Green Lantern (2011)

A 2011 film, loosely based on the comic book of the same name, directed by Martin Campbell and starring Ryan Reynolds.

< read all 21 reviews

'Green Lantern' 'Two Jews On Film' Agree-This Comic Book Super Hero Falls To The Ground (Video)

  • Jun 17, 2011
Rating:
+1


Okay, so this is how the story goes...In a universe far, far away (where else would it be) an elite, powerful force has existed for centuries.  Protectors of peace and justice, they are called the Green Lantern Corps.  

Helpful fact to know, for those of you unfamiliar with the DC comic...Green is the color of will.  Yellow is the color of fear.  So...green is good...yellow, bad...very very bad.

Moving along...Each Green Lantern wears a ring that grants him the ability to create anything that their mind can imagine...Pretty cool, right?

Unfortunately, this really big, really evil, really gross looking creature named Parallax escapes from his intergalatic prison and threatens to destroy the balance of power in the Universe.  Parallax oozes yellow...In other words, he makes you afraid...very afraid and sucks up your energy at the same time. Things are starting to look pretty grim.

Luckily, Hal Jordan (Ryan Reynolds) comes to the rescue.  As fate would have it, Jordan, a cocky, gifted test pilot is chosen by the Ring to be the new member of the Green Lantern Corps.

Now, the Green guys have very little respect for humans.  Afterall, no human has ever been chosen to wear the ring of power.  Well, it looks like all that is about to change now that Hal has the ring...

There's only one small problem...Cocky Pilot guy has to master his fears, stop being wishy washy, and man up. Luckily for him, he has his childhood sweetheart, Carol Ferris (Blake Lively) to cheer him on.  

Hal gets transported to the Lantern's home world...OA...where he meets various members of the Green Lantern Corps...Including the warrior Sinestro (Mark Strong), the towering drill instructor Kilowog (voiced by Michael Clarke Duncan) and the ridiculously tall, aneroxic-looking,  Guardians.   

But things don't go well.  After spending barely a day taking Super Hero Training 101, Hal flees back to Earth.  Hal feels that he just doesn't have what it takes to wear the ring.    But you know what they say...Once the ring chooses you...You're IT.

So Hal has to find a way to overcome his fear and at the same time, deal with a couple of unresolved childhood issues. And he must do it quickly...Because...Parallex is coming to Earth and it isn't for a vacation. 

If this isn't bad enough...Hal's childhood friend, the brilliant scientist, Razzle Worthy (Peter Sarsgaard) gets infected with Parallex's DNA and starts to  resemble a deformed troll with a monstrous gynormorous head.

Yes, 'Green Lantern' is shot in 3D - at least some of it...And yes...there are some cool CGI effects, but on the whole...this film is one big disappointment.

 The scenes between Ryan Reynolds and Blake Lively are boring and repetitious...The Green Lantern home world looks cartoonish and all the characters lacked depth. The story is way too simplistic in my humble opinion.

 Not a lot of bagels for this one.  And this is one of the rare times, the 'Two Jews On Film' actually agree.
'Green Lantern' directed by Martin Campbell, opens in theaters Friday June 17, 2011.

 Love to know what you think.

By Joan Alperin-Schwartz
'Green Lantern' 'Two Jews On Film' Agree-This Comic Book Super Hero Falls To The Ground (Video) 'Green Lantern' 'Two Jews On Film' Agree-This Comic Book Super Hero Falls To The Ground (Video) 'Green Lantern' 'Two Jews On Film' Agree-This Comic Book Super Hero Falls To The Ground (Video) 'Green Lantern' 'Two Jews On Film' Agree-This Comic Book Super Hero Falls To The Ground (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
10
Thought-Provoking
10
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
July 03, 2011
Here's my Green Lantern review: http://lunch.com/t/743b I just saw it and I agree with some of your points but I can think of other franchises that started out poorly that went on to do some great films like Star Trek and Superman and Batman did. We'll see. I got my ticket to the Harry Potter films. The AMC Theater in our area is having a special night where we can see both parts one and two in one sitting! (John was alluding to the Three Stooges with his Niagara Falls, by the way. LOL)
 
June 18, 2011
That what's left of the major studios are only afloat upon the successes of their franchises is clear...so why cast a vapid non-talent like Reynolds as the lead in a production with an advertising budget that could comfortably sustain twenty independent features of any genre? At least Bale, Downey and even Maguire have proven themselves able and personable actors. Hollywood is so unique - a paragon of corporate excess sans the average corporation's adaptability. One could fill any number of massive volumes with tales of extravagant Hollywood failure, yet but one factor is always dominant in every contemporary studio executive's decisions - not profit, nor quality, nor (lord knows) any notion of taste; 'tis fear.
June 19, 2011
Perfectly put.
 
June 17, 2011
I was kinda expecting this, but I am off to see it since my friends want to anyway. Will be back to comment further once I've seen it. I am dimming my lanterns!! LOL!
June 17, 2011
CAN'T wait to see what you think...maybe I was too harsh. John's always harsh LOL
June 17, 2011
honestly I wasn't surprised that your review wasn't positive. I was half-expecting that since I dunno, there was something that didn't feel right in the trailers.
June 20, 2011
Ok, I saw it and I agree with John. Filmmakers are indeed compensating for lack of a script in favor for noise and efx. The movie had some good areas but after the OA scene it went down. The script was just uninspired and definitely disjointed. Thanks again!
June 20, 2011
I read your review. I commented on it - somewhere. Great review. You;'re an excellent writer.
June 20, 2011
thanks! I always try to follow up on my comments after the movie has been reviewed. I am off to see Beginnners tomorrow or Tuesday! Thanks for the rec!
 
June 17, 2011
Wow! Sorry to hear this. They spent a bucketfull of money on this. Warner Bros. has said they're taking a big chance. If GL doesn't work we won't see another. I have not seen it yet but did listen to Ryan Reynolds at Wondercon earlier this year and he seemed pretty pumped up -- although he could not recite the Green Lantern oath for us, the bum. :) The trailers show it a bit over CGI'd. Still, I'll give it a chance. I've been warned by the 2JOF!
June 17, 2011
I can't wait for your review. I apologize but I don't know how to put my review in more than one community. If there's a way please let me know. Also when I try to put it under the other reviews that have come before...for some reason the site freezes. Weird. Love that techno stuff. LOL
June 17, 2011
Thanks. Most of these new topics are already in the site. If you use the box at the main web page that says 'what do you want to review' in the big orange REVIEW IT! box. Type Green Lantern, look for the movie, and write your review. When you finish writing your review you can add it to any community right then and there. Usually it's in the ACTIONS drop down, "add to community". So even if you wrote this in Movie Hype, you can add it to other communities too of which you are a member. This review is also appearing in the comics community too because you're a member and because this topic is in my community. Make sense? hard to explain through email. Devora is a great person to answer these questions since I'm just a schlemele here on Lunch. LOL. I plan to watch Super 8 first and then this one.
June 17, 2011
I actually think I understand. Miracles of miracles. Let me know what you think
June 17, 2011
I see you've seen Fiddler on the Roof, LOL. Yeah, I will see this on the weekend.
June 17, 2011
And I was even in it. LOL
June 17, 2011
LOL
 
1
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Directed by Martin Campbell. With Ryan Reynolds, Blake Lively, Peter Sarsgaard. A test pilot is granted a mystical green ring that bestows him with otherworldly powers, as well as membership into an intergalactic squadron tasked with keeping peace within the universe.

Visit IMDb for Photos, Showtimes, Cast, Crew, Reviews, Plot Summary, Comments, Discussions, Taglines, Trailers, Posters, Fan Sites
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1133985/

As far as superheroes go, Green Lantern may lack the clean, iconic lines of his more respectable DC counterparts Superman and Batman, but the very wonkiness of the premise (earthling joins elite force of space cops) lends itself to a pulpy, operatic, not-entirely-serious approach. (One of his teammates is a talking carrot, after all.) Capitalizing on a charming performance by Ryan Reynolds, the feature-film adaptation is a big, messy movie that, at its best, generates a feeling of aw-shucks wonder. Much likeThor, it isn't afraid to loosen up on the inner turmoil of its hero and go macro. Based on comic writer Geoff Johns's retrofitting of the title character, the story follows Hal Jordan (Reynolds), an impulsive test pilot whose encounter with a dying alien leaves him with an energy ring capable of weaponizing his imagination. While struggling to master his will-based powers, he must deal with threats both earthbound (a hilariously nebbishy Peter Saarsgard, who may be the first supervillain to rock a hoodie) and galactic. Martin ...
view wiki

Details

Director: Martin Campbell
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Special Interest
Release Date: 17 June 2011
MPAA Rating: PG
Screen Writer: Greg Berlanti
Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Love of Comics & Graphic Novels! is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists