Wedding Planning
Wedding Planning
Community dedicated to planning a wedding
Crate and Barrel

A retail store that sells home goods

< read all 1 reviews

Wedding Registry Made Easy!

  • Feb 16, 2011
Rating:
+5
One rainy afternoon, @ and I embarked on one of the more enjoyable aspects of wedding planning, registering for gifts. We headed to Crate & Barrel at the Stanford Shopping Center in Palo Alto and were a bit overwhelmed at the sheer size of the store. Luckily, we were enthusiastically greeted by Margaret, their bridal consultant.
         
                                                                  

Margaret gave us a tour of the store and directed us to where everything was as well as her tips on where to start and how to navigate the store. The store- big, clean, orderly- was divided into kitchen gadgets, glassware, servingware, appliances, bathroom decor and gadgets, bedroom decor and furniture, rugs, and home decor, etc. The lovely Margaret was helpful but, not overbearingly so, and gave us a Crate & Barrel registry checklist to go off of and to add products from if we had forgotten anything, once we got home. She then, gave us a gun (I like to call it a fun gun), a quick lesson on how to use it and off we were.

                                                                  

Crate & Barrel also have registry events where engaged couples get free appetizers and drinks while they tour the store with their fun guns. Margaret informed us that while we weren't there for one of those event dates, we were free to come back for some free food and drinks and to add gifts onto our list, if we wanted.

To say we went a little nuts may be an understatement. All of their products are of high quality and affordable pricing. It's not Target pricing (which is our other registry place) but, it's not Saks pricing either. If you're getting married, I highly suggest registering at C&B- they're incredibly helpful, you can go to one of the registry events for free food and drink (that'll help get your groom excited about it LOL), and they have a wonderful assortment of everything you'd need to start a new life together.

And if you happen to live in the Bay Area, head over to the Stanford Crate & Barrel and ask for Margaret- she's amazing!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
April 26, 2011
I think even if one is not married, it would be a fun time to walk through such stores! Shopping in such a location can be real fun! The wedding cheer is certainly on this weekend! When is yours? Soon, I hope! :)
April 26, 2011
I agree, it's fun whether you're single or not. My wedding's in 3 weeks and I can't wait for it to be here, so I can be done with planning lol But, the present part is fun ;p
April 26, 2011
Oh wow, that's so cool! It's going to be about the same time as I move to Hong Kong! You must be real excited and hopefully get enough sleep and look radiant on that big day! Where's the honeymoon?
April 26, 2011
Sleep will come soon enough lol...hopefully sooner rather than later ;p We're thinking of going to Barcelona, I've always wanted to go but, we'll probably go next year after saving up some money. We'll be doing a mini-moon and visiting his family in Puerto Rico for Christmas, I've never been, so I'm really excited about that! Are you really excited about your move to the big city?
April 26, 2011
Barcelona is an excellent choice! It's actually my most favorite city in Spain and even possibly my most favorite city in the entire Europe! Given a choice, I'd love to live there for a year or two! You must go!

My move? Well, I need to get some real work done and hence, an income too! :) So, love it or not, it's time to get going!
April 26, 2011
I have a feeling that we may not come back from Barcelona LOL...Everything will work out for you, you'll see. You are an incredibly intelligent, resourceful and positive woman so I have no doubt that you will get what you need and anything you wish!
 
February 17, 2011
Why didn't I think of registering there for our wedding? Great review, I'll recommend it to some engaged friends :)
February 17, 2011
Thanks, EcoMama! I love it and we've even gotten a few shower gifts from there. I love coming home to presents on my doorstep :)
February 17, 2011
@ and I have registered there as well. I love it! The variety and prices are great. And I second the wonderful excitement of coming home to presents on my doorstep! I could permanently get used to that:)
February 18, 2011
You and me both :)
 
1
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #1
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this corporation

Wiki

Back in the '60s, a young Chicago couple by the name of Gordon and Carole Segal had just returned from a honeymoon in Europe. One night, while washing their dishes after dinner, they lamented there was no place at home to buy the contemporary, affordable housewares they had admired throughout their travels.

Passionate to make these designs available to others, the Segals hired one employee and leased an abandoned elevator factory on Chicago's Wells Street. They traveled throughout Europe buying directly from glassblowers and ceramicists, from factories making beautiful French copper pots and simple white bistro dinnerware. With no money left for displays, they stacked the shipping crates as shelves and filled the overseas barrels with fun merchandise. So out of necessity came the unique Crate and Barrel style…and name. And on a cold December day in 1962, just moments before the official opening, Gordon and Carole realized they had forgotten just one thing–a cash register (no kidding).

A lot has changed since that first store opened. Instead of the one employee we had in 1962, we now have 7,500. Instead of one small storefront, we now have 160 spectacular stores in markets across the US.

And now, we’re honored to share our passion with our first international Crate and Barrel store, now open at Toronto’s exciting Yorkdale Shopping Centre.

--From their website

view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Wedding Planning is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists