TreeHugger Community
A Lunch Community
Food, Inc.

A 2009 American documentary film directed by Robert Kenner

< read all 13 reviews

You'll never look at food the same way.

  • Nov 15, 2009
Rating:
+5
 In the past six months I have drastically changed my diet from processed, fatty, sugary foods to one that includes lots of raw vegetables, no wheat, no sugar, and very little processed foods. To say the least I have lost 25 lbs. and feel the best I ever have in my entire life. I began eating this way mostly due to digestive problems which actually still plague me but on a much, much more infrequent basis--it's still a work in progress. Since my "diet metamorphosis" as I like to refer to it, I have become enthralled with the desire to learn more about holistic healing and nutrition and have had more than one epiphany about the link between the health of our country and it's correlation with how the food in our country is processed. 

If it were up to me, every school and employer in america would be required to show this film to its employees and students. Food, Inc. is an "ugly truth" exposè about the american food industry and how our diets have taken a turn for the worst in the past 50 years. The journey from the farm to the supermarkets may not end at the dinner table but, rather, in the doctor's office and, in some cases a cemetary. I don't mean to be crude about it, but this is the reality we face. I had a good idea about what was going on but this movie further solidified my will to continue eating the way I do, not just to feel better, but to live better.

Very cleverly made, Food, Inc. puts the spotlight on the marriage of agriculture and capitalism or, as it has been referred to, "agribusiness". Food and agriculture giants such as Tyson foods and Monsanto have joined the league of corporate giants who are now in power to make decisions about how we, as americans, feed ourselves--but at what cost? Farming is a whole new ball game complete with overcrowded windowless chicken houses, political agendas, and pesticide crops aplenty. All so these big businesses can make a buck by producing fast, cheap food that's full of preservatives and lacking in nutritional value. And because they can manufacture it cheaply they can sell it cheaply driving the cost of what we should be eating i.e. fruits and vegetables up making healthy food choices less of an option for low income families who are trying to eat on a budget.  Is it really any wonder why the rate of obesity among children ages 6-19 has TRIPLED (yes, you read that right) in the past two decades? 

Food, Inc. sheds much needed light on the money-making, health-sacrificing practices of the food industry and how it's affecting its consumers and I've barely scratched the surface in this review. 

If you care about your health, the health of your loved ones, and you haven't seen this movie then do yourself and your well being a favor and rent it. You have nothing to lose but  a couple bucks and 90 minutes of your time.

 
You'll never look at food the same way.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
50
Thought-Provoking
50
Fun to Read
38
Well-Organized
46
Post a Comment
May 01, 2012
I've done just about the same thing. In addition, I purchased the Vitamix 5000 for juicing purposes. There is no waste and the machine cleans effortlessly.
 
October 04, 2011
I finally I saw this a few weeks ago and it changed the way I looked at food and grocery stores. Now, I only shop from farmer's markets or Whole Foods as much as possible. This is a great review of a great documentary. Thanks for sharing :)
 
February 11, 2011
Great review.

My family has gone to buying half a cow every other year from a local farmer.  Less expensive, not one of those feed lot operations but real, naturally raised beef, and so forth.  Coincidently a friend of mine pointed me to http://www.frontporchrepublic.com/2011/02/agriculture-vs-agribusiness/ which points out the human cost here.

One thing that Mary Berry Smith points out is that the huge feed lot operations have a human cost as well in that it destroys farmers.  It's worth a read.
 
November 17, 2010
Great review - this was a truly shocking documentary. I saw it a year ago and we've gone raw food/organic since then, avoiding anything that's processed or full of corn syrup. While our food bill has increased, we feel fitter and healthier, and can actually taste flavors without needing piles of salt. If you liked this, you might also like a documentary called Food Matters (it's on the Netflix instant queue).
 
September 30, 2010
Excellent review - and I agree with you on all points. I need to watch this, apprehensively though because I know it will make me feel ill. My daughter is only 11, and it surprises me that other girls her age that she goes to school with are already well formed, and some are just downright obese. For God's sake I didn't get boobs till I was much older, and we can attribute this and the obesity to the hormones and processed food. I hate to see a child who is only 9 to 11 years old being so overweight. And I totally agree with the other comments that schools should be forced to watch this. It is a shame though that being healthy is so expensive; it's hard for me, and I know many many others, to be able to afford to buy the good stuff and it's sad. Anyway, this was a great write up!!
 
September 12, 2010
This is a terrific review. I've been meaning to watch this one. Thanks for the skinny on the skinny. JP Rocky.
 
May 26, 2010
Thank you!! I have heard about this film and not seen it yet! The food industry in the U.S. is disturbing. I love to grow some of my own food -- Swiss chard, kale, collard greens, tomatoes, basil, etc... -- just so I can have a relationship with food, the Earth, cycles of weather, etc... The fresh vegies are delicious and I find that I waste less food when I grow it!
 
March 13, 2010
This film should be shown in every middle school health classrooms. Everyone should know where their food comes from. The fact that the Large Corporations are trying to hide the way food is produced says it all. To publish photo are illegal!...This is greed at the expense of the most vulnerable in society. The poorest and least educated are paying the price for "cheap" food with their health and their kid's future health as obesity, heart disease, diabetes not to mention all the aliments due to working with e coli , chemicals, antibiotics, etc... slowing sicken them .... It may seem cheap today  but we will all pay in the long run. Brown rice and beans can be very economical and a heck of a lot healthier than  anything on the dollar menu... We need a nation wide
Nutrition Campaign to educate people on what real food is and how to prepared cheap healthy food options. A campaign  not edited the Dairy industry dollars  and the Mega Argo Corporation Lawyers..
September 30, 2010
Amen!! You took the words right out of my mouth....
 
December 01, 2009
I'd like to chime in, here: I am very glad that someone else is as enthusiastic about this book (and the film) as I am. About the same time I read this, I read "Food Matters", by Mark Bittman, and, together, these two books will raise your food consumption awareness and clean up your culinary act. I am not a "dieter", but I did think it would be nice to to lose 15 pounds and did so in about 90 days without even trying...and I feel much better. There are good health, economic and political reasons to pay attention to what is said in "Food Inc.", and we will all be better off sooner if we do! Thanks very much!
 
November 23, 2009
I am almost afraid to see this film, but I think I'll look it up.  I worry b/c the economics of eating healthy dissuade most consumers from doing so.  I have done extensive research in this area (I thought about it with myself).  I have concluded that we are the only society in history where an increase in weight is NOT a sign of wealth.  Eating healthy, real food is expensive.  Historically, having some body padding was an indicator of wealth, but now it's and indicator of poverty and poor health. 

OK, your review has me riled up now so I'll have to watch the film.  First I need to get an Eggo before they vanish from the shelves and before I watch the film.  :)
November 24, 2009
Unfortunately you're right--it is expensive to eat healthy and it's even more obvious when you examine the health of low income households. Since I started eating healthier I find that I spend most of my money on food--healthy food. But the only way to help the situation is simply a matter of supply and demand--if more people bought the healthy stuff the less it would cost. However, in this economy, that's not an option for many families and the only ones who benefit are the companies that produce the cheap, mass-produced, processed stuff.
September 30, 2010
I agree with you dalydose - it is expensive to eat healthy and it's a damned shame. As for the lunches they serve at school, here in WV anyway, it costs lots and my daughter does not get the good hot meals that I remember getting at her age. Hope you grabbed your Eggo too - LOL that's too funny!
 
1 2 Next
More Food, Inc. reviews
review by . February 25, 2010
Food Inc.
Food Inc. is one of the most eye-opening films I've ever seen in my life. It really makes you think about where our food actually comes from and at what cost. It's disturbing to hear these facts at times, but every consumer needs to know about what is going on in the food industry before they make another purchase. It's mind-boggling.      The film starts with a man who wants to know the answer to a simple question. Where does our food come from? How does our food get to those …
review by . February 04, 2011
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
   I tend to avoid constant streams of news because the flow of bad and dark overwhelms me and makes me feel hopeless. I can't watch the endless commentary on why people do some of the hideous things that they do, or how our world is becoming more and more hostile. So the fact that I generally love documentaries surprises e.      Food Inc was one I put off for a very long time. I'm not naive - and maybe that's why I did put it off - because I know just enough. …
Quick Tip by . March 06, 2011
posted in ENN Community
read china study as well; both books are very informative as to why we need to radically change our diet for our own heatlh and health of the planet, as well as defang industrial animal abuse system
review by . March 09, 2010
posted in Green Living
This movie has really changed the way I think about food. I've been a vegetarian for a while, but I never really thought about where my food comes from, and more importantly, what's in my food.      This documentary really stresses the importance of eating local and organic food whenever possible. It has also changed the way I look at the supermarket. Really opening my eyes about how much junk we put in our bodies as Americans all for the sake of "convenience".    …
review by . October 03, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Among the maxims carved on the entrances to the Greek temple of Apollo at Delphi, perhaps the most familiar and important were "know thyself" and "nothing in excess." We have reached a point, two and a half millenia later, where we could really use both pieces of advice. This film offers valuable wisdom to a culture in which the self is defined by the products we buy in far too much excess.     If we are what we eat, then most of us (this author included) have hardly any idea …
Quick Tip by . November 08, 2009
posted in Green Living
If you haven't seen Food, Inc. ... RENT IT NOW!!! I'm reinvigorated to buy local, sustainable, and help support GMO labeling, etc.
Quick Tip by . October 29, 2009
A documentary film as imporant as it is entertaing.
About the reviewer
Kristen ()
Member Since: Jan 19, 2009
Last Login: Aug 4, 2011 10:46 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Shugrshell
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Food, Inc.
is a 2009 American documentary film directed by Emmy Award-winning filmmaker Robert Kenner. The film examines corporate farming in the United States, concluding that the meat and vegetables produced by agribusiness have many hidden costs and are unhealthy and environmentally-harmful. The film is narrated by Michael Pollan and Eric Schlosser. The documentary generated extensive controversy in that it was heavily criticized by large American corporations engaged in industrial food production.

 

The film's first segment examines the industrial production of meat (chicken, beef, and pork), calling it inhumane and economically and environmentally unsustainable. The second segment looks at the industrial production of grains and vegetables (primarily corn and soy beans), again labeling this economically and environmentally unsustainable. The film's third and final segment is about the economic and legal power of the major food companies, such as food libel laws, whose livelihoods are based on supplying cheap but contaminated food, the heavy use of petroleum-based chemicals (largely pesticides and fertilizers), and the promotion of unhealthy food consumption habits by the American public.

 

The film has generated controversy for its views. The producers invited on-screen rebuttals from Monsanto Company, Tyson Foods, Smithfield Foods, Perdue Farms, and other companies, but all declined the invitation. Monsanto says it invited the filmmakers to a ...

view wiki

Details

Director: Robert Kenner
Genre: Documentary
Release Date: June 12, 2009
MPAA Rating: PG
DVD Release Date: November 3, 2009
Runtime: 94 minutes
Studio: Magnolia
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
TreeHugger Community is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists