Dreading the 2011 NBA Lockout
Let's talk NBA while we can before the lockout!
Los Angeles Lakers

A professional basketball team in the Western Conference of the NBA.

< read all 2 reviews

2009 Lakers...I Am Cautiously Optimistic

  • Jun 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
The NBA Finals start tonight and I am cautiously optimistic. They have had quite a run through the playoffs, losing games when they should have won and there are several external issues that have added to the drama surrounding this postseason. I was extremely nervous during both the Houston (7 games) and Denver (6 games) series as it seemed like both of those teams were playing with more fire than the Lakers. On paper, the Lakers should destroy the Magic...but they were not able to dominate their other playoff opponents.

Some Playoff themes that have been prominently discussed:

Can they make up for their disastrous showing against the Celtics in last years finals?

Can Kobe finally win a ring without Shaq? It was nice to see that Shaq tweeted his encouragement yesterday: thats right i am saying it today and today only, i want kobe bryant to get number 4, spread da word

From Los Angeles Times today: Kobe battles Magic and Father Time. (due to the advanced mileage on his body. When Jordan was Kobe's age, he had played in 340 fewer games than Kobe) http://www.latimes.com/sports/la-sp-kobe-lak...09jun04,0,6421376.story

Is the reason for Lamar Odom's up and down play his addiction to candy and the resulting sugar rushes and crashes? http://www.latimes.com/sports/la-sp-random1-2009jun01,0,7864160.story

Also, I am still waiting to see what kind of player Bynum turns out to be: The freakish athlete who rebounds and scores inside, or the oversize kid who can't play defense without fouling.

For whatever reason, I do feel a sense of urgency. After two losses in the finals, time may indeed be running out on this version of the Lake Show and I hope they can prevail. Tonight will be a huge barometer for the rest of the series so I will be watching...and cautiously optimistic.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
June 04, 2009
oh and if the Magic end up playing Jameer Nelson like I heard this AM, then Stan Van Gundy has no concern for his longevity, it would be a very poor decision.
 
June 04, 2009
Dan, I too am cautious, on that same note I asked Bob to have the day off for the parade! it's SHOW TIME!
June 05, 2009
Nice Rhea...I like the confidence
 
June 04, 2009
If Van Gundy is smart, he'll just play 5 on 4 against all the lakers who aren't named Derek Fisher so they can hold them to below 30% shooting. 35% if Fisher's "hot".
 
June 04, 2009
i'm really interested to see Bynum match up against Howard. i'm afraid that Bynum will do one of two things. First, i think he could get injured again because he is going to be so gassed chasing Howard down the court to get back on defense... and after doing that for a while, it just seems that his injury prone body could break down again. If not that, then he is going to get tired and start fouling so he could spend a lot of time on the bench in foul trouble... or he could get so tired that he drops a flagrant foul on Howard... he's had tendency for that too. Which all in all might not be such a bad thing to make up for Gasol's softness. Those, unfortunately, are my two predictions for Bynum... injury or flagrant foul and ejection. Really looking to this Finals tonight!!!
June 04, 2009
You are right that the matchup with Howard will be really interesting. I don't see how Bynum guards him effectively.
 
1
More Los Angeles Lakers reviews
review by . August 28, 2012
Among the major professional sports leagues (plus the NHL) in the United States, the NBA stands out in one very minor way. In the others, there's one team which is peerless in the fact that it's running away with more titles than any other team, to such a point that it would take years for the next-closest team in the league to catch them. In the National Hockey League, the Montreal Canadiens lead the way with 24 Stanley Cup victories. Next in line is the Toronto Maple Leafs, who have 13, and the …
About the reviewer
I am a fan of healthy living, science fiction, the opinion page, Korean food, UCLA basketball and oatmeal.      I like to read reviews of restaurants, recipes and cooking products … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drogoff
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this sports team

Wiki

http://www.lakers.com

The Los Angeles Lakers are a National Basketball Association (NBA) team based in Los Angeles, California. The Lakers play their home games at Staples Center, which they share with their fellow NBA rival, the Los Angeles Clippers, and their sister team, the Los Angeles Sparks of the WNBA.[1]

The Lakers' franchise was founded in 1946 in Detroit, Michigan before moving to Minneapolis, where the team got its official title from the state's nickname, "Land of 10,000 Lakes."[2] The Lakers won five championships before relocating to Los Angeles in the 1960–61 NBA season. The Lakers lost all of their eight appearances in the NBA Finals in the 1960s, despite having help from Elgin Baylor and Jerry West. In 1972, the Lakers won their sixth title under coach Bill Sharman. The Lakers' popularity soared in the 1980s when they won five additional championships during a nine-year span with the leadership of Hall of Famers Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, James Worthy and coach Pat Riley, the franchise's all-time leader in both regular season and playoff games coached and wins. Two of those championships during that span were against their arch-rivals, the Boston Celtics. With the help of Shaquille O'Neal, Kobe Bryant, and Hall of Fame coach Phil Jackson, the Lakers advanced to six of the ten NBA Finals in the 2000s, winning three of them consecutively from 2000 to 2002 and losing in 2004 and in the 2008 NBA Finals without O'Neal.

The Lakers hold ...

view wiki

Details

Conference: Western Conference
Division: Pacific Division

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Dreading the 2011 NBA Lockout is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists