Entertainment, Celebrities, and Pop Culture
Because it's too important not to talk about
Sheen-gate 2011

A period in early 2011 in regards to actor Charlie Sheen's personal life.

< read all 2 reviews

What the heck happened to Charlie Sheen & why can't we stop watching?

  • Mar 4, 2011
Rating:
+1
Poor, poor Charlie Sheen.  What the heck happened this week?  And why can't we stop watching? 

As a fan of his works, especially his now-on-hiatus hit comedy Two & A Half Men, as well as part of the amused when it comes to his antics (don't lie, you know you've been following up on it, too!), and just as a fellow human being in general, I can't help but feel for the guy what with all that has been happening in the past few weeks.

We all know about Charlie's penchant for drugs, partying, porn stars, and prostitutes, but then it seemed like he settled down when he married actress Denise Richards, then real estate investor Brooke Mueller a few years later.  Unfortunately, it didn't last and his life has recently taken a turn for the worse.  And not to mention, the very strange.

His most recent woes started a few months ago when he was found in a hotel room in an incoherent state while a frightened porn star/escort, Capri Anderson, locked herself in the bathroom to avoid him.  What makes this story even more strange is that his ex-wife Denise Richards, along with their two children, were staying in a separate suite in the same hotel.  Denise Richards even stopped by the dinner that Charlie was having with Capri Anderson and snapped a photo with Charlie's date.

Denise Richards and Capri Anderson
http://youknowyoucare.com/wp-content/gallery/charlie/capri-anderson-denise-richards-together.jpg

You'd think he would take it easy since that incident, but since then, things have only appeared to get even more strange. 

I'll let some of the latest headlines speak for themselves:
Charlie Sheen with his 24 year old live-in "goddesses"
http://a.abcnews.go.com/images/GMA/abc_charlie_sheen_goddesses_nt_110301_mn.jpg

The latest headline?  Charlie Sheen Joins Twitter, Tweets Photo

Said tweeted photo with captioning, "Winning..! Choose your Vice... #winning #chooseyourvice"
http://media.lunch.com/d/d7/559097.jpg?2

Oh Dear Lord.

I have to add -- the world has obviously been captivated with Charlie Sheen's antics and here's one example of how much -- he's managed to get over one million followers within his first 24 hours on twitter.  At one point, he was reportedly getting 5k followers per minute.  His hash tags #winning and #tigerblood were some of the top trending topics on twitter for a couple of days after.  Impressive.

Believe it or not though, there's something even stranger than the headlines; it's what's behind the headlines -- Charlie has pretty much created his own dialect, Charlie Sheen'glish.  During the week that his longtime publicist resigned, he's granted epic interviews to several news and celebrity gossip outlets, sans handlers.  Here are a few choice snippets straight out of his mouth,

  • "I'm grandiose.  I have a grandiose life and I'm embracing it. ... It doesn't fit into their model and their model sucks."
  • "I'm tired of pretending I'm not special."
  • "Stay away from the crack -- unless you can manage it socially."
  • "Imagine what I would have done with my fire breathing fists.”
  • He also says that he has "Adonis DNA" and "tiger blood"
  • "My success rate is 100 percent. Do the math!"
  • "It's like an organic union of the hearts."
  • "This is a time to exhibit the level of salt that I have in my soul."
  • "I expose people to magic."
  • "I'm extremely old-fashioned. I'm a nobleman. I'm chivalrous."
  • "12 hour crack rule."
  • "Marijuana bikini model."
  • "I have closed my eyes and in a nanosecond I cured myself from this ridiculous."
  • "The only thing I'm addicted to right now is winning."
  • "#WINNING"

For more recent Charlie Sheen quotes, check out his interview on Good Morning America, cue to 1:50

For a more interactive experience for Charlie Sheen quotes, check out Live the Sheen Dream.

Amusement aside, I actually feel really bad for the guy.  When the first few interviews happened, I thought he was in on the joke, that he was messing with us.  However, as this whole debacle goes on, I now think that this is for real.  He's seriously going off the deep end and should get some professional help before he really loses it.  I agree with Dr. Drew when he says that he thinks that Charlie Sheen is manic.  He's on a mega high right now, but when he comes down from it, I envision him crashing hard and having a really bad burnout if he doesn't get some intervention from his loved ones and some professional help.

For the sake of his fans, friends, family, baby mamas, babies, and more importantly, himself -- because even that seems like a lot to handle right now -- I really hope that Charlie Sheen pulls through and bounces back.

For now, I can't help but wonder -- what will Charlie Sheen do or say next?
What the heck happened to Charlie Sheen & why can't we stop watching?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
46
Thought-Provoking
45
Fun to Read
46
Well-Organized
49
Post a Comment
March 13, 2011
Twisted! But if that's the only way he could get his followers (or more like attention), well, why not indeed?! I figure it's mid-life crisis, lol... that's the sheen-way ;-)
 
March 07, 2011
I can't decide if it's the Tiger blood or the Adonis DNA :-) Great compilation of his antics here!
March 11, 2011
Thanks, man! I think it's likely a combo ;)
March 21, 2011
Only the trolls and droopy-eyed, armless children really know the answer.
 
March 06, 2011
I don't have a bit of trouble not watching. He's an ass.
March 07, 2011
Good for you for being able to keep him out of your system. It's been a bit difficult for me to do that because he seems to be everywhere!
March 07, 2011
I know..... Just flip the channel till he goes away!
 
March 05, 2011
Psychology analysises of Charlie Sheen http://www.psychology-advice.net/tag/charlie-sheen
March 06, 2011
Is that your website?
 
March 05, 2011
LMAO...blow by blow! Yeah, I haven't really kept up with it and only know that he's gone off the deep end because it's in my face every five seconds and that's about how long it lasts, until I can change the channel. I don't really like watching people's downfalls! But, it is intriguing as to why Charlie Sheen who had a successful show is here at this point. Those nutty celebrities...
March 06, 2011
It's hard to keep Charlie Sheen out of your system when he's EVERYWHERE. He's being RT'ed on twitter left and right, talked about on the news and all over news websites and blogs. And did you hear about his webcast from yesterday? Oh, Charlie...
March 08, 2011
Nope! Haven't heard of it, thank GOD! Luckily, I haven't been that inundated with it. I've got my own drama to deal with called life LOL.
 
March 05, 2011
I have absolutely NO trouble stopping watching. And, with all due respect, this is NOT an ego that needs any feeding on this forum. What will Charlie Sheen do or say next. Who knows ... but, more to the point, who cares?
March 05, 2011
Celebrity news is so my cup of tea, so that's why I've been following up! Even if I wasn't... well, I would probably still be force fed this because this story has been everywhere. That's great and impressive that you can mute it out though. Thanks for reading, Paul!
March 05, 2011
And thanks for understanding that I wasn't picking on you. I'm just expressing my profound distaste for all things Charlie Sheen! :-)
March 06, 2011
Oh, no offense taken whatsoever! Usually, I'd suggest to people who disagree to share a QT or a review of their own, but I have a feeling that in this case, you can't be bothered with thinking about Charlie Sheen ;)
 
March 05, 2011
I like your write up and really feel your closing line, I felt the same way in the days of Howard Stern....(I know, he was weird and can be so offensive at times, but he always kept you wondering how far he'll go). I am not much for celebrities, but hey, I myself am very entertained with Two and a half Men. Thanks for this!
March 05, 2011
as for Orlok's comment, maybe he wanted a way out...?
March 05, 2011
Thanks for reading, Woo! The difference between Howard Stern and Charleen Sheen is that Howard Stern's seemingly sane, just kinda jerk, whereas Charlie... well, he appears to have fallen off the deep end. And hmmm, maybe he just needed a break, but this isn't a way to go about it, and if anything, this is a way to get even more attention.
 
March 04, 2011
I don't feel sorry for him at all. I have enjoyed 2.5 Men as a show, but his off the wall, unethical behavior is to be disgusted at and not sympathized with. His insults to the very people who supported him is disgusting. Media hog, man. You put a lot of work into this write-up, so it gets the full thumbs across, but I must respectfully disagree -- he's become a jerk and should be taken off in favor of many more talented actors and actresses who would kill to be in his position.

In 2006 he said that the Sept. 9/11 attacks were faked by the US government.  Yeah, right.
March 04, 2011
Well, I feel bad for the guy because it looks like he's having mental issues right now and like he's not all there, and it's hard to fault someone who's not completely sane and all there. I think it's also hard to take someone who's in such a state seriously. What should be taken seriously though -- is why he's saying what he's saying and doing what he's doing. Thanks for your thoughtful comment though, Jim! It's always interesting to hear different perspectives :)
March 05, 2011
That's fine. Like cpw1952 said, and I agree, that it's not you, it's this crazy guy I'm slammin'. Thanks for this commentary.
 
March 04, 2011
Hmm. I guess it's just me, but I've never been much of a 'celebrity follower.' I have nothing against Charlie Sheen, but I also never found him all that talented. I think the only film of his I've seen more than once is HOT SHOTS!, which I absolutely love. And I loathe sitcoms, so I don't follow that TWO AND A HALF MEN, though my wife watches it religiously. I have caught a few of the interview snippets over this last week, and my only impression is, "Wow, is that guy gaunt?" His drug escapades have certainly caught up with him, but, as I said, I still don't much follow celebrity news.
March 04, 2011
Yeah, Charlie has certainly been looking gaunt and not so great these days. I wasn't a fan of Two and A Half Men during the first few seasons since I'm not much of a TV person either, but it started growing on me since my friends would watch it. It's actually pretty hilarious, so it's a shame that it's coming to an end because of his personal issues.
 
March 04, 2011
Vietnam was the first televised war and everybody was shocked by what they saw, now it seems to me that since then there have been many televised celebrity breakdowns from Courtney Love to Anna Nicole Smith and from David Hasselhoff to Mel Gibson... and now the unfortunate Mr. Sheen. I fail to see how in his delusional mind he's winning? He's lost his show, the respect of people within the television and film industry, psychologists and psychiatrists are pretty much predicting his total self-destruction, and the only media coverage you see or hear about him is negative. Is he so desperate for attention and so self-unaware that he can't see what's happening? It's sad.
March 04, 2011
Hmm. See, I don't think he much cares. He's bought into the life of the celebrity, so I tend to think he's just doing what comes naturally.
March 04, 2011
I think self-unaware is the keyword here.  He seems to be under the impression that people will come begging for his forgiveness and that people will beg him to come back on the show for more money, when in truth, it's actually the opposite.  He needs help!
March 04, 2011
I agree with The Count. What a selfish b*stard and the media is broadcasting him so they can make money -- celebrity breakdowns create more sensationalism and People and Us magazines sell more ad space. Sad, really. He needs a kick in the pants, LOL!
March 07, 2011
Peeshaw. It's the 'celebrity brand.' It's bought and sold worldwide. Methinks Charlie knows exactly what he's doing.
March 07, 2011
Perhaps, but I think in Sheen's case he's actually unbalanced and self-destructive and not really aware of the damage that this will do to his personal and professional life.
 
1 2 Next
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #1
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Carlos Irwin Estevez (born September 3, 1965), better known by his stage name Charlie Sheen, is an American film and television actor. He is the youngest son of actor Martin Sheen.

His character roles in films have included Chris Taylor in the 1986 Vietnam War drama Platoon, Jake Kesey in the 1986 film The Wraith, and Bud Fox in the 1987 film Wall Street. His career has also included more comedic films such as Major League, the Hot Shots! films, and Scary Movie 3 and 4. On television, Sheen is known for his roles on two sitcoms: as Charlie Crawford on Spin City and as Charlie Harper on Two and a Half Men. In 2010, Sheen was the highest paid actor on television, earning US$1.8 million per episode of Two and a Half Men.[2] Sheen's personal life has also made headlines numerous times, including reports about marital problems, alcohol and drug abuse, as well as allegations of domestic violence.

view wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Entertainment, Celebrities, and Pop Culture is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists