Coffee Shop
A place for everyone who loves coffee!

Single-Serving Coffee - So Simple...So Good

  • Jan 7, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I'm more than just a discerning coffee drinker - I can be something of an a-hole when it comes to finding an acceptable cuppa.  I still think back fondly on the doppio I used to drink every morning from an old Saeco espresso maker that I bought with some bike race winnings...and then lost when I broke up with the girlfriend whose house also became home to the Saeco.  But I digress - point is, if the coffee's not up to snuff, it's not worth my time or money.  I'd rather go tired and grumpy and saddled with the morning headache that caffeine addicts all know so well.

And so it was with more than just a little bit of skepticism that I read the reviews on ThinkGeek.com describing the Aerobie as making "best you've ever had" coffee.  For $25.99, how could I resist giving this a shot?  Obviously, I couldn't.  So here's the deal:

Best I've ever had?  No, definitely not.  But the coffee is damn good, and wonderfully easy to make - and even better, to clean up.  Best way to see and understand the process is to watch the short video here: http://www.thinkgeek.com/homeoffice/kitchen/8e3a/

I have a very nice drip coffee maker that makes very good coffee - but it's a complete pain to clean, and so I don't use it every day, often because the coffee from one or two or three days ago is still in there, waiting to get cleaned out.  And in the past I've owned a "super automatic" (grinds, tamps, brews, and dumps) espresso maker, and I always found its coffee to be so-so at best.  The Aerobie strikes the necessary balance for me beautifully - easy to use, easy to clean, and a delicious cup of coffee any time I want.

As far as the quality of the coffee goes, it's not espresso (though I suppose if I used a ton of grounds and just a little water I could maybe push out something like an espresso shot, I've never actually tried) - it's a lovely, smooth, very tasty cup of joe.  Not gritty like French press coffee can be, and probably generally a little lighter in body than a cup from Peet's.  Very easy to drink, that's for sure, and 7 am while trying to get my 3 1/2 year old fed and ready for school, that goes a real long way.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
44
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
11
Well-Organized
10
Post a Comment
March 02, 2011
Good review and I enjoy the personal angle.
 
September 11, 2009
I agree completely. The biggest pain about these machines is the cleaning part of it. Great recommendation. I'm very tempted to buy one and try it out if it's as good as you claim it to be! Thanks! Now, the problem is go looking for it in this country or any Asian country for that matter. I ought to be able to find it, hopefully! Anyone planning on sending me a birthday present? ;-)
 
May 13, 2009
This review came at exactly the right time since we stopped using the Nespresso machine (we spent more on pods than on rent). Great idea!
 
April 13, 2009
OK. We use an automatic drip machine in the morning and a breville espresso machine in the afternoon and a french press for 1 cup in a hurry. Thanks to your review, I just ordered an Aerobie press-the filter is a great idea. Thanks
 
April 01, 2009
Great review, great product!!!! is gooooood!!
 
February 23, 2009
Following up on this review with some AeroPress raves I found online while noodling today: Check the comments on this piece: http://tinyurl.com/clwrx8 And then the actual AeroPress raves here: http://tinyurl.com/nt8xm And here: http://tinyurl.com/22z7oc Occurs to me that I also love TinyURL - that's a post for another day. Cheers!
 
January 08, 2009
So my main reason for avoiding French press is actually a health one: paper filters remove oils from coffee that potentially raise cholesterol. They're probably the oils that make the French press coffee (and espresso, and gold-filter drip) taste so good, but I'm always fighting borderline/high cholesterol, so cutting out non-paper filtered coffee seemed like a good step. But there are other reasons, two in particular that come to mind: 1. Grit/mud factor: you always get some grounds in that French press cup - it's fine for the first few pours, but you have to leave the last few ounces in the pot, because they're just undrinkable (to me, anyway). 2. Temperature and contact-with-grounds: French press coffees just sit there in the pot, and I think the longer water is in contact with the grounds, the more those bitter flavors emerge. Pus, the coffee is getting cold while it sits, unless you spring for a nice insulated, stainless steel press. If you're sticking with press coffee, definitely get one that's insulated, or make the coffee and then immediately pour it off into a thermos.
 
January 07, 2009
Great review. This looks interesting and I am tempted to try it out, however I have been using a french press for several years and have been really happy with it. Why do you prefer this vs a french press? You mentioned that press coffee can be gritty. Is that major downside?
 
1
More AeroPress Coffee and Espresso ... reviews
review by . August 10, 2010
posted in Coffee Shop
A nice alternative to powered coffee makers.
I've been using the AeroPress for 3 years now and it is my main coffee maker. The cup it brews is nuanced and flavorful. The process of using it is simple. Heat water. Place the ground coffee in the brewer and press the plunger to create a concentrated coffee that resembles a shot of espresso. Add water to fill the cup and you will have a nice single cup of joe.      If you buy your coffee at the supermarket or local Starbucks, read no further. The AeroPress is a handy coffee …
Quick Tip by . November 11, 2010
posted in Coffee Shop
An almost espresso grind and 160-175 degrees Fahrenheit filtered water for most flavor.
review by . May 13, 2008
I have too many coffee makers, a couple of drip brewers, a couple of french presses, a vacuum brewer and a nice Gaggia Classic Espresso machine. During a vacation last winter I got this to travel with so I could have a decent cup anywhere. It worked for that. In fact it worked so well that this, the least expensive coffee brewer I have is the one I use almost all the time. The concentrated coffee it brews tastes a lot like an americano, though I only have to add an equal amount of water to the brew …
About the reviewer
Member Since: Jan 7, 2009
Last Login: Mar 12, 2010 08:09 PM UTC
About this product

Wiki

Fast and convenient, the AeroPress Coffee and Espresso Maker makes one of the best cups of coffee you'll ever taste. This innovative uses the ideal water temperature and gentle air pressure brewing to produce coffee and espresso that has rich flavor with lower acidity and without bitterness. It makes 1 to 4 cups of coffee or espresso (enough for 1 or 2 mugs), features a micro filtered for grit free coffee, and takes just 1 minute to make coffee (actual press time takes only 20 seconds).



With total immersion brewing, the AeroPress produces uniform extraction for the ultimate in full coffee flavor. To brew a double espresso or 10-ounce cup of coffee:

  • Place a microfilter in the bottom cap of the AeroPress chamber and twist the cap tightly closed.
  • Place two scoops of ground coffee from the included AeroPress scoop into the chamber.
  • Stand the chamber on a sturdy mug, then proceed to pour hot water into the top of the chamber (175 degrees F is optimal).
  • Stir the water and coffee with the included paddle for about 10 seconds.
  • Insert the plunger into the chamber and gently press down about a quarter of an inch and continue to maintain that pressure for 20 to 30 seconds (gentle pressure is the key to easy AeroPressing).
This will result in a double espresso. To make an Americano, simply top off the mug with hot water, or add hot milk for a creamy latte. The AeroPress can press from 1 to 4 scoops, and each scoop from the included AeroPress scoop makes the equivalent of ...
view wiki

Details

Brand: AeroPress
Category: Coffee Makers, Espresso Makers

First to Review

"What a sweet gadget"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Coffee Shop is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists