Business Matters
Money Matters!

Potential Government Shutdown of 2011

7 Ratings: -3.4
Congress would force a government shutdown on April 8, 2011 if their plan to reduce the U.S. federal budget deficit is not resolved.

Congress would force a government shutdown on April 8, 2011 if their plan to reduce the U.S. federal budget deficit is not resolved. This could leave 800,000 furloughed workers without a job, out of 2 million civilian federal employees. Congressional … see full wiki

Tags: Politics, Government, Government Shutdown
1 review about Potential Government Shutdown of 2011

It's all about $$$ (or rather, the lack of it)!

  • Apr 8, 2011
Rating:
-4
This is nothing new. The Government has shutdown before in the U.S. As much puzzled as I’m, it does happen in this part of the world it seems. Government employees not paid. Why? Probably due to the government extensive debt! Policies and politicians’ agendas are imbalanced! [Check this interesting video by Washington Post that explains the dynamics of the budget shutdown]  I’m not into politics so I shall not attempt to bore you with the intricacies of game plays in Politics. Instead, I’d attempt to outline how it affects the average Americans, other than the federal employees, that is! It still boggles my mind how working for the government is no longer the job of the decade! In most Asian countries, it’s a job millions are eyeing!
 
Anyhow, it reminded me of the time when I was on VirtualTourist.com. The site decided at times to “shutdown” for maintenance and installing something new, the members go bonkers for hours. Now, transplant that phenomenon and predict what happened to the U.S. when non-essential workers go out and take a LONG break?! Well, for visitors, forget about visiting national parks and museums. They are all closed! {How dare they close the national parks? This is the best time of the year to go visit those parks!!!} Now, take a step back and do your sums. How much $$$ is lost every day as a result of that?! No national parks & museums, no visitors. No visitors, no income earned for hoteliers, etc, etc...


 
Then, think about the chaos in the city and the mice, raccoons and other insects out for a big feast. Get the picture? Oh NO!!!!!!! Luckily, the policemen and the nurses are still around!
 
I shudder to think about the next few weeks and I truly sympathize with you the Americans. The Hong Kong people got some HK$6000 (about US$777) cash each (after a lot of protest as the government originally wanted to simply credit the sums into the EPF (some form of retirement fund) account; if you consider the high inflation and whatever uncertainty in life, you won’t be surprised why they make a commotion about it!) this year for its huge coffer of taxes earned. Now you know why I’m planning on moving to Hong Kong, don’t you?


 
Back to the Obama Administration. What can I say? People in other parts of the world are not impressed. He promised change… yeah, change it did; for most part, for the worse perhaps! May be he’s just unlucky to be getting the bad part of the deal, you know, things don’t happened overnight. Then again, it’s been some 2 over years and we outsiders don’t see any decent improvement. Do you?
 
All I can say is, God help America! You guys are in for some rough seas! Hopefully, not the tsunami-like situation the Japanese are facing! As for the President, I wish him all the best of luck! Europe is dealing with Portugal & Spain’s debts recently, who knows when he’ll be called upon to “help” again?
Congress, Libya, Japan, Europe… he has his hands full! I certainly wouldn’t want to be in his shoes!



Well folks, so much for this week. I'm off too.. on a trip to the most important mountain in China, Taishan (aka Mount Tai) where emperors used to go there to pray. I believe it's about time I go up there to pray for all our sakes! :-)
 
It's all about $$$ (or rather, the lack of it)! It's all about $$$ (or rather, the lack of it)! It's all about $$$ (or rather, the lack of it)! It's all about $$$ (or rather, the lack of it)!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
April 15, 2011
thank goodness this was averted, I have two friends in the military and they were so stressed out. Howver, I highly doubt this was the first time this almost happened, I am betting past presidents just managed to put a lid on it while nowadays, politics seem to be about 'media'.
April 15, 2011
It happened before during Clinton's time, 21 days of shutdown.
April 15, 2011
oh yeah, huh....
 
April 08, 2011
Thanks for the prayers! I had never heard of a government shutdown before until this. Hoping they reach a solution even if funding is cut here and there.
April 10, 2011
It happened before during Clinton's time, 21 days of shutdown. For now, the current crisis is averted. However, the dates to watch out for would be in May, when the government is expected to overshoot the federal debt limit of $14.25 trillion! Another debate to raise that limit by July 8. If not, the U.S. "government would begin defaulting on its debt" (according to Washington Post)!!!
April 14, 2011
Whoa, I had no idea! Was a little too young to know what was going on then, but I've gotta look that up!
 
1
What's your opinion on Potential Government Shutdown of 2011?
rate
7 Ratings: -3.4
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Potential Government Shutdown of 2011
Details
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Business Matters is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists