, 2009
say it sista!!! ; ) so incredibly proud of you AND absolutely LOVE that you're sharing your experience with the community here. Thank You!!!
November 08, 2009
No thank you! I love that I have an outlet besides Facebook where people actually care what I think :)
 
October 25, 2009
Your 100 per cent correct in that it must begin with preventative. I'm appalled at all the uninformed peope there are in the world with regards to proper nutrition. After not eating breakfast for a lot of years and eating on the run, I changed my diet over 20 years ago to include fruits, vegetables, lowfat foods, etc. I'm not sure I'd be here today If I hadn't gone in that direction. Folks need proper and accurate nutritional information, but I'm still perplexed at how to get it, as I see nutritionists on television give out incorrect information everyday. One of the problems is that they are too many options and too many people (who are uninformed themselves) preaching about preventative medicine. This is a good topic, thanks for sharing and it sure seems like you're headed in the right direction. Good luck with it all.
 
1 2 Next
More The State of Our Health As a C... reviews
review by . January 24, 2010
 So now I am encouraged to write a couple of more oblique reviews :|  This subject coalesced from going back and forth between Santa Cruz CA, and England.       When I'm in England at various family households, the daily round is still much the same as when I was a child. Most people have breakfast, lunch and dinner. If, like us, your people originate from Scotland, then you probably call it  "breakfast, dinner, and tea", but essentially, it's the same …
Quick Tip by . January 27, 2010
Yea Marc Allen!! (publisher of Power of Now): "I don't do mornings and I don't do Mondays" ~ speaking to Edward Mills/Prosperity Interviews.
About the reviewer
Kristen ()
Member Since: Jan 19, 2009
Last Login: Aug 4, 2011 10:46 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Shugrshell
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this food
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
TreeHugger Community is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists