Music : Classical & Opera
Classical music & opera on Lunch!
Andre Rieu

A Dutch violinist, conductor, and composer best known for creating the waltz-playing "Johann Strauss Orchestra".

< read all 1 reviews

The Classical, Easy Listening & Folk Repetoires

  • Dec 5, 2010
Rating:
+5
As a child, I was introduced to Johann Strauss J. music through the Mantovani Orchestra. It was a delightful way of having access to waltz, namely those from Johann Strauss. Because of that early conditioning, I've loved Strauss' Waltz more than any other classical music (the only one that comes close to this love was Puccini's operas).

However, as the music format changes from tapes to CD, I had not been able to find those songs which I had loved so much from Mantovani Blue Danube compilation. Instead, I was so happy to find them on Andre Rieu's Johann Strauss Orchestra's performances. Below are some of my favorites.





I hope you like some of my selections. Enjoy....





Caption Caption

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
December 05, 2010
Really Sharrie !! How awfully low brow and middle class of you - shame on you ;-)
December 05, 2010
Don't be a snob, Orn! There's no classes in music. I do not know what you meant by your comment but that's not the kind of comment I'd have expected from you :p
December 05, 2010
Well I was half joking, only half though.
December 05, 2010
It's ok to joke but it's not ok to be derogatory. Music is good for the soul, you can don't like it but there is no need to call others name simply because it's not up to your taste or standard. Imho, these are not bad music.
December 05, 2010
Well perhaps ypu are not avare of his reputation in European culture - he is seen as the perfect example of Respectability without any dept, a superficial beauty without meaning, the kind of music Proper Austrian Ladies with asprations of Grandeur aspire too, That's the social and and Aesthetic sub code I was refering to. But don't take me too seriously, of course one should listen to whatever strikes ones fancy, sorry if I've offend you.
December 05, 2010
I don't read about musicians or their private life. When it comes to music, I merely listened with the ears. I don't think there's anything wrong with the music, is there?
December 05, 2010
There is no need to be sorry if that's the way you view the musician. Even though you may be half joking, and possibly for a moment I was a little shocked coming from you, I'm not that easily offended. A comment says more about the writer than the person being commented on, as far as my thought goes :-) I'll only be offended if I think being middle class is bad. I don't though. There's nothing wrong with being middle class. All in all though, it's just not a tasteful comment ;p
December 05, 2010
Perhaps in the case of Andre Rieu, being middle class is one of his greatest virtues. I believe that he makes beautiful classical music accessible to millions of people who would otherwise never give it a second thought ... that great unwashed middle class, as it were. And, BTW, I'm thrilled to say that my wife and I have tickets for his concert in Toronto next Sunday afternoon, LOL.
December 05, 2010
Music does not exist in a vacum ,like all Art it reflect's the patterns of conciousnes whether they be patterns of Emotions, Thought or Behavioral patterns and it is imprtant to be concious of, not only the form but also the content of music. One's own personal taste is not nececcarily an indicator of quality but unfortunately most people equate the two. I do not have taste for some High Quality music like the Sympny's of Mahler, but I do have taste for some music that is not of the highest order like the music of Queen but I would never say that Queen is better than Mahler, but they are mor fun for me. So just listen to whatever strikes your fancy But be aware what your listening to, these are not empty aural patterns ,the do have a content.
December 05, 2010
Perhaps you are right about the content, that's the first time I hear someone talks about music. Be careful about what you termed as highest or lowest order though. That's way too aristocratic and next you'd have people labelled as highest or lowest order. I don't think that's right. As for listening to whatever that's more fun or more meaningful for me, naturally I'd do that. I don't live my life according to other's taste or standard ;-)
December 05, 2010
@ cpw1952 - Ha Ha yes you are quite right, my initial response was of course referring to the sub text his music has in European culture and no insult was intened but all this debate has of course stirred up interested question of Form and Content and Quality and Taste. My introduction to classical music was through the Prog Rocker playing the classics so I'm all in favor of that, but still, be aware of the art you are subjecting yourself to, this has a meaning and you should be aware of it, these are Not empty meaningless patterns.
December 05, 2010
I know what you're trying to say, Orn. However, humans find meanings only through themselves and also their own realities. You cannot subject your understanding of meaning to other's reality. Thanks for the discussion though :-)
December 05, 2010
Yes and about the Higer and Lower order I was not thining socially but simply that all Patterns move from the simplest to the complex. And although our conciousness is relative it does not mean that all truth is relative, there are many levels of truth some is relative and some is absolute and unfortunatly most truth in Art and Aestethics is in the grey area between, which makes of course debates like these such fun.
December 05, 2010
If your interested in these thoughts on Form and Content you might check out this excellent program by Stephen Fry and his love for Wagner which is of course rather difficult since Fry is Jewish and Wagner was of course a notorius hater of Jews and the main reason the Nazis loved his music. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HDIaH3RtYHw
 
1
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
Ranked #1
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

A versatile violinist and spirited conductor, Andre Rieu capitalized on his classical music training and natural charisma to successfully recreate the uplifting atmosphere of the nineteenth-century Viennese dance halls for twentieth-century audiences worldwide. Rieu's unique classical style evolved around the notion that the audience must be involved in order to appreciate the music. Although the inspiration for his innovative musical presentations reached back over 100 years, his style was frequently categorized as "crossover" music because it combined the revered scores of the classical composers with a more informal performance atmosphere characteristic of popular music.

Rieu was born in Maastricht, Holland. His father conducted the Limburg Symphony Orchestra of Holland and the Leipzig Opera. Classical music permeated the Rieu household, and the Rieu children were well versed in the works of the great composers. Rieu and his numerous siblings were heavily involved in musical training. Each displayed some talent and learned to play an instrument. Rieu himself developed into an accomplished violinist. As his understanding and appreciation of music grew, he developed a special fondness for the rhythms of the great Viennese waltzes. The waltzes, he maintained, stirred his emotions and created euphoria, so it was natural that he would devote his career to that style of music.

Rieu attended the Royal Conservatory in Brussels. After graduation he played in ...

view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music : Classical & Opera is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists