Bravo TV Addicts
A Lunch Community
Project Runway

American reality television series on the Bravo network which focuses on fashion design

< read all 8 reviews

RuPaul's Drag Race without the queens...oops...scratch that!

  • Apr 6, 2010
  • by
Rating:
+5
Being the reality junkie I am, I have been watching Project Runway from the beginning.  IMHO, it is one of the grand dames (dame as in Helen Mirren, not Cloris Leachman) of reality TV.  It is a class act, and much of that class comes from Tim Gunn, mentor to the designers who are competing to win a bucketload of cash to start their own fashion line.  Tim is not only impeccable in every aspect of his appearance (and a handsome man he is), he is funny, charming, endearingly neurotic and one of my favorite people on television.  Can you tell I heart Tim Gunn? :)

The real boss of PR is Heidi Klum, best known as THE Victoria's Secret runway model and wife of singer Seal.  Heidi, along with "top designer" Michael Kors, Marie Claire fashion director Nina Garcia and a celebrity guest judge, decides who stays and who goes.  Because she says "auf Wiedersehen" when a contestant is kicked off the show for transgressions of style, execution or taste level, pop culture has come up with the term "auf'd" as in "Who was auf'd this week?"

The contestants run the gamut from those who have worked for top designers to those who are right out of design school.  As anyone who has seen (on TV or in person) a top designer fashion show could attest, there is a lot walking down the runway that you won't see walking down the street.  It tends to be a bit bizarre.  Luckily, for the most part, what walks the runway on PR is more accessible to the average person--cocktail dresses, evening gowns, smart pantsuits or sportswear--though there is certainly enough creativity to satisfy the most wildly creative TV viewer (paging Chris March!).

Fashion designers are highly creative people--and sometimes high strung as well.  You cram a bunch of highly creative, high strung people in a room and make them compete for mad cash on a ridiculously short time table, you are going to have high drama.  Some seasons, it is designers back-talking the judges during their critiques (paging Santino Rice!).  Some, it's them backstabbing one another ("I can't believe you threw me under the bus!").  There are always designers to love (paging Anthony Williams!) and at least a few to hate (paging Wendy Pepper!)...and, once in a while, there are people you love and hate at the same time (paging Christian Siriano!).

I have been sewing since I was a tween (though I mostly hem pants these days) and I like to think of myself as a pretty creative person, so Project Runway always makes me feel like dusting off the sewing machine and making something FABulous.

It's funny, it's dramatic, it's inspiringly creative and it just about the best reality there is.  So why aren't you watching it, hmmm?  Make it work!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
April 18, 2010
I've never seen this show, but I've heard good things about it. I enjoyed the write-up, Sheri!
 
April 09, 2010
Poor Anthony...gets auf'd, gets resurrected, wins a BIG challenge, only to be booted again at the final challenge before the finalists go home to prepare their collections for Fashion Week. Did the judges make the right decision? Well, probably...because 3 of the final 4 are pretty strong. It would have had to be Jay or Anthony getting the boot.
 
April 08, 2010
I *heart* Tim Gunn, too!  What a handsome fella and a class act.  Project Runway couldn't have found a better host :)  Your reality TV reviews are making me wish I had cable television again.  Thanks goodness for Hulu though.  Thanks for sharing this great review, Sheri! :)
 
1
More Project Runway reviews
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Totally addicted to this show!
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
I watch it for the sewing and end clothing results, not so much for the drama that happens.
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2010
One of the best reality/competition shows on television..heidi and tim complement eachother nicely. love michael kors (mk) and i just love clothing in general so i like seeing the new designs.
review by . April 27, 2010
 This show used to be so great. Unfortunately, it's somewhat devolved since it's move to Lifetime. And poor Bravo hasn't had much luck coming up with a replacement. Sure, I'll still watch if it's on while I'm home. But I don't Tivo it anymore. And that says a lot. . .
Quick Tip by . May 08, 2010
posted in Bravo TV Addicts
Such a fun, creative show. I'm always amazed to see what these designers produce in such a short amount of time.
Quick Tip by . September 28, 2009
Not sure why Ra'mon got booted out last week. Boo
review by . December 20, 2008
I love watching Project Runway. As a striving fashion designer, it's amazing to watch other designers create outfits in a competition. It's always so entertaining to see what happens, who messes up, and of course.. who leaves each round. There is tons of drama to go around too. Usually there is one designer that no one can stand or some have ego trips. The first season I ever watched was the third one. There was a designer named Jefferey Sebelia who amazed me. He instantly became one of my favorites. …
About the reviewer
Sheri ()
I have been a customer reviewer on Amazon.com for well over a decade and an Amazon Vine reviewer since the program began. I enjoy writing product reviews that will help customers make a buying decision. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sheri_in_Reho
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Project Runway is an American reality television series on Lifetime Television, previously on the Bravo network, which focuses on fashion design and is hosted by model Heidi Klum. The contestants compete with each other to create the best clothes and are usually restricted in time, materials, and theme. Their designs are judged and one or more designers are eliminated each week.

On April 7, 2008, the show's producers, Weinstein Company, announced a five-year deal that would relocate the show to Lifetime Television, beginning with Season 6. In response, NBC Universal filed a lawsuit against the Weinstein Company for violating its contract rights. A September 2008 court decision granted NBCU's request for an injunction, preventing Lifetime from promoting or exhibiting "Runway" until further notice.

On April 1, 2009, the lawsuit between Weinstein Co. and NBC Universal was settled, with Weinstein agreeing to pay NBC an undisclosed sum for the right to move the show to Lifetime. Season 6 began airing on Lifetime on August 20, 2009. It premiered on the Slice channel in Canada September 12.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: December 1st, 2004
Description: A television competition show about fashion designers.

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Bravo TV Addicts is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists