Wedding Planning
Wedding Planning
Community dedicated to planning a wedding
'We Bought A Zoo' Starring Matt Damon

A movie directed by Cameron Crowe.

< read all 6 reviews

'We Bought A Zoo' 'Two Jews On Film' Applaud Cameron Crowe's New Family Dramedy (Video)

  • Dec 21, 2011
Rating:
+4



By Joan Alperin Schwartz

'Sometimes all you need is 20 seconds of insane courage and I promise something great will happen'...Ben (Matt Damon) says this terrific line to his teenage son, Dylan (Colin Ford)...Ben got the line from his older brother, Duncan (Thomas Haden Church) and...

It's just one of the many awesome lines of dialogue in Cameron Crowe's new film 'We Bought A Zoo'.  
I absolutely loved this movie.

 From the first scene, where Ben asks his super adorable 7 year old daughter, Rosie (Maggie Elizabeth Jones) how he's doing as a dad and she replies...'Well at least you have all your hair'...That did it for me.  I knew I was in for a wonderful ride.

'We Bought A Zoo' written by Cameron Crowe and Aline Brosh McKenna (The Devil Wears Prada) is loosely based on the British journalist, Benjamin Mee's memoir.  The writers shifted the story from England to Southern California.

Ben, an adventure writer for a magazine, is dealing with the sudden death of his wife, 6 months ago and doing his best to make things go as smoothly as he can for his two young children.

...And he seems to be doing a good job, at least in relationship to Rosie.  With Dylan, however, things aren't looking too good.  

Dylan spends his time drawing really dark, weird, disturbing pictures and too make matters worse...he gets caught stealing and is expelled from school.

Ben realizes he must do something drastic to keep his son from spiralling downhill completely.  So what does Ben do?

He quicks his job, moves to the country and...buys a Zoo.



You can't really blame him.  The Zoo does come equipped with a hot, pretty Zookeeper, Kelly Foster (Scarlett Johnanson) and some very awesome animals.  Oh, and the new house isn't too shabby either.

'We Bought A Zoo' is one of those feel good. heartwarming movies, with a great message.  And you know what?  It's a perfect film to see this time a year...or anytime of the year for the matter.

Matt Damon has never been better.  The scenes between him and his son are filled with raw emotion, that really show Damon's depth as an actor.

The supporting cast includes the very funny Angus MacFayden and the lovely, Elle Fanning as part of the Zoo's staff.

'We Bought A Zoo' is about love, loss, family, letting go and ultimately...it's about giving...Giving everything you got to the adventure of life...wherever that journey may take you.
And lastly, I mustn't forget...     

The magnificent animals living in this zoo...Which is actually more like a spacious Animal Park...They are...in no particular order...lions, tigers, bears, geese, zebras, beavers, just to name a few.  They will absolutely win your heart...As will this film.  It certainly won, mine...and...

It even won...John's...the sometimes, critical half of 'Two Jews On Film'.  He actually liked it...alot.
Wow...A Christmas miracle.

I gave 'We Bought A Zoo' which opens in theaters, Friday, December 23, 2011, 4 1/2 bagels out of 5 and John was right up there with me in his bagel award.  

Check out our video to see our special 4 legged holiday visitor.  And have a very happy holiday and fantastic New Year everyone.
 
                                             
'We Bought A Zoo' 'Two Jews On Film' Applaud Cameron Crowe's New Family Dramedy (Video) 'We Bought A Zoo' 'Two Jews On Film' Applaud Cameron Crowe's New Family Dramedy (Video) 'We Bought A Zoo' 'Two Jews On Film' Applaud Cameron Crowe's New Family Dramedy (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
December 23, 2011
whoa. I like Damon and your review just surprised me since I was expecting you to give this a low score. Sounds delightful, maybe I'll see it when I need some fun. Kids, family, love, death....loss? Hmm...John says it is engrossing eh? Ok, you got my attention. Thanks!
December 29, 2011
LOL. Check out our video. Mango made a holiday appearance.
December 29, 2011
thanks for reminding me, I have issues running vids at work :)

Oh, Happy New Year!
 
December 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing this review; my daughter said she wanted to see this one and now that I know you guys enjoyed it, I'm sure my daughter will be in for a treat!
December 29, 2011
OMG She'll love it. Happy holidays.
December 29, 2011
Thank you - hope the new year brings you lots of joy and happiness!
 
1
More We Bought a Zoo reviews
review by . May 27, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
A Charming, Heartwarming And Engaging Film For The Whole Family
It's not often that a movie comes out suitable for the whole family to watch that will actually keep you engaged, interested and wanting more, with characters that are just as appealing - well, this one is it. Directed by Cameron Crowe and starring Matt Damon, this is a true story of a single father who decides he needs to make a major change for his family - he buys a broken down and struggling zoo to renovate even though he knows nothing about the animals living there, or how to even run a …
review by . December 29, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
I't's a zoo alright.
WE BOUGHT A ZOO Written by Aline Brosh McKenna and Cameron Crowe Directed by Cameron Crowe Starring Matt Damon, Scarlett Johansson and Thomas Hayden Church   In 2006, a man by the name of Benjamin Mee bought a zoo alongside his mother and his brother. He had no experience with animals and, in fact, his offer to buy the zoo was originally rejected based on his inexperience. The zoo had been closed earlier that year and it was Mee’s plan to refurbish and reopen to the public as soon …
Quick Tip by . May 28, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
Matt Damon was the reason I went for the movie. The little girl (starring Maggie Elizabeth Jones) is who caught my heart! A movie that leaves you with the fuzzy feelings when you leave the theater. Nothing original, except the idea of living in a zoo!
review by . December 27, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Star Rating:         In August of 2006, the Mee family of Devon, England – consisting of DIY columnist and animal lover Benjamin, his brother Duncan, his mother Amelia, and his two children – invested £1.1 million of their own money into the Dartmoor Wildlife Park, a local landmark which opened in 1968 and was forced to close thirty-eight years later after falling on hard times. The eleven-month renovation, which required not only an additional £500,000 …
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Tags

Movies, Comedy, Drama, Animals, Family, Love, Matt Damon, True Story, Scarlett Johansson, Loss, Relationship, Thomas Haden Church, Elle Fanning, Cameron Crowe, Angus Macfaden, Colin Ford, We Bought A Zoo

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Wedding Planning is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists