Comics as they should be

  • Mar 18, 2004
Rating:
+3
The first Volume reprinting the Hal Jordan Green Lantern series.

As the issues are not affordable this is just the way to enjoy the old stories that we all loved.

Some Classic stories here including the first Hector Harmond and the first glimpse of the Guardians of the Universe.

Far and away better than the current series both story and art.

Looking forward to future issue featuring Alan Scott crossovers.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
2
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
January 25, 2011
True. I don't like them all black & white though.
 
January 24, 2011
I love when they reprint the comics in volume collections. They are much more affordable for the average reader. Thanks for the review!
January 25, 2011
Agreed. The originals cost hundreds per copy!
January 25, 2011
Yeah, wouldn't it be nice to have the money to buy them?
January 25, 2011
Well as long as I have the stories to read, I'm happy. It's iffy owning the originals, you worry too much about bending them.
January 25, 2011
Very true! I am so careful when I'm reading an original or first printing of a book that is hard to find. I guess there are trade-offs between owning the originals and reprints.
January 25, 2011
Comics hobbyists usually have their most expensive comics encased in hard plastic in acid-free conditions to preserve them, a third party service that does the same thing for coins, stamps and magazines. I should do a review of them in my For The Love of Comics community some time. The good thing is that the grading is not by opinion of the seller and the comic book is preserved. The con of course is that you can't read it! Thank goodness for cheap reprints.
January 28, 2011
Nice. Yeah, I have my comics in clear plastic cases but nothing as fancy as you describe.
January 28, 2011
They look like this, below.  In my opinion only worth it to do the most expensive or impressive comics in ones' collection.  Can cost $35 and up for grading and encasing.

January 28, 2011
Nice! Good example, and I agree with you. Makes the most sense to save this for the best of the best.
 
1
About the reviewer
Peter Ingemi ()
   I am a blogger who hosts a Saturday evening Radio show on WCRN 830 AM out of Worcester Mass. I blog about politics, religion, baseball and doctor who at datechguy.wordpress.com I also cover … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
DaTechGuy
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

When Abin Sur's spacecraft crashed to Earth, the dying Green Lantern used his Power Ring to summon the only man who was worthy enough to take his place. Thus Hal Jordan, jet fighter test pilot, became the new Green Lantern of Earth. This hardcover masterpiece reprints the original tales of Hal as he learns both the limits and powers of his Power Ring and fights against surreal foes such as the Invisible Destroyer and the Giant Puppet. In these timeless tales, we see how an ordinary man begins his journey of becoming one of the world's greatest champions.
view wiki

Details

ISBN-10: 1563890879
ISBN-13: 978-1563890871
Author: John Broome
Publisher: DC Comics

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love of Comics & Graphic Novels! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists