Captain America: The First Avenger

A 2011 film Based on the Marvel Comics Character

< read all 19 reviews

'Captain America, The First Avenger' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Salute This Marvel Super Hero (Video)

  • Jul 21, 2011
Rating:
+3


'Captain America, The First Avenger', directed by Joe Johnston (Wolfman) is the latest superhero to come out of the 'Marvel' stable.

The year is 1941...Hitler and his merry band of Nazis are storming through Europe. One particular Nazi, Johann Schmidt aka Red Skull (Hugo Weaving) is in Norway searching for an ancient artifact known as Odin's Tesseract.

This artifact is very, very powerful. We know this, because of the small print written on it... ...not meant for human eyes...Apparently, the Tesseract gives a person unlimited power. And who is the last person on Earth you'd want to have this power...Mr. Red Skull of course. He's so evil that even Hitler wants him gone.

Anyway, Red Skull finds the Tesseract and I'm sure you can guess the rest.

Meanwhile, back in the USA, Steve Rogers (Chris Evans)a scrawny, asthmatic dude, with enough illnesses to keep his health insurance premiums at an all time high, wants nothing more than to join the Army and defend America against the evil doers.

Unfortunately for Rogers, no matter how many times he tries to enlist, the Army keeps rejecting him. That is until... Dr. Abraham Erskine (Stanley Tucci), a kindly German scientist, comes along. He sees something in Steve...an inner goodness.

So with Erskine's pull, Steve becomes a soldier in the United States Army. He also agrees to undergo an experimental procedure that the good doctor and inventor extraordinaire, Howard Stark (Dominic Cooper) came up with. If this experiment works, Steve will become a 'Super Soldier'.

Quick note...Red Skull underwent the same procedure, but things didn't turn out exactly right...Hint: Schmidt now has a big Red Skull and a face that would scare even his mother.

Luckily for Steve, the procedure turns out differently. Quicker than you can boil water or fry an egg, Rogers goes from being a puny, sickly fellow to having a body that Schwarzenegger, in his body building days, would envy...Plus he can beat up alot of people at the same time, jump really high and leap really far.

The Army considers him a 'human weapon' and one that is way too valuable to risk in combat. They decide to use Rogers as a celebrity to sell Bonds in order to raise money for the war. Backed by a chorus line of hot, sexy USO dancers, and dressed in a red, white and blue costume, Steve hits the road. He tours all over the United States and Captain America is a big hit. He's loved by everyone.

Alas, all this attention and fame, doesn't make him a 'happy boy'. Steve wants to fight. And what Steve wants, Steve gets.

When his tour takes him to Europe, Rogers finds out that his childhood friend, Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) and his men have been captured by Red Skull and his soldiers known as Hydra. Steve disobeys the orders of his Commander in Chief, Col. Chester Phillips (Tommy Lee Jones) and winds up rescuing not only Bucky but several hundred captured soldiers. Captain America is finally a real hero...And this is just the beginning.

Steve and his men must now stop Red Skull before he uses the Tesseract to wipe out much of the Planet.

That's alot for any man to handle...even a Super one. It's a good thing, Steve has someone to flirt with. She's the tough, no nonsence, beautiful British Agent, Peggy Carter (Hayley Atwell). This being the 1940's, poor Steve doesn't even get to first base with Peggy.

Okay to sum up... 'Captain America' is shot in 3D and it really didn't have to be. The special effects aren't that great and there's something very simplistic about this film.

Maybe you have to be a fan of the 'Captain America' comic books to appreciate the movie, but I think a film should stand on its own...and in my opinion, this one doesn't.

John and I actually came pretty close with our 'bagel rating'. The film opens in theaters, Friday July 22, 2011.


By Joan Alperin Schwartz
'Captain America, The First Avenger' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Salute This Marvel Super Hero (Video) 'Captain America, The First Avenger' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Salute This Marvel Super Hero (Video) 'Captain America, The First Avenger' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Salute This Marvel Super Hero (Video) 'Captain America, The First Avenger' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Salute This Marvel Super Hero (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
August 04, 2011
Great review
August 04, 2011
thanks so much. Really appreciate it.
 
July 24, 2011
I liked your raw in your face video, very funny. I won't see it in 3D. Perhaps if you saw it in 2D you might have liked it. 3D glasses tend to make the films darker. Anyway, I got busy and can't see the darn thing but will this week.
July 24, 2011
thanks. Yes the 3D was so unncessary. Can't wait to see what you think. seeing 'Cowboys and Aliens' tuesday. I'm expecting to love it.
July 26, 2011
Thanks. I just now finished watching Captain America and sorry but I gotta disagree with your well written review. I really loved the themes of patriotism and the over-the-top 40s retro machines and war battles, the sarcasm of the war bonds/silly Capt America uniform and his 70 year jump to present time. Very close to the comics version.
July 26, 2011
That just proveS how subjective it all is. Film, art, music...It's all about our own personal experience. And I'm really glad you liked it. It's so much more fun liking something...than not liking something. That's why I have more fun than John LOL
July 26, 2011
Very true. And thanks for the positive comments. I have been blasted a couple times even here for having opposing views and that I "didn't get it." You should have seen my Watchmen movie review, LOL. The comments were so nasty I had to take them off. Anyway, Capt. America for me was making fun of itself and played out like a comic book which I think is what charmed me to it. You did make some good points. I did enjoy the ending credits scene with Robert Downey, Jr. Looking forward to your Cowboys & Aliens review!
 
July 21, 2011
OMG. I think people are going to hate our review. Didn't realize Capt A. had so many fans. LOL. Can't wait to see what you guys think. And I really do like Super Heroes. He just wasn't 'Super" enough for me.
July 21, 2011
No problem. The Captain isn't for everyone. He has a lot of history going back to the comics of the 1940s when war stories and anti-Nazi stories were a big deal. From your description it seems the Red Skull is pretty much as in the comics. Of course the origin stories will be altered for general audiences. Like Batman, the Captain is just a man, whose skills have been amped up a bit.
July 21, 2011
can't wait to read it.
 
July 21, 2011
Darn. Well, I might still see it just to see Chris Evans on the big screen :D
July 21, 2011
There have been more good reviews than bad, from what I've seen online. Even Roger Ebert liked it better than the other comics movies. Since I know who Capt. America is, I think I would like this a lot, but not in 3D. :)
July 21, 2011
looking forward to your review. I'm a big fan of Superman and Bat Man and I love those X Men. And I've watched every episode of Smallville. LOL
July 21, 2011
I've seen several seasons of Smallville but not the more recent ones. I did enjoy the monster of the week which was fun to see. The whole premise is different than in the comics, which is fine. There is no Cloe in the comics. I was surprised that Roger Ebert liked the film since he tends to grade these fantasy films harshly. I think he liked the whole World War II motif. I can't see your video until later on tonight. Did you not like the direction, the action, did it drag for you? Yes, that is interesting that you would agree with John, LOL. I can't wait until this weekend to see this, probably Saturday evening.
July 21, 2011
Everything just happened so quickly. I never felt Capt A was in any danger. Every time he ran into a bad guy, he wiped them out. Also it really didn't have to be in 3D. I think that was all about charging people more money to see it. I did like the beginning of the film a lot. And I'm looking forward to the next one.
July 21, 2011
Gotcha. If the film is more character driven like X-Men First Class was, then I think I will like it. Thor was fun, but I felt Green Lantern was an opportunity missed, although I loved the outer space scenes. Since the Green Lantern comics have so many alien species in them, the film was by force going to be CGI'd to death. They're working on a sequel which looks pretty good from what I've seen in the teaser credits. :) I guess because of the earlier successes of these films, I have a higher standard on what I demand: A story that a fan can relate too, but not so many changes that a fan will dismiss it or not so much adherence to "canon" that it alienates the general movie goer. I'll have to see. Can't wait to write up something!
July 21, 2011
Oh, and directed by the same guy who directed The Rocketeer, one of my favorite films from the late 80s early 90s.  And if I may add, a three star rating does not mean a bad movie.  Three stars is average entertainment to me.  Four means I like it a lot.  Five means I'd see it again!
 
July 21, 2011
Good review but I think I would enjoy it more since I'm a comics fan.   It is interesting that Roger Ebert, who was lukewarm with Thor and Green Lantern, really liked this film. 

He said in part: "It was a pleasure to realize, once "Captain America: The First Avenger" got under way, that hey, here is a real movie, not a noisy assembly of incomprehensible special effects. Of course it's loaded with CGI. It goes without saying it's preposterous. But it has the texture and takes the care to be a full-blown film. "

Sounds like something I would really like.  I'll check your video later.  Thanks for this.
July 21, 2011
I really liked Thor. I have a feeling more people will like this film than not. I can't believe I actually agreed with John. I really don't like doing that.
July 21, 2011
Uh oh. LOL.
 
July 21, 2011
Not surprised, the script was re-written many times. Marvel's budget was cut in half and certain aspects of the core premise were eliminated. This needed more development for sure. There is also things that I knew that may not work. Too bad, I did a QT for now and I may just need to see it this weekend just so I can see how it is. Nice one, Joan and John and thanks for everything!
July 21, 2011
LOL!! you guys are funny in that vid. Good thing it still got a +3.
July 21, 2011
I feel like I'm gonna be Public enemy Number 1 or 2 for not liking that film. LOL
July 21, 2011
now I don't feel so bad. Just read your comment. Can't wait to see what you think
July 21, 2011
I think I may be more critical since I demand the best adaptations for my fave comics! I will let you know once I see it.
July 21, 2011
More critical than John. have a great night
July 21, 2011
I don't think anyone is more critical than John LOL! But I'll try... :)
July 21, 2011
Wow it seems like a lot of people think this film was great. Can't wait to read your review. We need people on our side. LOL
July 21, 2011
I hate to say it...Ebert is not the same reviewer he was a few years ago.
July 21, 2011
I agree. Wow I didn't realize how passionate people are about this film. Can't wait for your review...Although you may like it.
July 21, 2011
Well, with all due respect to Ebert, I never was impressed with his movie reviews anyway. I mean he gave "Morning Glory" a 3.5/4 among other things that realy stunned me. I am a comic book fan but never a fanboy. I love the character, but I know the movie won't be perfect. You liked X-Men First Class and Thor more than I did and we agreed on disliking Green Lantern and Transformers 3 LOL!
July 21, 2011
I'm not a big Ebert fan either. The worst reviewers are the ones in the LA weekly. They take themselves and their opinions so seriously...Way too seriously. Saw this independent film called The Devil's Double - So good. Haven't written it up yet. Opens next Friday. Dominic Cooper stars and he's incredible...Based on a true story
July 21, 2011
interesting! give me a message once the review is up.
July 21, 2011
will do.
July 23, 2011
Ok, I just saw it. Not too bad, but lacking a lot in ambition and storytelling.
 
1
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Captain America: The First Avenger is a 2011 American superhero film based on the Marvel Comics character Captain America. It is the fifth installment of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The film was directed by Joe Johnston, written by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely, and stars Chris Evans, Tommy Lee Jones, Hugo Weaving, Hayley Atwell, Sebastian Stan, Dominic Cooper, Neal McDonough, Derek Luke, and Stanley Tucci. The film tells the story of Steve Rogers, a sickly man from Brooklyn who is transformed into super soldier Captain America to help the war effort. However, Captain America must stop Red Skull, Adolf Hitler's ruthless head of weaponry and leader of a terrorist organization, who intends to use a mysterious tesseract energy-source for world domination.
view wiki

Details

Director: Joe Johnston
Genre: Action, Adventure, Animation, Drama, Thriller, War
Release Date: July 22, 2011
Runtime: 124 minutes
Studio: Marvel Studios, Paramount Pictures
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love of Comics & Graphic Novels! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists