Dreading the 2011 NBA Lockout
Let's talk NBA while we can before the lockout!
Kobe Bryant

American All-Star shooting guard who plays for the Los Angeles Lakers of the NBA

< read all 3 reviews

An all-time great!

  • May 20, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I'm a Southern California boy, so most Kobe "haters" are automatically going to assume that my opinion is biased and therefore means nothing. To those of you that feel this way, stop reading now.

The fact is, Kobe Bryant has skill. His father was a professional basketball player and he was raised in Italy to play intelligent, fundamental basketball. He's an on court coach that knows all there is to know about the game of basketball. He knows each and every strength and weakness of every player on his team and knows how to utilize their abilities to the fullest extent possible. He's going to get another championship soon, the question is, will that be his last or will he begin another dynasty?

Now, I'll simply let Kobe Bryant's achievements speak for themselves.


Kobe Bryant's Career Achievements

3 time NBA Champion: 00 - 02

2 time regular season scoring leader: 06, 07

11 time NBA All-Star: 98, 00 - 09, all appearances were starts and 10 consecutive appearances at the NBA All-Star game from 00-09

3 time NBA All-Star MVP: 02, 07, 09

10 time all NBA selection (All consecutive)

First team: 02 - 04, 06 - 08

Second team: 00, 01

Third team: 99, 05

8 time All Defense selection

First team: 00, 03, 04, 06 - 08

Second team: 01, 02

NBA All-Rookie second team: 97

97 NBA Slam Dunk Champion (youngest player at 18 years and 175 days)

96 – First Guard in league history to be drafted out of Highschool

January 7th, 2003. Most 3 pointers in a single game (12) tied with Donyell Marshall

January 7th, 2003. Most consecutive 3 pointers in a single game (9) tied with Latrell Spreewell and Ben Gord0n.

Career 40 point regular season games: 90 (3rd all time)

Career 50 point games: 23 (3rd all time)

Career 60 point games: 4 (3rd All time tied with Elgin Baylor)

December 20, 2005 Kobe outscores the entire Dallas Mavericks team 62-61 at the end of the third quarter. This is the first and only time a player has outscored a team after 3 quarters.

January 22, 2006 in a 122-104 win over the Toronto Raptors Kobe scores 81 Points a Laker record and 2nd to only Wilt Chamberlains 100 points.

Only player to score 50+ points in 4 consecutive games other then Chamberlain who scored 50+ in 7 consecutive games.

Only player to score 20,000 points before turning 30 other then Wilt Chamberlain and Michael Jordan.

Recorded ten - 50 point games in a season (06/07) joining only Chamberlain who did it twice (61/62, 62/63)


Sources: ESPN.com, NBA.com and Wikipedia.org

Kobe24

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
4
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
May 28, 2009
Great Review...when you see the stats laid out like that, it is pretty impressive. One thing that has always impressed me about him is the defensive ability. To be an all defensive team selection while scoring as much as he does is pretty amazing.
 
May 28, 2009
SWEET, a fellow Laker fan online. As good as the guy is, he is even better when he can get his team involved - like last night's Game 5 against Denver. You see it? And even though I'm a proud fan, I do stop to think about the whole debate going on with Bryant and Lebron James. Nice review, man..@slambada and you definitely taking part in "The Great Debate."
 
1
More Kobe Bryant reviews
review by . April 28, 2009
Kobe Slam
I don't know about you, but when Kobe came into the league as a high school phenomenon I could not stand him.  He was cocky, oh so cocky, and not a member of the Detroit Pistons. :)  I thought that this kid was garbage.....Although, I am a little embarrassed to say that I didn't like him because my father had nothing to say about him except for trash.  But as the years have passed and I have grown to be more mature I have realized that Kobe is amazing.  He came out of high school better than any …
review by . December 14, 2008
Can the reigning MVP be the most underrated player in the league?  Well Kobe Bryant was just that for the previous 11 seasons.  A player who is so humble - like Barry Bonds - that the general public paint them as cocky.  But whether you like Kobe the man, you'd be wrong to slight Bryant's place as one of the top 10 players in the history of the NBA.
About the reviewer
Tom West ()
Member Since: May 19, 2009
Last Login: Jul 9, 2009 09:46 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TomyeWest
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this actor

Wiki

Kobe Bean Bryant (born August 23, 1978 is an American All-Star shooting guard who plays for the Los Angeles Lakers of the National Basketball Association. Bryant is the only son of former Philadelphia 76ers player and former Los Angeles Sparks head coach Joe "Jellybean" Bryant.
view wiki

Details

Nationality: American
Birth Date: August 23, 1978
Birth Place: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Gender: Male
Height: 6' 6"
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Dreading the 2011 NBA Lockout is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists