A Community for those who love to grill!
Charcoal Chimney Starter

A device that is used to start either lump charcoal or charcoal briquettes.

< read all 1 reviews

Charcoal Chimney Starters

  • Feb 15, 2010
Rating:
+5
Does charcoal grilling seem like to much of a hassle compared to gas grilling? If so you should take a very hard look at about any brand of chimney starters designed for starting your charcoal quickly and with out lighter fluids which can add a distasteful flavor to your grilled foods. 

Chimney starters use a piece of news paper rolled up into a ball which is placed under the chimney that holds around 4lbs of charcoal, once lit your charcoal will be ready in about 15- 20 minutes. The following video will demonstrate it's proper use. http://bbqgurus.info

Charcoal Chimney Starters Charcoal Chimney Starters Charcoal Chimney Starters Charcoal Chimney Starters

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
February 17, 2010
I too use the fire starters (Weber), they're about $5 for 24, and in my opinion only one is needed. Otherwise you just wad up some newspaper and shove that in the bottom of the chimney. But the newspaper will leave a HUGE pile of ashen burnt paper, so don't light this in the grill itself, or you'll have a mess. Either use a spare grill (everyone has 2 or more, right?) or I use an old grill grate suspended between 2 bricks. Then the newspaper ash just blows away. Nice review and excellent advice!
February 17, 2010
Just 2? LOL... you are correct the paper ash can be a hassle if your not thinking about it
 
February 16, 2010
IMHO, this is the only method to start charcoal. Once I discovered the chimney starter, I never went back to lighter fluid and retired the electric starter. Outstanding method of starting your charcoal grill. Great review!
February 17, 2010
Thanks GEldred..I'm a charcoal fanatic and have used the chimney for years. Glad you enjoyed the review
 
February 16, 2010
I've never heard of these before, but I'm intrigued! Do you have any tips on how and why to use this interesting contraption? I know a lot of strictly gas BBQ guys, but I'll forward your review onto them. Maybe this will convert them and I'll be eating real BBQ in no time ;)  Thanks for sharing, Dale!
February 17, 2010
The chimney gets your coals going much faster and lights them evenly.
February 17, 2010
It also eliminates the taste or smell of lighter fluid that can sometimes permiate the food if you start grilling before the coals are really ready.  
 
 
1
About the reviewer
Dale Lewis ()
Ranked #1
I'm a BBQ fanatic who loves spending time around the grill with good friends and family. Trying new recipes or creating my own is about as much fun as eating it! My hobbies are hunting, fishing and the … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Dalewis
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A chimney starter, also called a charcoal chimney, is a device that is used to start either lump charcoal or charcoal briquettes. It is usually a steel cylinder about 8" (20 cm) in diameter and about 12 to 18 inches (30 to 45 cm) tall. Chimney starters have a plate or grate with several holes that is welded horizontally inside the cylinder about 3" (8 cm) from the bottom. The chimney has large holes drilled around its circumference below the grate. This is to allow air to flow up underneath the charcoal, which rests on top of the grate. They also have handles that are frequently insulated. The chimney starter works by placing newspaper underneath the grate and lighting it on fire. This fire, which is easy to start, goes through the holes in the grate and lights the charcoal on fire. It is commonly used in situations where the use of charcoal lighter fluid, a toxic petroleum derivative, is inappropriate or banned. It is also used when extra charcoals are required while the grill is being used, such as when slowly cooking something for a few hours.

Although the chimney starter is now sometimes considered a "traditional" method of starting charcoal, a basic device used for barbecue grills was invented in the 1960's by Hugh King, Lavaughn Johnson, and Garner Byars of Corinth, Mississippi and marketed under the "Auto Fire" label.

view wiki

Tags

Bbq, Charcoal, Fire Starter, Charcoal Chimney

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
BBQ Gurus is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists