Business Matters
Money Matters!
Economist newspaper

Weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion

< read all 5 reviews

A magazine for those who like information, rather than data

  • Dec 30, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
As the number of media outlets increases, and the amount of time reporters have to write stories decreases, mainstream reporting tends to deliver data, rather than information.

Rather than analyzing and interpreting what is happening, they will play it safe and throw together a bunch of quotes, a he said/she said of the story.  You end up with a sea of words and data with no background and no context.

The Economist tries to deliver information, rather than data.  They supply relevant context and background.  If a political figure has repeatedly lied, they will call them on it, rather than just publishing what they have to say.

The Economist definitely mixes reporting and advocacy.  They don't try to remain impartial -- they interpret the news.  I like this approach, and I feel that they do a good job differentiating between their advocacy and their best effort at providing context and background.

Most people who object to their style of reporting don't like the mix of advocacy and news, or prefer a more personal, less analytic approach to reporting.   Depending on your personal style, you will either love or hate their reporting.
Economist cover

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
23
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
April 25, 2009
It's a magazine I read most & like most. But I do believe they were wrong on many issues last year!
 
April 24, 2009
Great review! It is hard to find good, thoughtful sources for news. The Economist is enlightening.
 
April 02, 2009
Do you ever find yourself wishing that the Economist was President?
 
February 04, 2009
I totally agree that so much of what constitutes an article these days are copy-and-pasted quotes strung together. When you find a real piece of journalism, it's enlightening!
 
1
More Economist reviews
Quick Tip by . April 30, 2011
posted in Business Matters
I like this magazine especially for the global and financial aspects of its news and analysis. It is detailed and convincing. Predictions may not be accurate but it is enjoyable to read something as dry as Economics here on this magazine. Well done and Highly recommended.
Quick Tip by . September 18, 2010
This is a great newspaper for someone who just want the summarized view of the world.
Quick Tip by . March 30, 2010
posted in City Lifestyle
One of my favorite all time business magazines. A great source of information & economic trend forecasting. Handy!
Quick Tip by . August 21, 2009
posted in Travel à la carte
Read it on the bed, train or plane. Read it you must if you need to update yourself on world economies. Most comprehensive magazine, imho!
About the reviewer
Ari Miller ()
I mostly write about my main obsession, tennis. When I'm not experimenting with new tennis racquets, I love to watch a good movie or read a great book. I'm a fan of both non-fiction (especially books … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ari1974
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A weekly newspaper, printed in magazine form.
The Economist's focus is world news, politics and business. It also runs regular sections on science and technology as well as books and the arts. Every other week, it adds an in-depth special report on a particular issue, business sector or geographical region. Every quarter, it publishes a technology report called Technology Quarterly or TQ.
view wiki

Tags

Magazines, Finance, Newspapers, World Affairs, Economist

Details

Polls
Business Week

Most Popular Business Periodicals

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Business Matters is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists